The Bad News and the Good News

in Silver Bloggerslast year (edited)

The weeks are literally flying by; is the world spinning faster or am I (and the rest of the world) just trying to squeeze as much out of our days as we can?

The Bad News

If I had to tell you what hubby and I get ourselves into at times, you would say I'm fabricating stories!

Wanting to help where we can, and being outspoken on issues that are negatively affecting friends, neighbours, and the environment, often lands us in hot water.

Or, shall I say, it irks those responsible for the damage!

I am the most tolerant person and try to see things from the other person's perspective, but when people steal to get their daily 'fix', and so-called legit businesses feed that flames by buying stolen goods and causing misery to the victims of that theft, I will not keep my mouth shut.

When I spoke of vultures protected by the law recently, I shared how the storm-damaged home of our friends has been stripped by thieves, little by little, and sold at the local scrap-metal dealer.

After making inquiries through a trusted friend at our local authority about said scrapyard being allowed to run this kind of business smack-bang in the midst of a residential area, I believe word got out to the wrong ears.

To explain why I say this - our garage is still packed to the brim with some of our friends' salvaged belongings, so we park in the parking area we share with our BnB guests.
However, when that's filled to the brim, we park on the upper level where there are no sensors or security cameras. Life in SA, cameras, and sensors is the norm on our properties.

We woke up one morning to find our car's one back window been smashed by thugs who took:

  • 3 pens...but left cash lying right where the pens were. We leave this for car-guards when out shopping.
    And...
  • A set of jumper leads.

What made it even more strange was that the 3 pens were arranged neatly in a row, right outside our fence, very odd and unnerving!
I am of the belief that this was done by someone, possibly as a warning, as thieves would have taken the cash, and removed the tyres (locknuts and jack was left in the car), and nothing of real value was taken.

It's not nice living like this!


Two pieces of Good News

My driver's license had expired a while back...I won't say how long ago...and renewing it is an absolute nightmare here in the good old South of Africa, as many of my fellow South Africans know, so of course, I kept on postponing, as standing in long queues, only to be told the system is offline, is not my idea of fun!
That was until my doctor told me that one can book an appointment via an email request. I became skeptical when I only received an automated response, and waited quite a long time...until my email arrived, with an apology about an issue they were having. I was given a time and date (on a Sunday), and what I had to take along with me.

So off we drove to the licensing department, and as it's a stone's throw from the beach, we left early, bought ourselves fish & chips, and sat at the beach till it was time for my appointment.

The only pretty thing to look at in this department was a Flamboyant tree way in the distance.

IMG_20221120_140420.jpg

I was greeted by a cheerful smiling security guard, but from there on, everyone had forgotten how to smile, let alone pretend to be helpful.

They were sooooo very bored and sooooo tired, and I was sent from one little room to the next.

It became a laugh-a-minute, except I was not supposed to laugh and they looked at me suspiciously when I tried to smile and make light conversation!

The final office had three terminals, and I was to see Daisy (not her real name), but a daisy with thorns, if you know what I mean. Poor Daisy actually looked like she had been sitting on thorns all her life!

Not many know about this service, so it was not busy at all. Three staff members were having a cackle behind one of the computer screens, so loud that I couldn't hear the questions being asked by Daisy, who kept on looking at her cell phone, yawning, and now and then joining in the fracas next to her, while waiting for the computer to do its thing.

I was not fazed at all as I was finally getting this business done, and it really felt like I was watching a sitcom!

I could not help but think of @dandays who sees the funny side in situations like this; he would have written a whole book on this visit.

When the masked Daisy told me to move my chair back, I thought she was perhaps afraid that I may have Covid, so I was very bewildered. I mean, how far back was I supposed to move my chair? That was until she told me, not asked me, to take my glasses off, and wipe the hair off my forehead; demonstrating this as she was talking. All she wanted, was to take my photo!
Why she could not say so, I have no idea; but that cellphone had her full attention; I was just an object to get out of the way.

I did manage to get half a smile out of her when I left; likely so she could carry on yawning and checking her phone!

None of this was going to stop me from smiling like a Cheshire cat when I walked out of the licensing department in just under 20 minutes!

Hive animated divider 1.gif

I will share my other piece of good news with @dswigle's #marketfriday community, a place I've not visited for a long while.

All I will give away is that it involved an SMS that made us skeptical, a trolley, and a lovely young lady with a stopwatch; more I will not say, so you'll have to wait till Friday for that episode :)

20221118_101823.jpg



Enjoy the rest of the week friends, and if you're a football fan, I hope your team wins!

SBC Banner hive.png
Banner by mondoshawan


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved

JOIN Hive using my referral LINK


SB_theMenu_Banner.jpg

Come and join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg

Artwork by @artywink

Sort:  
 last year  

What in the hell is Worchestershire Cat?? = }


Next time someone's being an expletive on their phone like that, ask "who's winning?" They'll put the phone down...

What?

Who's winning?

Who's winning what?

Are you playing with me?!

Oh, hahahahahah. That's funny! Who is winning.

I am trying to think how the person would respond.
I reminded of the time when I visited a government hospital in emergency and the young doctor was busy with her mobile whilst I was sitting in front of her with my ill child. Then she stood up and said that she would go to NICU. I was like who gave her the MBBS degree.
Guess what....! She was rebuked by the watch man when she tried to get out of the room. He didn't let her out as it was her duty time

 last year  

...and that's a doctor, just goes to show that ethics don't come with a degree, so sad!
I'll likely have to stop myself from asking that question every time someone ignores me while staring at their cell phone😅

just goes to show that ethics don't come with a degree, so sad!

Degree doesn't warrant morality, unfortunately

I'll likely have to stop myself from asking that question every time someone ignores me while staring at their cell phone😅

It would be an interesting experience every time,wouldn't it?

 last year  

😂😂😂 Mr. @dandays😉 you are so funny, I'll remember that next time!
I forgot to mention the gum chewing which made it even funnier!
WorCHEsterSHIRE cat, said I 🐱

Exceptionally long fingernails, cellphone you could be there all day, another chore done and dusted not easy to hold back retorts....

We work in a country where everyone would love the JOB, no one is willing to work, all in SlowMo...

!LUV
!WINEX


Congratulations, @joanstewart You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @lizelle.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.250


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

 last year  

The sad thing is that jobs for pals are becoming the norm in most government and municipal departments!
What I experienced with graduates who neec to do 2-year in-service training, work hard during that period but once that's done and they're employed full-time, work ethics vanish into thin air with most of them, soooo disappointing! Managers aren't strong enough to reprimand, so I don't know what's going to happen in the future when those who are responsible ethical workers, also leave!
You'll see what hubby got up to last week, when I will share the fun story with the #marketfrifay community.

Country is being run by cadres and comrades from the top all the way down, work ethics lost.

Most graduates I trained over the years are now residing overseas doing exceptionally well for themselves. In-house training was ongoing from the lady making tea to receptionist moving them up as vacancies opened up.

Municipality level the people walked away after training people into positions then made most unwelcome, very few still in these departments all politically run.

Look forward to having a good laugh!

The only pretty thing to look at in this department was a Flamboyant tree way in the distance.

Hahahaha. It made me laugh. The ONLY pretty thing......! It shows how much annoyed you are by the practices there

I could not help but think of @dandays who sees the funny side in situations like this

Ma'am Liz , you have also given quite a hilarious account of the Daisy with thorns. Oh my! I couldn’t help but laugh.

I used to think it is only my country where government offices work so poorly. I have realized, many other regions of the world face the similar situation. My brother is not applying for his driving licence because of the similar kind of hassles. Thankfully, you got yours.

The story that you told about pen and cash is scary. I mean the feeling that somebody has some negative intentions for you snatches the peace of mind

 last year  

You've hit the nail on the head @amberkashif, it's really stolen our peace of mind, an awful feeling!
Our friend dandays would have written a hilarious post about the licensing department 😂
It's sad that many people don't have any ethics whatsoever 😢
Thank you for popping in, it's lovely seeing you here 🤗

Our friend dandays would have written a hilarious post about the licensing department 😂

Yeah! I came across him and I agree with you about his wit.

It's sad that many people don't have any ethics whatsoever

It is sorrowful but we can do nothing about them.

Thank you for popping in, it's lovely seeing you here 🤗

🥰🤗


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @lizelle ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Well done @lizelle! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

 last year  

Yay for Netherlands, thank you @hivebuzz !

Well done @lizelle! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

@lizelle, thank you for supporting the HiveBuzz project by voting for our witness.

Here Is a small present to show our gratitude
Click on the badge to view your board.

Once again, thanks for your support!

 last year  

Oh my friend how awful, the whole bang shoot of law is corrupt in this country, from the highest to the lowest, they all work together. One has to be careful who one speaks to.just be very careful, they're letting you know they're watching you, those pens are there for a warning.
As for the licencing department, those people are so unhelpful almost as if they're dead in side, no emotion. Just keep smiling, that's all we can do. Lol!
Ja, I still love my country.
Thanks for sharing. Keep safe.

 last year  

That window smashing was quite unnerving, but we'll just be extra careful now and not park on that level.
As for our government officials, they don't appreciate the fact that they have secure jobs. I believe that no-care attitude is like an infectious disease. If only they realized that their days more bearable if they tried to be more helpful!
But, I was smiling when I walked out there😉 and still love my country with all its troubles💕

Well done @lizelle! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

Well done @lizelle! You successfully guessed the match result and unlocked your badge!
Click on the badge to see your board.

Thank you to our sponsors. Please consider supporting them.

En ciertos momentos de la vida se generan buenas noticias, es lo que siempre esperamos; pero cuando aparece una mala noticia, la tensión y preocupaciones no se hace esperar, todo se altera. Ahí es cuando debemos mantener la calma y paciencia para saber que decidir.
Saludos @lizelle


At certain moments in life good news is generated, it is what we always expect; but when bad news appears, tension and worries are not long in coming, everything is altered. That is when we must remain calm and patient to know what to decide.
Greetings @lizelle

How bad what keeps happening to your friends, it can't be that there are such evil people.
On the other hand, it's good that you ate fish, yesterday my husband and I went to bed thinking that it's time to buy fish to make a delicious meal at home.

The good thing is that at the end you tell us good news and it's good that you got an effective answer and met nice people in that place.