Hobbitizing with our Sons by my Side, will Make this a Special Build!

in Silver Bloggers2 months ago

For the past year, I've been parking our tractor in the garage that was meant to house @farm-mom's car.

Robin has been a good sport about the situation, but it's time to get her car back undercover.
The new garage will be built in a spot that I started clearing last year. I thought that I had taken all of the trees down that I felt could fall on the new structure I was planning to build, but realized that the tree in this pic also had to go. We have a lot of Ash trees on our property and they are all succumbing to the Ash Boring Beetle.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T073111.438.png

There aren't too many trees that I can't drop by myself, but this particular tree was a monster.

Whenever I thought about dropping this tree by myself I got a pit in my stomach, knowing that doing it solo would be a dangerous proposition. Getting up there in years our children have repeatedly said, "Dad, if you need a hand with anything on the farm just let us know." I always hesitate to call them, knowing how busy they are, but for this job, I asked our firstborn son Robert if he could manage to lend me a hand. He told me he'd see what he could work out and two days later he showed up and was ready to go.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T074123.714.png

In the first picture, you can see a rope hanging from the tree.

The rope is an Arborist rope made specifically for the job we were about to do. The 125-foot rope was tied off to my truck which was positioned in the road. I slowly crept the truck forward, tightening the rope up just enough to put some pressure on the tree. After notching the tree on the side in the direction we wanted the tree to fall I waited for him to make the back cut. As the back cut was made the tree started to lean and all I heard was go, go go. As Robin stood in the road watching for any passing cars, the tree hit the ground with a thunder. As we like to say here on the farm when something goes just as planned this job was a TOTAL VICTORY.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T074620.738.png

The tree hit the ground with such force that the first 20 feet split in half. We estimated the tree to be about 125 feet in length. With this monster safely on the ground, I was all smiles.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T075155.670.png

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T080409.315.png

We spent the remainder of the day cutting the tree up and discarding the branches.

To my delight, Robert told me that he could give me a hand the following day. We got up early and by the end of the second day, we had the area stoned and had put all of the plates down. The footprint on exactly where the garage was going to stand was established.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T081048.905.png

After our son left, I got busy milling as many pieces of the puzzle as possible.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T081354.708.png

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T085859.938.png

Besides the pressure-treated lumber used for the bottom plates, the only other lumber I needed to purchase was for the roof rafters. I decided to use a mellow 4 on 12 pitch for the roof and cut all of the rafters before starting to build the garage.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T090915.708.png

This will be the first time I will be installing a metal roof system.

Etsy Item Listing Photo - 2024-06-25T091231.379.png

I plan on starting to build the garage on July 3rd.

During this phase of the job, our son Ryan has offered to lend a hand. Being that both he and his wife are teachers and have the summer off, he will be visiting us for the week with his entire family. Hobbitizing with Ryan by my side will be a joy as the rest of the family will be enjoying everything our little bit of Paradise has to offer.

As parents, we must have done something right because our children always answer the bell when called upon.

For those who are interested, I'll be happy to let you know how things are going.

Sort:  

Wow what a project!

I love how you have plenty of trees on your property which can be turned into wood when it is time for them to come down. Great detail on the project and I can’t wait to see the final tractor home. @farm-mom is a patient one!

I only wish I was around the corner and I got the call to come out. I know there would have been !BEER involved!

Back in the day when we purchased this land it was a full-fledged forest. A big part of the reason we decided to buy was that 70% of the property was covered in hardwoods, 20% pines and the remaining 10% was wet, not swampy, but wet grassland which made it possible to dig a pond.

If you were around the corner, you would definitely get a ring and not because you'd be our only neighbor but because having a few beers with the resident beerologist would be very cool. Can you bang a good nail?

 2 months ago  

Beer is served only when the work is done, then I gladly become the "beer maiden". hehe

 2 months ago  

Wait, the plates as you call them, forming the base of your new garage walls are held by rock only?

I looked for the digging, forming, pouring part again just now.. Can't find it.

Always a pleasure to share a few lines with one of my first buddies.

More important than the fact that you can't find any type of foundation and that's because there is none, how the heck have you and Pura been doing. I would expect that the knee is continuing to progress nicely, and the hand is still on the mend, hopefully 50% back by now.

Here's the story with keeping the garage secured to the ground and not blowing away during the next nor'easters. The area where the garage will sit was excavated last year. After removing much of the topsoil and getting down to hard pan I put down 15 yards of crusherrun. Crusher run a mix of crushed stone and sand. It's used as a base before paving a driveway. When the shit sits for a month or so it gets hard, a lot harder than I get these days.😁
When we put down the plates, I drilled 1/2-inch holes in the womanized lumber every 2 feet. The holes were drilled at an angle opposite of each other. The next step was to pound 1/2-in rebar into the ground. We started with 6-foot lengths and with most of them we were able to get them flush with the plates. The ones that hit something and you realized the re-bar wasn't going down any more we just cut off the excess with a saws all.

I don't think the garage is going anywhere unless some nut job decides to push the button down. It was a good thing our son was around for this part of the job. We turned it into a game. I'd do one, pounding away with a 16-pound sledge until I thought my arms were going to fall off. He'd go next, pounding away at the adjacent steak. The guy who got his steak down as far as it would go with fewer breaks would do the boasting. I held my own, but the old arms weren't the same for a few days.

A lengthy explanation but why not give you the details to a great question.
Later buddy, say hi to your bride.

 2 months ago (edited) 

Never even considered it. Great idea. Drilling the holes at angles.. another one. Gives me a whole new direction for the garage I'll build in the back. Storage garage mostly.

And some T-8 lights.... = }

They're never too lengthy sir!

If you are planning on building a garage you must be feeling pretty good.
Securing the plates for the garage in that fashion is how I secured the garage for Robin's car. It worked out so well that I figured I'd use that system again.

Doing it that way also saved me a considerable amount of money.

Enjoy your day!

 2 months ago (edited) 

You've been through it already so you're probably as impressed as I am with these fake knees. Got nothing but positive things to say.

Man, I've been one-handing everything for over a year now. Crazy. A lot to overcome. Can hardly write a return address, pencils and brushes haven't moved.

Much love you guys. Sure do appreciate your concern. Give our love to the farm.

 2 months ago  

Gosh, that was a wonderful post, rest assured I will be around popping off some pics for a follow up post.

While you are hobbizing with Ryan, the rest of us will be floating on the pond

untitled.gif

I keep telling you we've got to remove some of those water lilies before they take over the pond.

 2 months ago  

Hey, I am the cook remember? You are the pond boy. Chores are backing up.


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @zekepickleman for you. Enjoy it!

Did you know that <a href='https://dcity.io/cityyou can use BEER at dCity game to buy cards to rule the world.

Look at that, you don't even have to be around the corner and we can share a cold one.
Thanks buddy.

Watching progress with your timber projects I too have learned more. Something one can tackle as a family where information is shared, savings always welcome.

Over the years it has been good to see progress around your home, hear the children always enjoy coming in to assist, watching little ones watching a learning from you and Robin.

!BEER

I have also learned so much about producing quality hardwoods and construction grade lumber since purchasing the mill almost 15 years ago. I enjoy the heck out of the entire process and things get even better when family members can join in on the fun. Saving some money along the way is an added bonus.

Over the years it has been our pleasure to share with wonderful people like yourself, what's happening on the farm.

Thanks for the beer. @zekepickleman said that if he were around the corner he'd stop in for a beer. Next time you're both in town stop by and we'll have several cold ones.

Having a beer sounds a great idea!

Working with wood, it's texture and aroma is simply divine. Shavings great mulch over plants as well. Process where everything is used.

When I mill certain woods like Red Cedar and Black Walnut the aroma is very pleasant, most other woods don't have much of a smell.

The sawdust from milling is added to our compost pile and by the following year when we use it, it has broken down completely.

Manually curated by scroogergotchiheroes.com from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

It's always nice to her from the @qurator team. Thank you for your support and for taking the time out of your day to curate this post.

 2 months ago  

I'm definitely interested in seeing this project, what a feat to get that tree down, and have firewood as well as wood for your garage!
You and Robin for sure did a good job with your children😊

One of the best compliments parents can receive is one that involves their children and coming from you makes it extra special, thanks lizelle.

I'll be more than happy to keep you updated with the build.

I love knowing your goings on. It's quite incredible, all that you do. And so well! I'd definitely like to see your progress on this baby. Enjoy the week with your progeny.

I can't think of anything that makes me happier than my daughters so often wanting to spend time with me. Many of my friends complain that their sons, particularly, don't come around often enough, if at all.

I love the fact that your interest is so genuine and has been all along the way.
Your compliments have me blushing a little, thanks for such nice words.
Keeping you up with how things are going with the build will be my pleasure.

Spending time with the ones we brought into this world has no rivals. I've come to appreciate that even more knowing you and the heartbreak you have endured and continue to. I admire your strength.

Peace be with you, my friend.

Greetings @thebigsweed ,

What an interesting story....appreciate that this was a huge endeavour ..happy to hear the lads were able to come assist and that @farm-mom will have a place to park.

Kind Regards to you and your good lady,

Bleujay

Thanks for taking the time to appreciate my post. Having the boys around to lend a helping hand will take this build and cut the time in half and save me some pains and aches. They are both experienced carpenters in their own right. I guess that comes from hanging around with me.
Robin is all smiles, mostly due to the fact that our children have and will be at the farm. Getting a roof over her car just makes that smile a little brighter.

As always, I am VERY interested in this project. I love seeing you and the kids doing projects together.

That sure was one monster tree!

I've got to give kudos to my son. The tree dropped exactly where we wanted it to drop and he was at the helm the entire time. Hobbitizing alongside of our children is a dream come true. All too often, as one's children grow up and start a family of their own, precious moments like this happen less and less often.
It will be my pleasure to continue to share with you what's happening as we move forward.

 2 months ago  

I love the way that you guys have raised your children, with love and respect. Glad that the boys stepped up to the plate, and that will be a home for the tractor built by a company called Father & sons PTY Unlimited.

Blessings, and a great job that you guys are doing.

!PIZZA !LOLZ and !LUV

The Company name, I love it. Sharing moments like this with one's children is such a blessing.
Growing up in the household that I did, with two loving parents, stricter at times than I liked, taught me well. Like most young people, there was a lot of maturing that had to take place and I sure glad that it didn't take too long to see the light.

 2 months ago  

Only a joke, but yes it sounds good. And you certainly deserve the blessing.
Not many can say that nowadays, as the children of today live in total freedom to do whatever they like, and supervision is minimal. We didn't understand the strictness at the time, but it really paid off in our adult lives. Love in my case was scarce, but I don't hold it against anyone, as my mom had a family of 5 to support and she worked very hard. We are all born with love and it's our choice if we want it to flourish. So, you guys as parents made the right choice.

!PIZZA !LOLZ and !LUV

Sad to see the tree having to go but definitely a space that was very well needed. Nice results!

Thanks, not only did the tree have to go for the good of the structure, but it has been infested with this bug, the Emerald Ash boring Beetle.

image.png

Ohhh...!

Wow, that really was a monster. Glad you had help felling it. Love the idea of milling your own lumber!

That was a monster of a tree and when it hit the ground it let you know. Without the help of my son, I may have been the one to be felled. We've been milling lumber for almost 15 years now and every time I crank up the old mill I get a big smile on my face. Saving a few bucks only adds to the fun.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@papilloncharity(1/15) tipped @thebigsweed (x2)


Hey @thebigsweed, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.