It started like any Monday, 33 years ago

in Silver Bloggers2 years ago (edited)

Monday, February 27, 1989, a protest began over the increase in public transport fares in Guarenas, an area near Caracas, but this triggered a series of riots, vandalism took over the streets, and went viral as far as Caracas. They called this event El Caracazo, and this series of protests lasted several days, many businesses were looted, and some were even burned, violence broke out in the streets and many were killed.

png_20220920_173549_0000.png

Banner created with the Canva app, Image by El Nacional

I was not yet 12 years old, I remember I was in the sixth grade of elementary school, and that Monday, still watching the news, I got ready to go to class because I was in the afternoon shift. Since I did not live in Caracas, but in Valencia, I thought that it would not affect us.

My maternal uncle, who at that time lived with us, and was as clueless as I was, also had doubts about it.

Since the school was about a kilometer from my house, he took me on his bicycle, and we hadn't finished reaching the school gate when they returned us without even saying hello. I must say that there were several clueless like us, we were not the only ones who showed up at school, perhaps because it was the first time something like this had happened in our country.

20220920_175512_0000.png

This was the first time I heard that Curfew was announced for the hours of the night, that was shocking for me, imagining that they could shoot anyone they found in the street without giving notice and without the right to claim.

Later, Valencia also joined the protests. I was very young, so I don't remember much about that event, but what I remember the most, and I say it with sadness, is that there were many abastos (small food stores) that were destroyed. , and that they could not recover for a long time, or that they never recovered.

Excused in the feeling of discontent against the government of the time, the friends of vandalism and theft, destroyed the lives of struggling people who had raised their small businesses with effort and sacrifice.

I have in my mind a warehouse that was on my way to school, it was attended by a very nice man, and this one was destroyed. There were businesses that even removed the railing. That doesn't have any excuses.

This was before Hugo Chavez's attempted coup d'état, which took place in 1992, during the same period of government of Carlos Andrés Pérez. At that time, I was already 14 years old, and I was in my 3rd year of high school. And I heard again that the unpleasant Curfew was being implemented.

20220920_175640_0000.png

With this publication I want to participate in the Blog of the month, of the Silvers Bloggers Community, responding to the concern: where we were when they happened.

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 124 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

 2 years ago  

Thank you very much @pixresteemer! 😊

Hello friend, at that time I was a recent graduate and had found a job in the center of my city (a town in Lara) and I saw the event, so much for that experience, there were some people on a local radio that incited the beginning of the disaster of our country. They destroyed the economy, there were small and medium commercial premises that from there closed definitively because of the looting they suffered. Good publication.

 2 years ago  

Yes, those were acts of vandalism, it was a chaotic and sad event for our society.

@multifacetas Thank you very much for reading!

Hello @mjvdc

This is @coquicoin, and I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted and curated.

Hola, Marlyn! I remember the Caracazo very well, at that time I was studying at the University. Those were dark days in the history of our country, but as time has gone by, I am more and more convinced that it was an orchestrated movement to destabilize the government.
Thank you for joining the BOM :)

 2 years ago  

I also think it was no accident, it was all an evil plan.

@coquicoin Thank you for reading!

You are welcome :)

 2 years ago  

Those are sad events that happened in your country. It is disheartening when angry people vandalize properties even of those who work hard.

 2 years ago  

Yes, that was a great injustice for small business owners.

@ifarmgirl Thank you for reading!

 2 years ago  

It was indeed. You are very welcome and have a beautiful day :)

 2 years ago  

🤗


Hey @mjvdc, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.