You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mystery and Silhouettes!

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

Sometimes we see the big birds surprised with their arrival in suburban areas, one I do enjoy was close to where we grew up.

Verreaux's eagles watched over by Black Eagle Project Roodekrans, Roodepoort is one I check on every so often learning more about the big birds around us.

Perhaps hunting has brought this one down for a breather before taking off into high altitude once again. Will be interesting to learn more as you hear results coming out.

Sort:  

My father in law lives near the Botanical Gardens in Roodepoort Lady Joan.
They know the eagles very well, as he was a council geologist and drilled rock samples there.

The surprising thing is that the mystery Buzzards nest here and their offspring stays here.
Great news is that I got him on film again today at a different place and I will post it soon!

Blessings and thank you!

Once they come they tend to return, good you have seen it swirling above again.

They have done the ID Lady Joan and they reckon that it's a juvenile Gymnogene (African Harrier Hawk).
I have posted the adults at times, but it's my first to see a youngster and now I have a full set of them.

Got a more 'facial hair' when young, definitely would not have guessed that one Stephen.

True and his head is yellow and will only turn pink later.
I will look for a picture of his mom and post both together so that you can see the big difference!