Grandparent stories contest entry: @restcity

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago

pexels-andrea-piacquadio-3768114.jpg

So this story is just about a funny coincidence when my great grandma on my mom’s side came over for a visit-yes, she was my mom’s grandma, thus being me and my brother’s great grandma!

That isn’t the funny part though- the coincidence was when my grandma on my dad’s side came over- at the same time as my great-grandma! I can’t remember much about what my young self thought though. What was I at the time, six? But I remember that instead of it being awkward with them both at my house at the same time, they talked to each other and still managed to have a great time! We have a few pictures from that time that rekindle my memory a bit. I believe I was showing off my toys to my great-grandma.

Is this a rare coincidence or does this happen often to people and it’s just rare to me? Please write in the comments if your grandma’s from both your parents sides came to visit you at once before. Is it sporadic? Does it happen often?

Anyway, it happened again! I was a little older the second time when my great-grandma on my mom’s side and grandma on my dad’s side met again, with their happy and cheery attitudes!

I can’t believe they met again! And it wasn’t planned! A coincidence again. Since I was young at both occurrences, I can’t remember much except that they both MURDERED our oranges one of those times! (which is to say they ate a lot of oranges :). )

If I look back and try to learn something from their double visits, I’d say that I’d learned that things don’t need to be awkward all the time, and if they are, make the awkward time into a good and funny one!

All I have is sweet memories from those two visits, as who wouldn’t want both their grandma’s to visit at the same time!?

pexels-rodnae-productions-5637740.jpg

While that’s my sweet grandparent story, chow for now!


As I didn’t wanna share my real family photos, these pictures are from pixabay!

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I only ever had one set a grandparents. I've never had two from different sides in the same room but I know quite a few people who have and take it for granted. You're pretty lucky.

I never thought of it like that. Thanks for helping me realise how lucky I am.

Congratulations @restcity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

I was lucky enough to know my great grandfather on my dads side and he would come over all the time. Lots of other family from my moms side would be there and it wasn’t awkward at all for them. After all, marriage is about joining two families together. Even if you don’t marry someone, you are still joining families with the children as the bridge. I’m glad that you got to experience a great grandparent, that’s going to become much less frequent nowadays when people are having children so much older than they did before.