Poems and Prayers and Promises - Trading up to a Better Life

in Silver Bloggers6 months ago (edited)

This post is a follow-up to A Space for Dreems (yes with two e's) and in response to @dreemsteem's Death-Defying Dreem Tools challenge.

The title of this post is a nod to one of my favourite folk songs by John Denver, Poems and Prayers and Promises, released in 1971, the year I was born. Centred on the human experience - life and love, gratitude, and hope - it is a song of reflection and introspection; a reminiscing of years already past, and an outpouring of gratitude for the blessings that time has brought. As the song progresses, the artist ponders with hope about what new experiences might lie ahead. He muses that it "turns me on to think of growing old." as he considers that "There is still so much to do, so many things my mind has never known." Sadly, his life was cut short by tragedy, when his newly acquired light aircraft crashed off the Californian coastline in 1997, but his legacy remains, captured in lyrics and musical scores, and we remain inspired by the beauty and meaning woven into this particular lyrical homage to life.


Poems and Prayers and Promises


In chasing after our ultimate dreem, we cannot simply rush in. To do so would be foolish. We have to take a more considered approach. In my previous post on the subject of dreems, I spoke of the necessity to create a space for dreems to flourish before I could create my own dreem space and dreem life. In this respect the notion of dreem equates to something much bigger in essence than the simple dream. It defines how and when potentiality becomes reality.

I have no doubt that the achievement of my dreem will require an immense commitment of time and energy on my part, huge sacrifice (there is always a quid pro quo), and likely an entire arsenal of tools to conquer the challenges that lie ahead. To achieve any dreem we will need a toolbelt of skills and strategies, but if we don't start with a solid foundation, we will remain impotent to act on those dreems.

The cornerstones of my dreem foundation, that is to say, my death-defying dreem tools, are represented by the attributes and values I ascribe and associate with Poems and Prayers and Promises.

Poems (Positioning)
In Poetry, I find time for reflection and introspection. It's about creating a space to explore and share our thoughts and emotions. It's a deep dive into the soul. We learn about who we are and what we want out of life, and we are given the opportunity to define the narrative and shape the structure so that we can have the biggest impact in the best way possible. Words are powerful and they have meaning. Ultimately, our hearts will be defined by what we pour into them. In this respect, Poetry equals Positioning, and I believe that positioning is going to be an essential pillar in my journey. This means that I need to do my part; to take responsibility for meeting my dreem head-on. It's not going to fall into my lap! I need to own it and be accountable for my successes and failures along the road of experience. I need a well-structured and evolving plan yet still remain flexible to change when needed. When the right opportunities present themselves to take my dreem forward, I need to be ready to recognise them, and accept their gifts with open hands.

Prayers (Guidance and Gratitude)
In Prayer I seek guidance, strength, resilience, and wisdom to see me through my journey, to empower me to let go of what no longer serves me, to make the right choices, to remind me that I always have hope, and to endure the long haul. I use it to give thanks, having gratitude for the love and Grace that He bestows on me, even through the hard times, as I take each leap of Faith toward a better life for myself and my family.

Promises (Faith)
In Promises I never lose sight of hope. I lean into the Lord's promise to me that he is always faithful and will never leave me. It, therefore, does not matter how challenging the journey becomes to achieving my dreem, I am going to stick around for the ride. I will focus on the promises I make to myself, to remain committed, to hold myself accountable; to go beyond the mere general pursuit of my dream by ensuring I take positive action to move a step closer every single day, stripping out the old to make way for the new.

I believe I possess the death-defying dreem tools required to achieve my personal dreem, and I have huge hope for the future.


"23 Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for He who promised is faithful."Hebrews 10:23

The stone placed under the word love was placed by me 💗

Photos taken here on the beach are mine.

Header image created in Canva Pro using:

Worship and prayers by kieferpix
and
Love is Patient by EHstock
and
The Promise by NVSphoto
and
Faith sign by anilakkus

Infinity divider created using Canva Pro library.

Dreemport banner used with permission of @dreemsteem and @dreemport and designed by @jimramones

Sort:  

It is a lovely song and those are some inspiring things to consider when working toward your dreams. I didn't use any poetry for positioning but certainly can relate that finding out who you are and what you want out of life is very important.


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post! Comment Footer.jpg

hey Steve 🤗 How are you? Thank you for this OurPick selection. That's so lovely! And much appreciated. I was trying to explain that poetry is akin to positioning when you look at how it can invite us to deep dive, to reflect on life and what is important. We can use poetry as a catharsis for meditating on and working through life issues, adding meaning and structure with purpose and intent. This brings us to a place where we can mirror the process of positioning ourselves in line with our dreams. !LUV !ALIVE !PIZZA

Hi Sam,

Great to see you posting and I thought it was a great subject. Certainly worth some thinking about.

I am fine thank you, a bit exhausted as we having a renovation done at the moment and looking forward to it being finished so to go back to normal living again :)

Have a great weekend

I think people are very brave when they renovate! 😂🤗 A friend of mine is having quite a big renovation done to her home and it has been a construction site for 6 months already. I don't know how you guys cope with the disturbance and having contractors through the house all the time. I hope it is all behind you soon and you have some nice changes to show for it, Steve. It's nice to be back writing again 🥰 Have a lovely weekend too 😎 (that last emoji is wishful thinking for us !LOLZ)

I have kleptomania.
When it gets bad I have to take something for it.

Credit: reddit
@mypathtofire, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of samsmith1971

(1/6)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

Oh I know, it's awful. Our nerves are at an end. Luckily, is almost done and just 2 weeks. I couldn't last 6 months!

@samsmith1971 sent you LUV 🙂 (5/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@mypathtofire! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

John Denver is such a musical icon. Fans of our local soccer team adapted one of his songs for a chant. They sing a song called Boundary Road, which is an ode to Country Roads, and they sing it at the beginning of every game. It's very beautiful. I really admire the strength you find in your faith, and it's great that you can find it in such beautiful music.

 6 months ago (edited) 

hey you 🤗 I used to have season tickets to Manchester United Football Club. Our fans had our own version of Country Roads too!!! It lifted the entire stadium when the fans sang it together. I haven't watched a football game in years... well not soccer !LOL ... Thank you for your beautiful comment 💗 ... and yes, he is one of my favourite artists of all time! !LUV !ALIVE !PIZZA

@samsmith1971 sent you LUV 🙂 (1/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@litguru! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Our fans had our own version of Country Roads too!!!

Wow, what a coincidence! Our fans probably took the idea from MUFC fans then. It sounds very beautiful when a lot of people sing it, and it echoes throughout the crowd.😄

Seen a lot of sunshine, slept out in the rain

Beautiful and inspiring music, 💯
Recognizing the right opportunities, making the right choices and taking positive action are indeed solid tools to have at hand towards making one's dream a dreem.
May the future be as we imagine and work towards it being.

Thank you, Ismaheel. I love John Denver's music. It touches my soul 💗 I'm off to bed now... I need to catch up on your Dreem posts too! !LUV !ALIVE !PIZZA

@samsmith1971 sent you LUV 🙂 (2/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

@mcyusuf! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ samsmith1971. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

Hi @samsmith1971,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
samsmith1971 tipped mcyusuf
@samsmith1971(5/15) tipped @mypathtofire
samsmith1971 tipped litguru

Congratulations @samsmith1971! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 65000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 70000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP


TDP_MSP_Curation_.png

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg


We appreciate you taking the time, to either use #ThoughtfulDailyPost, or otherwise help this Community grow. So...

Thank you!!


Wes & Grindan

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @wesphilbin on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening

Dear Ms 1971

Although I'm not religious in the same way you are, I understand the concept of faith and prayer, and how this works together with hard work and all the other things you need on the road to fulfil your dreams.

I guess I'm defintely leaving a lot to the universe - my kind of prayer, I suppose - there's the divine in that, givng up to something bigger than yourself.

Love Miss 1971

Love you, Ms 1971 💗 And yes, I think you've put it beautifully. !LUV

@samsmith1971 sent you LUV 🙂 (1/5)

Made with LUV by crrdlx

Hello samsmith1971!

It's nice to let you know that your article will take 9th place.
Your post is among 15 Best articles voted 7 days ago by the @hive-lu | King Lucoin Curator by fantagira

You receive 🎖 1.2 unique LUBEST tokens as a reward. You can support Lu world and your curator, then he and you will receive 10x more of the winning token. There is a buyout offer waiting for him on the stock exchange. All you need to do is reblog Daily Report 127 with your winnings.

2.png


Invest in the Lu token (Lucoin) and get paid. With 50 Lu in your wallet, you also become the curator of the @hive-lu which follows your upvote.
Buy Lu on the Hive-Engine exchange | World of Lu created by szejq

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP or to resume write a word START