You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some cheese eaters and other wild birds.

It makes it even sadder then when you see where previously bird inhabited areas tall buildings stand now. Here in the Cape it's especially bad with all these new developments. When I arrived in the Cape in 2007, there were so many open fields.

Sort:  

Oh yes and things are changing all over.
I arrived down here here first in 1972 to 1973 during army duty in a town valled Oudtshoorn and it was a totally different world.
Then in the 80's somewhere I went to a company in Strand to buy some stainless steel homogenizers and tanks for a fertilizing company that we were building in Port Louis, Mauritius and Strand was also a different world than nowadays.
A pity that I was not a photographer at that time, as now everything is cluttered with developments and it is sure to continue.

Yes, those old photographs would have been awesome! I was a member at strand golf club for many years, and according to everyone (including my dad), the old strand golf club was so much better. It apparently ran all the way to where Greenways Golf Estate is now. You might have seen the golf course then?

They have the old photos in the library here and even older photos from the early years where the town still had dirt roads.

Yep, I have seen the golf club now, but not in the earlier years, as I was working and could not explore the town.

!PIZZA

@fermentedphil! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @papilloncharity.

Did you know you can now buy Rising Star packs with $PIZZA? (3/10)

That makes sense yes. And even the Somerset West course has changed in the last 5 years. Luckily I have played the old course many times.

Yeah, everythong changes day by day my friend and one can only see the changes if one's been away for a while. I would love for them to build a big dam there to catch the flood waters, as iy all runs into the sea.

!BEER

And the dam would attract much birdlife!

Exactly and a section could even be turned into a waterfront and restaurants that can create employment.

!PIZZA


Hey @fermentedphil, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.