More Bird visitors - some in flight pics

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

So while it took 10 days to get the first visitor to the new feeder, they apparently spread the word quickly. @melinda010100, you were right, once found they would start overwhelming! Today there were numerous birds, sometimes 3-4 at a time in and out of the feeder. I shot these and more within just a few minutes from out the bedroom window. Be sure to click pics to open in larger window for best views.

I also got some nice bluejay and squirrel pics that I'll try to post tomorrow.

K-BFeeder-05-2021-03-03.jpg
I don't know what these are so would love if someone could fill us in. Especially this little guy, he didn't stay still for very long and was difficult to capture.

K-BFeeder-02-2021-03-03.jpg
I was lucky to catch a few in-flight pictures.

K-BFeeder-06-2021-03-03.jpg
I think this one below and next were my two favorite in-flight pics.
K-BFeeder-08-2021-03-03.jpg

K-BFeeder-09-2021-03-03.jpg

K-BFeeder-03-2021-03-03.jpg

K-BFeeder-07-2021-03-03.jpg

K-BFeeder-04-2021-03-03.jpg

All pictures original work copyright 2021 the author of this post.
Enjoy!
@ksteem

Sort:  

You have a male and female house finch, the male has red on him and the female is tan colored but same stripe patterns on the wings. The other one flying in is a nuthatch they are fast and cute. Welcome to your new hobby, you can download the merlin app and it will help you identify the birds who come to your feeder.

Awesome, thanks for the info. I will do that, I am compulsive by nature and will just HAVE to know what all my visitor are. I appreciate the info and self serve link.

I started out with just a few coming now I have 3 bird books and the merlin app to find out who all it at the feeders and what do they like to eat 😂😂

Lol, I'm trying hard to not get hooked. Already signed up for the ebird.com to locate some owls near me. Of course then I had to sign up and start submitting my bird sightings... I can see how that could be addictive!

Bird feeders are a lot of fun, I also have one here. But most birds are very cautious by nature, it always takes some time before they are convinced that its safe to go there. And once they see one of their buddies eating there and nothing happens, they don't want to miss out and join in. But every time you change something around the feeder, its the same again.

I'll watch for that because I am definitely going to need an upgrade install on the post which is already leaning.

Yeah, I'll have to do some maintainance work on my feeder, too. The "hut" has come loose on the pole after 2 years outside, so I need to look into that. Sure that will get the birds startled, but it has to be done. I do this a bit later in spring, when they can find food elsewhere.
Btw., your feeder looks very high tech somehow, like a vending machine for birds. :) I guess it wasn't cheap? My one is just a open hut made of wood, on top of a wooden pole. The birds don't mind - as long as it has food inside. :)

Lol, yes I wanted one big enough that I didn't have refill it everyday, and that I could see the levels from the window without having to go outside. Too cold out to build my own, so caved and spent $$ on it. I think it was like around $60, and then like @melinda010100 said, I can already see the food costs needing to re-order. It does give me some nice live practice subjects for the camera without having to go out in the cold though!

I get the food from Amazon, it's not that expensive and I don't have to carry it that way. I usually get fatty mixed grains, sun flower seeds and peanuts. In big bags (like 20kg each) the prices are reasonable, about $2 per kg in average. For the breeding season I may add some insects, which cost a bit more.
In general, they can only eat as much as you give them - and they find other stuff elsewhere, especially in summer. They did live before you started feeding them, remember. :)

Yes, I can easily see me cutting back come spring/summer and just helping them through winter. We getting another 4 inches of snow today, so I'm sure they will enjoy their current buffet!

Like most years, spring is taking it's time. Also here. No snow (I hope) forecast, but certainly no t-shirt weather any time soon.

Yes, I can easily see me cutting back come spring/summer and just helping them through winter. We getting another 4 inches of snow today, so I'm sure they will enjoy their current buffet!

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yay! Now be prepared for your bird seed expense to start equaling your grocery bill!

That first bird is a nuthatch and my guess is that it is a pygmy nuthatch. You also have red breasted and white breasted nuthatches out there.

My guess for the pair in the other photos is House Finch... Both the male and female.

img_0.35577604884898806.jpg

I thought the two were so close that perhaps a pair, but didn't have an idea which. I guess I thought finches were much smaller, like that nuthatch size. These things are pretty big. Appreciate the insight! I'm sure tracing all these different species down will help feed my compulsivity and give me something to keep me busy!

And yes, I see the food level has gone down substantially already, Holy cow!

Purple Finches are similar to House Finches, but I think those are House Finches. Your photos are great.

!ENGAGE 30

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Yeah finally...enjoy your new pets...sure the cats will love it lol...just kidding 🤗

Woah amazing pics, makes me want to build a bird feeder!

Really clean in flight shots, congrats :)

Thanks, I'm using the practice to learn settings to try for some raptor in-flight shots. Looks like I need just a bit more speed to stop the wings more. The challenging part seems to be catching the moving targets in the close zoom and keeping them in focus!

Practice makes perfect!
I had the same issue regarding shutter speed, around 2k to 2.5k works best when im taking in flight pictures.
Yeah focusing on birds comes with practice.

Yes, That's what I've read from other experts. I've been trying to fudge that number lower, these were at 1/1600, but it seems I will have to cave and speed it up. I guess other folks really do know what they are doing lol.

I'm happy your efforts were rewarded by the visits of so many lovely guests, and by the great captures you share now with us 😉

Thank you. Like many, I am always thrilled when folks like my photos enough to vote and comment, even if it's only a word or two!

interesting. Didn't know you were a 'twitcher' :)

A twitcher? lol I'm sure I've been called worse. Please enlighten me!

A 'twitcher' is a term for a bird watcher. Well it's a birdwatcher primarily interested in seeing as many new birds as possible but is basically used as a term for birdwatchers in general. Better than' Birder" as that just sounds like you are flipping people off all the time ;)

Lol, well I was thinking much worse. I guess I could qualify, but generally interesting in all wildlife, not just birds, but given my compulsivity once I take interest in something I probably still qualify for birding or twitching. I actually kind of like the the twitching label. Count me in as a new twitcher!