You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sheer Freedom on Show!

A seagull is a "she" here - "die Seemöwe", no matter if the gull is male or female. I think we have had this theme a while ago ... a goat is female, but a female goat would be a "Geiß" and a male / billy goat would be a "Bock" or "Ziegenbock" 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Sort:  

Ah! Got you with this one Hannes.
I am well aware that you guys call a he a she and I thought that I would rag you a bit.
Hope that I got a smile at my smart remark and that you didn't throw one of the cats out of the window in your anger 🤣

Cheers and thanks!

Haha, no, the cats are still here 😂
Whenever I write about an animal I think "should I write 'he' or 'she', or should I write 'it' like you all do?"
But German is even more complicated. So a (female) chicken is a "Henne", a "she", but you can call the same Henne also "Huhn" what would be a "it", don't ask me why. A pig is always a "it" 😁


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Glad that the cats are safe 🤣

The German "Henne" is "Hen" here for a female chicken in Afrikaans.
Yes, if we are not sure about the gender then it becomes an "it".

I wonder if the "Hun" word used by the Allies in the war for German soldiers was taken from "Henne" to mean that they are chickens? Strange huh?

A female pig is a "sow" and maybe the Germans confuse it with "Sow how are you"?🤣

Cheers and thanks!

So all languages have their strange grammatics I believe, but German belongs to the most complicated in my opinion 😉

Hun comes from Atilla the Hun, says Wikipedia 😁

Sow how are you - that's a good one 😂


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Have you tried Latin and Mandarin, or Greek and Hebrew?

Ah! now I wonder what Atilla the Hun had to do with someone coining the Hun titles for Germans. And who it was that coined the title. Montgommery? Churchill?

Hahaha, I am well thank you 🤣🤣🤣

Cheers and thanks!

Haha, I have no idea if you are right, because I have never tried to learn any of these languages, although I know the Greek alphabet. I would never be able to learn the thousands of Chinese letters, at least not in my age 😉

I haven't read further why and who thought first of calling them Hun.


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Yeah and to me languages have also become a nightmare. Marian is good at it, as she marks many international students, but since my English teaching days I haven't touched it again.

The Kaiser of Germany, Wilhelm ll, called the German soldiers Huns in 1900.

Cheers and thanks!

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.