Bathing Bulbul Wings - Feathered Friends Contest #134

Back in the hot, dry season a few months ago here in Thailand I kept a water-bath topped up for the birds. The most frequent visitors were these Streak-eared Bulbuls, which are very common and likeable for their active presence if not for their drab looks!

I put my iphone on a tripod right next to the bath and sat a few metres away with a bluetooth trigger. I certainly ended up getting a lot of wings! And my phone ended up getting a lot of splashes!

When we first moved here I was unimpressed with these birds. There didn't seem to be anything distinct or interesting about them. They were just always there with their dull colouring. But having spent time watching them they have grown on me a lot. Their interactions with each other, their quiet chatterings, and their reckless attempts at nesting in obvious places with an unstable little nest, all help to give them personality. Still not a striking bird but one with a subtle character that is easy to relate to.

Sort:  

The photos are outstanding, lots of wings indeed. 😀
This bird may not be with fancy colours, but definetely deserves to be shown, especially in the bath. 😀

Thank you so much!

Wow these photos are great! They seem to be having fun in the bath!

Yes, I almost joined them!!!

These are incredible shots @hadrianwild! Perfect wing examples for the #smap. WOW. Those little bulbuls look like they were having a wonderful bath - less so than your phone. Ouch.

I rescued a baby bulbul that fell out his nest many years ago. He became part of the family and eventually brought a (wild) little wife in. So seeing bulbul photos always stirs happy memories. Thanks @joanstewart for the reblog of a delightful post

Thank you, and well done for saving that bulbul chick and making a friend in the process.

Congratulations @hadrianwild! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Birds are characters in their own rights, brilliant photography watching them bath!

@tipu curate

Thank you! Yes, they are, but it takes me a while to see it with some species...

Our most seen regionally is the Dark-capped bulbul or common bulbul, very chatty fellow early morning and late afternoons.

That's not one I've seen so I checked it out on-line. Looks very perky!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @hadrianwild.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

This one is way too funny, look at the bird behind...😁 it looks like you have catch a fun dancing choregraphy 😂

Yes, they may well have been dancing but in real-time it was much too quick for me!

Great bird!
!DHEDGE

1


This post has been selected for upvote from our token accounts by @archonapp! Based on your tags you received upvotes from the following account(s):

- @dhedge.bonus

@archonapp has 8 vote calls left today.

Hold 10 or more DHEDGE to unlock daily dividends and gain access to upvote rounds on your posts from @dhedge. Hold 100 or more DHEDGE to unlock thread votes. Calling in our curation accounts currently has a minimum holding requirement of 100 DHEDGE. The more DHEDGE you hold, the higher upvote you can call in. Buy DHEDGE on Tribaldex or earn some daily by joining one of our many delegation pools at app.dhedge.cc.

@hadrianwild You took some beautiful photos, the contrast of the bird with the color of the water bath was spectacular. 👍🏽

Thank you! The birds and I were lucky that the bowl got some surface cracks so my wife said it shouldn't be kept in the house (a Thai belief).

@sagarkothari88 reward 0.1 HP

💐 🎁 Gift 🎁 💐

Empowering Feathered Friends

  • 😇 More Power to you (@hadrianwild) &
  • 👥 More Power to community - Feathered Friends
  • 🤝 More Power to Hive community Members
  • 🔋 More Power to Hive ♦️
  • 💪 Stronger Together 💪

Upvote This Comment

  • Upvote this comment
  • Rewards will go to beneficiaries Feathered Friends, hadrianwild & nelinoeva

Please 🙇‍♂️ Support Me Back 🙏 - Vote for me

Many thanks.

Hey @hadrianwild

I send HivePower ➡️ to many Hive ♦️ users (just like I've sent you 🎉) to motivate content-creators 😇

By supporting many communities 🤝 by upvotes 👍 & distributing Hive Power as Gift 🎁, I help them to grow 💝 on Hive.

I request you please support me back by clicking here & vote me as witness

Such great snaps...Should I have tried this I'd be presenting a selection blurry images! The third one, the bird just taking to flight! ✅ Thanks @joanstewart for reblogging this one onto my feed.

Thanks! I certainly get my fair share of blur too...

Lol, yeah I guess we all do. I'm not much of a photographer to be honest, I bumble along and find enjoyment in the process. Thanks for responding.

Capturing movement in water with birds is a total art in patience, glad you enjoyed it!

It inspired me to take some bird photos today...I'll post them over the weekend.

Will be good to see a post with some of your wildlife, look forward to them.

Well, it's not quite what you might expect...I have tried to make a joke outbid it I guess, considering my lack of suitable subjects. You'll see.. it's all a bit stupid, but I figure I might as well have some fun here, it's lacking I think.

Sure to be fun, life has to be taken lightly a wee pinch of salt, then hope for the best.

I think my pinch of salt might be a 20kg sack of it on this one. 😉