Mama Ain't Happy!

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to enjoy a little bit nature and how often times we intrude on them and don't realize it!

C51364F4-A052-457F-880A-B9F17CA5E29F.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Mama Ain't Happy

On one of the recent outings that my wife took our son on while I was working, they went to one of our favorite local farms. They were having some fun flower thing and during that they were walking around the fields a little bit. Our son has insane amounts of energy so we need to give him open space to get out there and explore lol the farm is a perfect place!

During that outing they came across a nesting bird! I don't know anything about this particular species but according to a quick internet search this may appear to be a "Killdeer" species of bird!

source

C51364F4-A052-457F-880A-B9F17CA5E29F.jpeg

One thing that's for sure is that this deer killer (seems like a pretty funny and odd name for such a small bird lol) was NOT happy that my wife and son were walking around it's nest!

bird 1.jpg

It kept darting around and calling out. You can even see a little bit in this picture here below that the bill was open and it was yapping at my wife! lol

Looking more around this is definitely a Killdeer bird, source which is cool to know. I have certainly heard their calls around when we are at the farm! It's cool to get to see them up close like this, though at the expense of a little stress for the poor thing sadly.

218BAD01-9281-43B2-8FD9-803C980E1877.jpeg

I will certainly tell my wife and son about the species after writing this post so they know what they were dealing with. It's great to identify these things if we can and thankfully this one was pretty easy to identify!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,720 PRE tokens, with a market value of $380.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

Yeah I was walking around and I saw a really awesome chick and mother and father killdeer.

I actually was able to get a picture of the super amazing chick that was exquisitely camouflaged and perfectly still.

The parents will pretend to be injured to draw off the predators...

And apparently the name comes from their cry. Personally I don't think it sounds like that but whatever amazing post and really love the photography

Thanks for checking it out man! I didn't know why they called them that but I guess I'll have to listen to both the cry of the bird and the sound of a deer being killed? Lol not sure about it :D but I never knew the name of the bird! I think I've seen them around a bit so now that I know what it is, it makes sense!

It's a crazy critter

Congratulations @cmplxty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP