The Party that was Not Meant to be!

in Silver Bloggers24 days ago (edited)

Why does it take a loss to realize just how precious a loved one is, and how empty life becomes when they're no longer there?
IMG_20240517_163836-EDIT.jpg
Three heart stones I picked up on Sheffield beach, an 'angel' from a Cape Town beach picked up by my special Ange, and Arthur's fish, painted by Mandy.
Another first has just passed - this day last year we celebrated my big milestone.

I now understand grief more than ever before; it never goes away. You think you've conquered it, but sometimes the most insignificant thing makes one crumble and fall to pieces again.
You merely learn to deal with it, no more, no less.

I planned a special meetup with ex-work buddies, who have become 'forever friends'. Three of us are Geminis, two hitting big milestones - 50, and 60, while I reached my big 7 last year, now one year older!
Our little 'party' fell to pieces because of a taxi blockade on major routes, clearly politically instigated. We go to the polling booths in five days!

Friends are angels, and they take me under their wings, time and time again; each in their own way

Dear friends, who live some forty minutes away, risked taking to the roads to brighten up my day, but took all the back roads and made it here and back home safely.
Thank you @artywink and Pete for making my day special <3

Another very dear friend thankfully does live just around the corner and brought some cheer in the afternoon. We ended up sharing some deep stuff which lightened a load off both our shoulders.

After this visit, I realized things, sometimes, happen for a reason. The party was not meant to be.

A good day all in all, but at the end of the day, it is just me and the empty room.


Oh, before I forget, to end on a lighter note, there will be a party of a different kind happening here tomorrow, a bridal shower, followed by...horror of horrors for any BnB owner, a bachelorette...but it's family, so I've made an exception! Preps were done today by the bride's two besties, and I'll give you a little peep.

IMG_20240524_195645.jpg

I think, or rather know, tomorrow will be a very different kind of party; a young bride whose journey with her loved one is only just beginning!

Wish me luck;)


Black & White Minimalist Signature Personal Brand Logo edit.png

Create your own Forever Memory Bank
Join our community of awesome content creators
right here on HIVE


𝙁𝙤𝙧 𝙩𝙝𝙚 𝙔𝙤𝙪𝙣𝙜 𝙖𝙩 𝙃𝙚𝙖𝙧𝙩

Join our Silver Bloggers community Silver Bloggers footer banner 600 x 300.jpg
Artwork by @artywink

Sort:  
 23 days ago  

I felt your emotion. Wish I could go to the party. You're doing great, Lizelle. Everything you're doing is right. There's no rules, no pamphlet to open and check off a, b, c, d, et cetera. Your son is proud.

 23 days ago (edited) 

Thank you dear @dandays, you are so right! We all deal with loss in our own way.
And...if there's no one to talk to at midnight, I will sit at my PC and talk to whoever wants to listen here. Early to bed doesn't work for me when my head is over-crowded!
I'm glad to hear my son approves.

Happy belated birthday dear Lizzie! I can imagine that even though you are surrounded by friends and people who love you, at the end of the day it is hard to face that emptiness that nothing can fill.
I send you a big hug and may life shower you with health and blessings. 🤗😘

 22 days ago (edited) 

Awe thank you for the warm wishes Eli! I have been blessed with wonderful friends and family, but I am learning to live this new life, although it still feels raw at times, as if it happened just yesterday, but life goes on and still is full of wondrous things and people💖
But yes, the empty space will always be there.

Happy birthday again, dear @lizelle! I'm happy you got to celebrate, even if it wasn't as one might've hoped. (When is it ever?)
And good luck with the bachelorette! Looks like fun. For someone, at least.

 23 days ago  

Thank you sweet @honeydue , it was a very different birthday, naturally, but good. I've also been overwhelmed with messages from near and far.
The cottage living room and balcony looks like a scene from 'Mama Mia', their chosen theme😉 Very well done to the girls. Bridal shower is underway with the older generation in attendance, will be a different story when they depart😅

 23 days ago  

Sjoe, wens ek kon daar wees vir n bietjie ondersteuning. Ek kan myself nie finding hoe moeilik daai moeilike dae kan raak nie.

Baie liefde en drukkies vanaf ons hier in die Kaap ❤️❤️❤️

 23 days ago  

Dankie Therneau, jy sien seker dieselde met jou Ma, mens kan jouself nooit voorberei vir so n leemte nie.
Hoe het Ouma dit oorleef om Oupa en Werner in 'n spasie van 3 maande te verloor? Sterke klein mensie!
Drukkies vir julle ook❤️

 23 days ago  

Sjoe, ja nee jong. Dit vat maar baie sterkte en moed. Oumama was n absolute yster. Vooitog, maar deur baie hartstryde gegaan deur haar lewe, maar alkyd moed gewys

I'm glad your friends were able to find a way to come and make your day a little better.

Good luck tomorrow !

 23 days ago  

Thank you Jacey, the sedate bridal shower is underway with some of the older generation. When they depart, the sounds of the chosen theme, Mama Mia, will be heard😉

This is very encouraging, we all know that good friends are for ever important to us all. Thank God they were there for you at those trying times.

Congratulations to you and to the bride to be .

 23 days ago  

Thank you @ijebest, I'm truly blessed to have such good friends!

Yeah they are really good friends.

I'm glad you got to celebrate a little despite the transportation challenges! I also hope that bachelorette party didn't get too wild. I didn't know people threw parties in Airbnbs!

 22 days ago  

Hi Eric, I don't normally allow it but it was family. My cousin and her 2 daughters lived in the cottage for a couple of years with Mom.
One still worries though.
Our setup is quite unique, the cottage is away from the main house, spacious,
and the pool area is also suitable for small gatherings. I stipulate online that we're not a function venue though.
I need not have worried, the girls had a blast and stuck to the rules.