You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some pictures of the Curlew

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

I have a few books, but the one that I use most is the latest "Sasol Birds of Southern Africa"
The 5th revised edition and the main author is Ian Sinclair.

ISBN 978-1-77584-668-0

It has a new free bird-call app and you can listen to the sound of each featured bird by scanning the barcodes.
It also has 800 new illustrations.

Sort:  

I think I have the older version one. It has helped me identify so many birds. And thanks for the mentioning of the bird-call app! I will look into that one. I guess it comes with the new book? the barcodes at least.

Oh yeah, you simply scan the barcodes with your phone, then you can hear the bird singing.

That is a neat feature! What I'd like in these birding books is the addition of female and juvenile birds. Sometimes I see a bird and cannot find it in the Sasol book, but mine is old and mostly have male birds.

Yes, if I want to look at the females or any other information I ask my mother in law Mrs Google.

Yes, luckily we have that!

👉👍👈