Defenders against predators!

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

132.JPG

The call of hungry baby birds in the nests could be heard and the African Harrier Hawk (Polyboroides typus) has a keen ear!

We wish a happy Friday to all of the Hive owners.
(That means all of us!)

We had to go and get some stuff at the local shop and made a quick stop at the river to check the water flow.
It was then that I heard his call and so I spotted him in a high tree on the camera zoom.
But it was not to be his day!

As you can see, the river was flowing quite fast and nature was happy!
184.JPG

The killer was waiting patiently to pull his move!
134.JPG

But bad luck for him, as the defenders, two Hadeda Ibis birds arrived!
The one landed almost right next to the hawk!
142.JPG

Another look at the Hadeda next to the hawk.
150.JPG

And the other one came in to sit on a branch above the hawk.
160.JPG

No need to tell you that the Harrier Hawk disappeared into the trees.

But Wait! Two trees away from this one we found another customer.
This is an "Eurasian Buzzard" (Butco buteo) and I recognized him, as I posted about this bird before!
284.JPG

I had an uncle that used to smile like that 🤣
270.JPG

So, we don't know if it was the Hadeda's that had a nest there, or this Eurasian Buzzard. What we do know was that the African Harrier hawk had no chance to raid a nest here.
As he was watching the nest, the eyes of a few dangerous defenders were watching him.
Nature certainly looks after herself!

And That's All Friends!

I leave you with something to think about;

“The secret of change is to focus all of your energy, not on fighting the old, but on building the new”!
Socrates (Philosopher)

Not: All photos are my own, fresh and taken today.
The camera used was a Canon Powershot SX60HS

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

What exotic birds there are where you live! I have never seen them. I think I have to go for a walk where you are! 😂

Thank you and we are in the Western Cape Province, winelands of South Africa my friend!

Impressive predators both of them, sure the Eurasian Buzzard was giving him "the look", nature most definitely has a way of keeping life in balance, perhaps a message in here for humans as well.

Have a grand Friday two exceptional sightings in one day, kudos on that Stephen.

You know me well Lady Joan and the only reason that I didn't put a lesson in here, is that nobobody listens to anything on a Friday 🤣

May you guys have a blessed weekend!

Fantastic photos!
I am learning more and more about birds
from your blog than anywhere else!

Thank you and I am glad to show you the other side of the silver coin, namely nature and its inhabitants my friend.

Cheers and !BEER

You'll be surprised by the number of coins depicting nature! 🥰🌺🤙
!ENGAGE

I can imagine, as nature hunkers in many minds my friend.
People also love to do art and jewelry with coins.

Have a look at this that I saw at our local flea market!
180.jpg

Oops, the photo doesn't load up!

Funny and I think it's a glitch.
A friend sent me a photo today and it also doesn't appear.

It was a photo of a case with rings in it that were made from coins!

I made this one smaller so let's see if it opens!

180.JPG

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @silversaver888, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I love how you put together posts that tell a nature story! Thanks for posting to the #featheredfriends community!

Thank you mialady, it's just my way of doing things and the great news is that I see that some others are starting to also do the same.

Blessings and I hope that your weekend is good!

Wow, what interesting predators!😃
And the Eurasian Bizzard has rather large feathers, and they look like chain mail.

Thank you and we have about 110 species of the birds of prey in Africa.
Also 45 different species of owls and so iit is often a battle to identify the birds.
The Eurasion is a beatiful bird indeed.

I smiled at the uncle joke haha

Ah Lady Maria, I was thinking about you. Been away?
Less said about my uncle the better :)

You are so kind. I had personal problems so this was the reason why I was inactive on all of my social media accounts.

I hope that the problems were solved my friend.
We all have them and struggle with it, but such is life.

Good to see you back!

Nice article. You must see so many different types of birds where you live.
That Eurasian buzzard was awesome. Your uncle must have been a little scary though 😂
Thanks for identifying beautiful creatures.

Thank you and yes, Africa is filled with wildlife and we are fortunate to live in the rural areas between many farms and such. We are also in the winelands and very close to the apple farms. A real haven for birds.
Our particular area is backed by mountain ranges and fronted by the ocean.
Only a pleasure to share.