Important Lessons of my Grandparent ( Granparents stories contest @saun)

in Silver Bloggers3 years ago (edited)

Introduction

grandparents-4387074 (1).png

source

When you think about your past and the people who played a role in shaping your outlook on life, who do you think of? And when you dig a little deeper, can you also think of a person who didn't just urge you to do your best? Maybe in childhood, but can this continue into adulthood? For me, he was always my grandfather.

Although he is no longer alive but his legacy will live on through me, as it has influenced me so much throughout my life.

Losing grandpa, how I feel. I just know that he is completely unique and there will always be a void in my heart that will never be filled without him.

As long as I can remember, he was always with me to hold me emotionally with his experience and love. Being with him (and also with my grandmother) always gave me a sense of comfort, security and love.

My grandfather was laconic, but every time he had something to say, he had to learn and something important. He is extremely patient, compassionate, hardworking, diligent and caring.

His life story

My grandfather was the last to be born into a family of 5 sons and 2 daughters. Three brothers were studying, one was a doctoral student. His brother actually reached the highest levels in government teaching and commercial organizations, respectively. My grandfather quited the respectful teaching job because of low salary at that time. He then used to do farming in our own land that was more profitable at that time as all our lands were unified together unlike today. We never had too strong and wealthy background but great life lessons to stay peaceful and happy with available resources.

A Ghost story

My grandfather was a generous person, a brave heart. We live in India and Indian village few 50-60 years were a haunting place as it were a part of forest. Luckily in our village we never got any wild animals.
Our residence now also situated near a river called "Gandak." There's a story I remember my father told me that when he was a kid. He insisted my grandpa (his father) to let him go on village night routine duty to our orchards.
My grandpa along with few villagers as number used to go to mango orchards at night, situated near Damodar river as well as a burial site. Those time In India, we don't have any electricity facility.

You could just imagine 5-6 people used to go and stay at entire night in their orchards and safeguards all the villagers fruit in acres of land.

As then there were few thieves who used to rob villagers.

So, my grandpa took my dad. There were rumours that near the river there was some ghost possession who could took form of anything and let the people jump in the river. Yups.

Ironically, on that night my dad saw a horse. As I said there were no electricity so we took lamp with us there. Horse was not complete visible.
My father was a curious kid then so he chased the horse. The horse was moving towards the river and as my dad stopped. The horse also stop and it tried to attract my dad with his sound.

In this way it let my dad to go near the bank of River.

Now few more footsteps and a mishap would occur again that had happened many times in our village.

**" Wait a sec! Ashok! "
"Where are u going boy!"

My grandpa loudly said.**

"Dad! There is horse. I wanna touch it! "

It's no horse there. There's no horse in our village. It's a ghost.

My grandpa picked a clay stone near bank of River and threw on the horse and he was right the horse disappear. You could imagine.
My dad got panic and he fall down with fear. My grandpa called villagers and then he took my dad to home at that night. My Dad never visited there again at night. From that day, the Ghost incident was also closed forever.

During my childhood, I got couple of years to stay at my village / grandpa residence.

The biggest of his statement I remember when I got defeated by a village boy in fight.
"Greatness is not in war! It's in peace!"

10 life lessons that I learned from my grandfather.

elderly-5518002.png
source

Be kind

As the saying goes, "In a world where you can be anyone, be kind." My grandfather was instrumental in raising me and my brothers and sisters. The phrase "Be kind" has always been what he wanted us to focus on and bring to the world.

Now question of when to be kind never arises, but this is how we should live every day.


2.Have compassion to make hasty decisions.

However, he advised me to stop and listen with an open heart, so that I would not seek what I needed, but wanted to be understood, as well as another person.

Help the poor

"Help those in need, especially when they ask you to." He made sure that I knew that no matter what the circumstances or who the person was, if I saw someone less fortunate, especially if someone asked me for help, I would help in whatever way I could. Here sometimes fault is in our stars.

family-1466262_1920.jpg
source

4. Set goals and focus

I often talk with my grandfather about what I want to do and what I want to achieve in life. In fact, when I decided that I wanted to make a leap in business, I was really scared.

I've made a lot of money in my career, but I want to have my own business. He advised me to do this and said that I can achieve great goals if I focus on why I do what I do.

5. Be Practical

My grandfather rarely shows much emotion and is very pragmatic in making decisions in life and business.

Having seen and learned this aspect, I have greatly influenced me, because I also face more important life decisions that I make for myself as well as for my career.

6. Believe in yourself

"You can do it!" I always laugh when I think about this statement. But seriously, my grandfather taught me that goal setting and focus are one thing, but I have to really believe in myself... the same, similar.

It will improve my life even more. Therefore, in difficult times, especially in my career, I remember these words, and then I say to myself:

grandparents-3436463_1920.jpg
source

7. Do what makes you happy Grandparents said:

“It's good to earn a lot money. But if you don’t like what you are doing and you don’t do what makes you happy, you will soon be living a miserable life." This is a really valuable lesson that my grandfather taught me to take the path that will make me happier.

8. Take time to take care of yourself

There is not much joy in life if all you do is work and you never take the time for yourself.He often said, “Don't work too hard. Take time to rest. " I sometimes practice this as much as I can because I need to force myself to the point where I burned out.

Now I am more pragmatic in my work and I know that the work itself will always be there, but I have to take care of myself. my health too.

family-gathering-3068994_1920.jpg
source

9. Enjoy life

I usually joke with my friends that I don't have a lot of things, but somehow I end up being really good and passionate about what I do. chatting about how hard I will work because I want a better life for myself.

However, he always told me: “Don't forget to enjoy life."

"Good money won't do you any good if you can't reap the benefits. Work is important, but not as important as happiness."

10. Love

I left this for last because it is my favorite, my grandfather has a big heart and he showed me how important it is to love your spouse, family, friends and children.

Final Thoughts

I will remember forever when I think of him and miss him, especially on a day like today. I have his photographs hanging in my bed room.

💗 Thanks 💗

Sort:  

Hey! Judge sorry for a bit trouble. I am calling you to recheck a ghost story. It's just my dad reminded me when I was discussing about this contest. He said me to mention this. Sorry for a bit trouble. 😇

@dandays @meesterboom, @tarazkp, @maonx, @dreemsteem @galenkp

oh... i'm not a judge of the contest hehehe i just donated to make the prize more :) but i've been enjoying reading the stories too hehehehe

Thanks for your entry. :)

Also...I'm not sure if these images are your own but if not you should be quoting the source.

Thanks u for informing this friend! I mentioned the source. Thanks. 😇

 3 years ago  

These are very valuable lessons.

Sir. Your profile pic remember me my grandpa.
Thanks for comment.

 3 years ago  

Did anyone else say anything about the disappearing horse? Did your village have a problem with kids being taken away by the river?

Yes. Village had the problem. Kids never go there at night. Young man were taken away by the river at night by illusions. We see flames when there's fire. It's still a haunting place. God knows. I can't say as I was not there but I also had few paranormal experience in my life.

 3 years ago  

Now I really wanna go ride a horse there at night.

Omg loved the 10 lessons, really deep and inspiring, nice ghost story didn't expect the ghost horse to just disappear :S

Thanks for reading and reblog! Gentleman! 😇
Thank you!

You're welcome :D

Congratulations @saun! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP