This weather is for the birds

in Feathered Friends4 months ago

For @nelinoeva's weekly Show Me A Photo contest in the Feathered Friends Community. This week's theme is small bird.


You would think that with all this free time being locked in the apartment while skin-slicing shards of ice are pelted generously out of the sky by a slanting wind with a chill factor of -4 that I would be getting shit done. Writing, working, cleaning the apartment, and finally putting away my luggage from my holiday trip two weeks ago for fucks sake.

You would think.
IMG_3286.jpg

As it turns out, when the freedom to wander out of doors is taken away from me even for a day, I get depressed. Doesn't matter if I was planning to use that freedom; if it's not there, I'm no good. Short of mindlessly eating and scrolling, I got very little done.

Except the most important stuff.

I took four cups of dog food and a bunch of nuts outside and got some food into the bellies of a few dozen crows. I would have been nice to get some videos or pictures of them or even the arctic conditions in general but my hands said if I kept them out of their pockets for more than three seconds at a time they would leave me for a smarter body that knew enough to stay at home indoors on the couch watching netflix and forgetting the outdoors even exist.

When I tried to stay out for more than five minutes my body joined the protest and before I knew it I was walking back home to my apartment while my limbic system lectured me on the finer points of instinctual etiquette.

Good news, though, is that no hummingbirds died on my watch today.

IMG_3295.jpg

IMG_3290.jpg
entry photo ⬆️

Anna's Hummingbirds. Both females. The second one is leucistic, meaning some of her feathers have no pigmentation, making her extra cute.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom

A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

IMG_3287.jpg

Sort:  

That is some icy looking weather. We are a couple of degrees warmer. It seems to be the difference between shards of ice and just freezer air

I usually love all kinds of weather, having grown up in "paradise" where the only weather we had was sun. But this. Ice pellets alllll daaaaay. This weather can suck a bag of popsicles.

I don't mind extreme weather nor and then but I hate the constant drag of winter. It will be March before we get a sniff of warmth!

Frozen window panes tell a story, no loss of hummingbirds good news looking after them during extreme weather.

Puppy telling you what kind of day it is, do not disturb! !LOLZ

Have you heard the one about the jump rope?
Never mind, skip it.

Credit: reddit
@corvidae, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of joanstewart

(2/8)
Delegate Hive Tokens to Farm $LOLZ and earn 110% Rewards. Learn more.

He was pretty upset that I haven't taught him how to just use an indoor toilet.

Now wouldn't that be ideal 😇

It is cold here, but not as cold, we got no ice. Definitely it is not for staying out let alone making photos.

That hummingbird is sooo adorable. 🙂 Incredible shot.

Thank you!! For a moment there we were colder than southern Alaska.

@sagarkothari88 reward 0.1 HP

sagarkothari88 has sent 0.100 HIVE to you - @corvidae.
Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️

Thank you!