Sort:  

Thank you for reminding me: they ARE fun! A lot of work (and money!), with vet bills, flea and tick meds, monthly heartworm pills, THE FOOD, the dog sitters if we dare to leave them (gasp!) for a day or a weekend or A WEEK, oh, the horror, oh, the abandonment! Oh, the guilt tripping faces when we get back.

Bob is fairly chill with the dogs. The faucet... that's a whole other story.

#MustTreasureEveryMoment - they do die on us far too soon. (How is Jimmy???)

 3 years ago  

Jimmy is being kept comfortable. I have decided not to do the thousands of dollars of tests the vet is insisting on before he will treat Jimmy for the "textbook case" of the disease he has. A treatment that is new, highly toxic, with unknown efficacy and known toxicity. I don't want to bring more of those chemicals into the world, and I don't want to torture Jimmy with several different types of radiation, and a slew of blood tests, to get a treatment that is unlikely to work and likely to make him even sicker instead.

I will be bereft when he's gone, as I always am when any pet dies, but one fewer creatures to care for right now would be a relief. And he has had a loved-filled and dog-heaven life, which matters much more than having a long one.

Awwww!
I'm with you 100% on saying no the expensive, invasive, and ultimately not even helpful vet care. "Care." The treatments are often worse than the cure....
At least Freddy is in good health, right?
I've been revisiting Tennyson today, he who immortalized "tis better to have loved and lost" -
If you have time to click on only one link today, I would exhort you to make it this one:
A Short Analysis of Tennyson’s ‘Nature Red in Tooth and Claw’ Poem

 3 years ago  

Does this not say that Nature is pissed about man's putting god above her?

Who trusted God was love indeed
And love Creation’s final law–
Tho’ Nature, red in tooth and claw
With ravine, shriek’d against his creed –

But the poem begins with Nature's declaration that she is non-judgmental:

I care for nothing, all shall go.

I interpret this poem very differently than this author does, but then, I read it from today, with a nascent interest in Victorian culture. The author thinks this ends on a hopeful note, but I see it as less so, just as Tennyson himself, who said

‘It’s too hopeful, this poem – more than I am myself.’

I love how Tennyson chose words with multiple meanings to deepen his own. I try to do that too. It can take me days to choose a single word. I wonder how long Tennyson spent on "tare". I read it with a meaning the author didn't mention, that of balancing to zero, evening the odds, leaving it to nature.

Not sure I love the analysis, but do adore that poem! Thanks!!!!!!!

Glad you like the poem. It's one I have to revisit or I keep forgetting it (all but the two two famous lines, anyway).

Weird. "Transaction Error" and "Disable side-by-side editor" had me hitting "post" several times, apparently in vain. Later, I find the six copies of the same reply. Oh what a day. Worse things, much worse, have happened today, most involving credit charges - you cancel something, and it is NOT CANCELLED - ugh. I see why my Luddite relatives have NO CREDIT CARDS. At all. No Cell Phones, no Internet. What are they missing? A lot of hassles. A lot of wonders too - are they talking to @owasco and discussing Tennyson today? Nope. Fixing cars or milking the cows, panting in a dark corner of the not-air-conditioned farmhouse, but also not fighting bogus credit card charges. *sigh

 3 years ago  

Freddy's great!!! Getting more and more used to human touch. I'm working on picking him up for longer and longer periods. We're up to 3 or 4 seconds lol. He's very loving, but still skittish.