That one childhood memory that lives with you

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

I'm usually one of the first to post on the Silver Blogger challenge.

This time life really got in the way -

After moving from one Airbnb to another for the last 8 months and being uncertain as to where we wanted to be next, thinking of moving to Holland or somewhere in Europe - we finally found an apartment into which we could settle and signed a year's lease.

It is still our intention to leave Cyprus but we'll have to see what the future holds for us.

I have some way back memories but I guess what stands out for me the most is my theatre days. We belonged to an amateur drama society in Natal, South Africa and my whole family, father, mother, brother and I took part in the local plays.

I was 13 years old when I had the main role of Anne in The diary of Anne Frank I also acted as a nun in The song of Bernadette

whatsapp_image_2021_02_16_at_08.49.35.jpeg

song_of_bernadette.jpeg
The Song of Bernadette

Both plays impacted my life deeply. I had wonderful reviews in the local newspapers and everyone saw me in acting as a career choice.

This was not to be as I had a rather jealous boyfriend who stopped me from acting. Strange that he went on to marry two high-profile musicians.

I blogged about this in February when I had an unexpected contact from an old school friend.

https://peakd.com/hive-148441/@pandamama/the-diary-of-anne-frank-starring-yours-truly-in-the-lead-in-1965

I'm really not a fan of facebook any more but grateful that it brought us together again. Who would have thought after all these years.

My friend Hilary sent me some cool clips:

NewspaperClips
()newpaper_.jpeg
NewspaperClips
newspaper_2.jpegschoolgirl_plays_anne_frank.jpeg
PhotographsClips
af3.jpeganne_frank_2.jpeg
PhotographsClips
anne_frank_article.jpeganne_frank_scene.jpeg

So, yes - I think I still hanker after being on the stage and missed my opportunity.

I have had a lot of opportunity to enjoy the limelight with my daughter, at Eden Michelle - aka EGGSTA - and much more of that to come.

She is launching a Back Home EP - with some up and coming South African artists. Launching the first song Bae which stands for "Before anyone else".

So there you have it great memories and thanks to my friend Hilary Wilson I am able to share with you.

Sort:  

Hankering after what could have been, one reflects back as to why... young and stupid is normally the case. Now have full opportunity to assist Eden Michelle to follow her dreams with good backing by Mom.

Enjoyed the walk down memory lane with you, so fortunate many kept newspaper clipping about events, some photographs to hold dear.

Thanks Joan for reading my story and for the encouraging comments. Very happy to have received those clippings and photographs from so long ago

I noticed one clipping mentions Toti so you must have grown up close to where I live, only came down after married growing up in Jo'burg on the West Rand.

Used to enjoy the live shows over the years and ballet, you followed your heart in the wrong direction, treasured memories now.

Yes, we were in Amanzimtoti for a few years. My Mother and Father had a restaurant called the Seahorse Restaurant on the beachfront and we lived in a house,on the top of the hill, which is now a skyscraper.

Yes I definitely followed the wrong direction but you're right, I have treasured memories now.

Long before we arrived, most old establishments are gone. By description this may have been where the Life Saving club and Clear Water Spur restaurant are currently situated (previously Poseidon that burned down).

Some of the old houses still stand up on the hill, however you mention High Tide Flats possibly, one block we stayed in for a month or two before buying our house.

Some grand memories before these towns got so over populated!

So strange to think of these places no longer existing Joan. I haven't been back and now haven't been to SA in over 6 years

Are you still living in Amanzimtoti?

Slightly south in Warner Beach/Winklespruit for last forty years, possibly time for change.

What wonderful memories @pandamama! I can see the stage is in your blood, great that it's been passed on to Eden!
Thank you for sharing your childhood dreams with us!

Thanks for reading my blog and sharing my memories

 3 years ago  

Oh my goodness any community theater would put you on the stage! Just contact one, audition, and get back out there! It's a bit much to be in a play, but the good news is that the final curtain falls, and you do get your life back.

How true @owasco - thank you for the encouraging words

Congratulations @pandamama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

What beautiful memories, friend @pandamama I usually think that things are as God has and not as we want them. Beautiful memories that were left for now to apply and support your children who have that artistic heritage

Yes, you are so right. God's ways are always what is best for us

"Young actress shows real talent" - as Ann Frank, as St. Bernadette - what awesome newspaper headlines to have in your scrapbook! @owasco can tell you it's never too late, if you say "still hanker after being on the stage" and "missed" your opportunity. Local theater. Maybe not Hollywood or Broadway (then again, why not!), but you may find outlets for your talent. Maybe staging plays yourself with kids from the community...? No matter where we live, people around us have stories to tell, and so many of us are so eager to tell them, it's hard to get them to stop. :) I hope you keep embracing the roles of historical women and bringing them to life on stage. You know you are a natural. Now, it's just finding new opportunities. I hope, I hope, you do!

Ah Carol - what lovely things to say. If an opportunity showed itself I would probably jump to it now. It's true you can be any age and still be on the stage. At least HIVE gives us the opportunity to express ourselves.

Your day will come!
Maybe you will organize some live theater in your community. Expensive props and stages and curtains may not be required. Some of the most powerful dramas I've seen had ZERO props. Just a woman sitting on a stool, on a stage, delivering monologues. Sharita Hunt. One-woman show, but she was an entire cast of characters. This was in college, early 1980s. I've never forgotten her, or theold women she portrayed. (The young ones in her repertoire, I did forget. No idea why.) You can do this too. Whether a one-woman act or a play somebody else write and you recruit the actors. :)

You're too kind Carol -my son Jack is involved in a sale involving NFT's next week and some of the community are putting on a live stream - can't wait to see what they do

Sounds awesome! Keep us posted.
(NFT .... I'll find out later what that is!)

Have a look @leelektrik - he has been writing blogs about it

HOW DO I MAKE IT STOP
Transaction Error, duplicate posts.... gaaahhhH!!!!!

Seems your reply has been posted several times Carol

All day "Transaction Error" messages appear here, and now I have a gazillion duplicates of my replies.
Mea culpa!

Thanks Carol

Your day will come!
Maybe you will organize some live theater in your community. Expensive props and stages and curtains may not be required. Some of the most powerful dramas I've seen had ZERO props. Just a woman sitting on a stool, on a stage, delivering monologues. Sharita Hunt. One-woman show, but she was an entire cast of characters. This was in college, early 1980s. I've never forgotten her, or theold women she portrayed. (The young ones in her repertoire, I did forget. No idea why.) You can do this too. Whether a one-woman act or a play somebody else write and you recruit the actors. :)

Wonderful memories, dear @pandamama! I am sure you could have graced a stage with your talent if... But anyway, you are very lucky that Eden Michelle inherited her talents from you!
I would like but can't say better about that than @joanstewart, and voted up for her comment to join her words. ❤️ !LUV

LUV

Connect

Trade


@pandamama, you've been given LUV from @olgavita.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (1/1)

Thank you dear friend and yes, I am very lucky to have a daughter to carry the legacy

P.S. There is much to hate about Facebook but I too am grateful for all the people from my past and all my long-lost cousins coming together there.

Yes facebook does serve a purpose. I am hardly ever on there now though. Best place to find people from your past