Backyard birds on a cold icy morning

Puffed up birds in my backyard are a pretty common sight on icy cold winter mornings. They puff their feathers and the air trapped between helps insulate them and keeps them warm. It brings me so much pleasure to look out and see these spots of color on the bare icy branches.

img_0.8933289188698526.jpg

img_0.7636991031320204.jpgBlue Jay
Blue Jay's live in central and eastern United States and across southern Canada. They are quiet and secretive during nesting season, but the rest of the year they noisily communicate with each other and their squeaking makes it easy to know when they are in in the trees in my yard.

img_0.8276347017357979.jpg

img_0.7158565085046672.jpg

img_0.04286470040221802.jpgmale Northern Cardinal

img_0.29270973573628845.jpgfemale Northern Cardinal

Cardinals are a familiar sight in my yard all year round. There is nothing to compare to the bright red spot of color they provide on a dreary winter day.

img_0.2550306593787869.jpgRed bellied woodpecker

img_0.8357690107570374.jpgstarling
The first starling of the season appeared in my yard this week. They migrate south in the winter, so maybe the return of this one means that he has high hopes that spring will be returning soon. The weather forecast says otherwise!

This week the SMAP contest - by @nelinoeva asks for '" My Best Bird photo ."

This is one of my best photos simply because the odds of a house finch, an American goldfinch and an indigo bunting all being on the feeder at the same time was astonishing to me. Indigo Buntings usually only stop in my yard during spring migration for a couple of days, so my chances to get photos of them are rather rare.

img_0.42074592180921727.jpg

Go find your best bird photo, write about it, and enter the SMAP contest - by @nelinoeva. I'm looking forward to seeing your favorite!

img_0.2164631801752323.jpg

All comments written on my posts, and any posts in Feathered Friends, Shadow Hunters, Ladies of Hive, and the FeelGood Community posts receive staked ARCHON tokens.

img_0.9186812742780536.jpg

img_0.2164631801752323.jpg

uxeumm.png

Join the Shadow Hunters Community

Image by @shasta

Enter the Reflection Hunters contest by @olgavita

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!
Supported by @pixresteemer

Sponsored by Ecency


plumes.png

Banner and feathers
by @barbara-orenya

80pli5.png

hive-106444

Join the FEATHER FRIENDS Community

Enter the Show Me A Photo contest by @nelinoeva

Enter the Let our Picture Tell Your Story contest by
@wrestlingdesires

Partnered with ARCHON
Comment and earn tokens!

Supported by Ecency


plumes.png

Image by @brittandjosie

Posted using Ecency Love

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 95 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Thanks, Pix
!PIZZA
!LUV
!LOLZ

What did the priest get the altar boy for his birthday?
A Praystation 5

Credit: reddit
@pixresteemer, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @melinda010100
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/2)

@melinda010100(1/3) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

Given the current emission rate of LUV pushing 500/day, increases to required LUV levels will likely be forthcoming.

amazing photo, I'm jealous you have a wonderful model @melinda010100

I do have many birds visiting my yard! Big trees, underbrush, and fresh water... and a full bird feeder!

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@melinda010100(1/10) tipped @pixresteemer (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

👍Such bright and beautiful birds in the middle of a white background.

Thanks! My bird photos will never compare to yours!

Those are really lovely shots you took

Thanks! They are all through the window shots, but it was too cold to sit outdoors and wait for birds!

If I can only see where this birds are stationed. It will be very easy for me to take pictures of them

I have found the easiest way to take bird photos is go into good habitat and sit very still and wait.

Wow. I will try that out soon and see how it goes

I really !LUV it when the little birds are Puffed up they look like littke feather balls :-)

It appears to be a very efficient way to keep warm!

@beeber(3/4) gave you LUV. H-E tools | connect | <><

Given the current emission rate of LUV pushing 500/day, increases to required LUV levels will likely be forthcoming.

Hello dear friend @ melinda010100 good day
He did not know that when birds puff up their plumage it is to face the weather; How beautiful is the place where you live, you have nature a few meters from the window
I appreciate that you let us know these beautiful images
have a beautiful day

Thanks for your comment. You know how much I love it here!

Interesting words

Good to see the colourful birds on this winter scenery. The trio is amazing. This is indeed a great shot. 🙂❤

Thanks Neli! Any chance your contest might go back and revive some of the old topic favorites?

I was thinking about that. There are some new suggestions but I wish to use old themes too.

I love the variety of colors shown in this post😀
Keep it up 👍

Thanks! They are all beautiful birds!

Love your bird and icy limbs photos.

That IS quite the capture with the three brightly colored birds on the feeder together.

Thanks Jacey! I am so ready for winter to be done, but if the Old Famers Almanac is to be believed it will be a very late spring.

That Almanac is right a lot, or it use to be. My Dad use to go by it for a lot of things, like when to plant his garden.