You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Jiffy Pop ! A Blast From The Past

That looks like a lot of fun to make. We never had that as a kid but I sure remember the ads for them. We just had an hot air popper. As best as I remember, it seemed to do a good job. Now I want some popcorn!!!

Sort:  

It somehow still holds some fun expectations, watching the Jiffy Pop expand as it pops.

I'm not sure by hot air popper if we are thinking of the same thing, but we had one of those later in my teens, as well as another popper that made "movie-like" popcorn. The hot air popper we had didn't take any oil of any kind to work, but after being spoiled by our previous popcorn experiences, we didn't love it. Because there was no oil, salt didn't want to stick to it ... LOL I do think there was a little "well" above where the corn came out that you could put some butter that would drip down on the corn as it popped. The point though I thought was that since it didn't have oil, it was supposed to be healthier for you. We all know what healthier means though, "doesn't taste as good" ha ha.... They did work amazingly though.

Any kind of way you do it, popcorn is a pretty economical snack.