Playing the numbers game

in Silver Bloggerslast year

Hi Silver bloggers, this is the first time I am posting here. I joined this community a while ago with the intention of posting here but for various reasons I didn't get around to posting. I am happy to be a part of this community and hope to be more regular here.

'Age is just a number' - this has always been my attitude towards age. I have lived all my life enjoying every bit of it, doing what makes me happy. Then things suddenly changed to make life seem like a bit of a struggle. One of the things I loved doing was carrying my camera bag with a couple of lenses climbing rooftops to watch and capture birds and life in general through my lens. Here I share some of the photographs I have taken over the years to express myself.

Then life took a sudden turn last October when I ended up in the ER of a hospital following a heart attack. A surgery later I came back home hoping to restart my life and live it the way I have always lived in the past. It was then my back gave way, a disc prolapse and sciatica have restricted my lifestyle severely over the last year. I cannot carry my camera bag around anymore (the pressure is too much on my back) forget that I can just about drag myself around these days.

I found a wonderful alternative to the camera, thank God for smart phones. I use my phone to take photographs now. The funny thing is that my lumbar support belt doubles up as my phone holder too.

Being restricted in any sort of way has always annoyed me. I love being a free bird. I always challenge the norms a traditional society like ours (Indian) restricts binds us by. I only accept those which are rational and practical, the rest don't apply to me in anyway.

I hate whining and worrying. I take each day as it comes and try to make myself happy every day . Somethings had to be changed so I could continue to do the things that I love doing. One of the things I love doing is gardening and with prolapsed disc gardening was next to impossible. Besides, I fell down couple of times in the garden as my back and legs weren't very supportive of my structure and posture.

After giving it much thought I made my garden rise up to my level. I took my husbands help and had him fix a number of hanging fixtures so I could have a hanging garden. Simple wire hooks that were handmade became my tools and today I enjoy my garden as much as possible. I cannot do as much in the vegetable garden like I did before, but I still grow the stuff I need and work there as much as my condition allows me.

I believe there is so much we can do to keep ourselves busy and happy doing what we love. I love writing and the constant back pain I have doesn't allow me to sit for more than ten minutes at a time so typing out out long posts became impossible. This situation grieved me for over a year, I posted a handful of posts here during that time.

Last month as I completed one year after surgery I decided that it was time I faced my fears and took the bull by its horns. I decided to challenge myself to write one post a day, everyday of November. It hasn't been easy, on days like today when the weather doesn't help my condition I am barely able to sit and yet I have been typing this post over twelve hours, few lines at a time.

The biggest hurdle that all of us face is not our age or our health conditions. It is the mental blocks that we set for ourselves. I have been realizing this truth every day when I finally hit the publish button after having typed my post. It's a victory for me, I am almost nearing the half way mark of the challenge I had take upon myself and I feel wonderful about it.

I didn't promise anyone anything. This challenge is all about me, I promised myself that I will give writing my best shot. I want to prove to myself that I can do what I have set out to do. I may or may not come out in flying colors, but I know I would have given it all I have before I call it quits.

Starting all over again I felt like a newbie, having lost my support base here. That doesn't bother me, I plod on day after day no matter how much support or the lack of it I get. In fact it makes me really happy that now I am on my own and I have a chance to prove myself.

The lessons that I have learned is never to let my situation dictate terms to me. I am the mistress of my life and I am in control over the things I have control over. I take the results as they come, they don't mean a thing to me as long as I have given the task at hand my very best. The satisfaction of having done my best gives me the energy to do more and perhaps even better.

Life is not about successes and failures its about how you live your life. It's not about how much you earn or how much you have but about how much you've enjoyed what you have. Life is about making it count for those you love so you leave a legacy behind. People remember you not for what you have or what you've done (unless you're a genius) but for how you've treated them.

I am not a numbers girl, I am an independent, yet sensitive person. I respect my freedom and those of the others and expect others to do likewise. I am not anyone's girl Friday, I am my own boss. I live my life on my own terms without offending others by my action.

Honestly this life that I live is my best life, its my only life. I realize it is short and so I live it pouring out my best in everything I do. I do my best and hope for the best results. If it comes I receive it with gratitude, if it doesn't I take it in my stride. I worry about nothing and let nothing bother me more than it should. I play the numbers game in my own way knowing that time is not on my side.

All the images used in this post belong to me.

Sort:  

I had goose bumps reading this post and tears in my eyes. I felt my heart was grasped.

I have always known you as an icon of love, passion and selflessness, and now of more of bravery, courage and determination.

I wish I could hug you some day and could tell you how much Iove you.

I have only prayers to send your way and so I am sending them. God bless you with more powers and flawless health

♥️♥️♥️

I am so sorry for the delay in responding to your comment. Yesterday was a tough day for me.
Thanks for your love and prayers. I appreciate it so much.
It would be wonderful if we could meet someday, even a hug across the border would be lovely.
Thanks for the thought. Hugs to you @amberkashif

Don't be sorry, please. I understand your health conditions.

May be some day we may meet physically. Before that, we can share a virtual hug 🤗

!LADY

View or trade LOH tokens.


@amberkashif, you successfully shared 0.1000 LOH with @sofs-su and you earned 0.1000 LOH as tips. (1/1 calls)

Use !LADY command to share LOH! More details available in this post.

Thanks for the tip and the virtual hug. Have a lovely day @amberkashif

Hello @sofs-su

This is @tengolotodo and I'm part of the Silver Bloggers’ Community Team.

Thank you for sharing your excellent post in the Silver Bloggers community! As a special "token" of appreciation for this contribution to our community, it has been upvoted, reblogged and curated.

silver_blogsilver_blueish.png

Thank you so much @hive-106316.

I hate whining and worrying. I take each day as it comes and try to make myself happy every day . Some things had to be changed so I could continue to do the things that I love doing.

This is @tengolotodo again...When I was 12 I got hit with a not fun type of arthritis. Since then I take every day as a blessing and continually adapt so I can function. Changing your garden level for example, I so can relate to that, and do similar things continuously!

Keep on smiling is my motto and I feel you. Thanks for posting and welcome to the community.

Sorry about your condition @tengolotodo.
Arthritis is never fun, I know that first hand.
Thanks for the warm welcome and the lovely motto, mine is similar to yours.
I truly appreciate your warmth and kind words.
Sorry for the delay in responding, yesterday was a tough day for me. Some days turn out to be worse than others.
Have a wonderful day.

I feel your pain, it is great though that you are adapting. Unfortunately, that is one thing that we have had to do when those health things happen.

I agree with you completely.
It is amazing how all of us kind of change and adapt to the situation that befall us.
We need to life to the fullest is, mere existence just won't do.
Thank you for your kindness @tengolotodo

Welcome to the Silvery Bunch... and
untitled.gif

Thanks for the warm welcome and unblocking me hehe. I so appreciate that @mondoshawan
Have a wonderful day!

-Thank you for an inspiring post-Ma'am @sofs-su, I need this kind of motivation this time, I feel so down about everything, feels like I am worthless even though I am doing my best, not in blogging but in everything I do. I don't know, I am not a materialistic woman, but things seem like all negative things are pouring on me at the same time. But still, I am thankful for the never-ending blessings I am receiving from God even for the trials life throwing at me. There are times I wanted to give up but seeing my Mom and my son, and the family that I wanted to help in any way keeps me going with the strength that I am getting from God. That is why I am still holding on. I am just a human that sometimes I wanted a day not thinking about anything, just peace. But to think also that a minute without my son and family in my life is like a living dead. But each day I am trying my best to wake up, stand up, and searching my worth as a mother, daughter, and human.

I love all your photographs, I admire your strength and pray that God will bless you with things according to your needs and according to his mercy and richness! Please take care always! Love lots! God bless you and your family!💕😇

@aimharryianne I am so sorry you feel this way.
Sometimes when it rains it pours, hang on there you will overcome whatever it is you are going through. Never give up.
I am so happy that you have your mom and your son to give meaning to your life.
Just keep doing whatever you need to do and give it your best shot, things will work out someday soon.
Take care and God bless.

Thank you po! I am Zander, Cherrys son. She call me Mz po! I will use her @aimharryianne account while she is busy po! You are very kind. I already post one article po. You help to make people happy with your words. God will bless you po! Good evening!👼

Congratulations @sofs-su! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!