Some pictures of the Curlew

in Feathered Friends3 years ago (edited)

This weekend I visited the wetlands of the Inn River again for some bird photography. It was not my best weekend, but still I was able to take some pictures of curlews and also some marsh harriers and other smaller birds. But as you already might know is that I really like the curlews very much, and I am always very happy to see one or even more of them.

This time they were looking for food in the meadow and also flying above my head. There are only a few places in Austria left where you can find this beautiful birds. There are some breeding spots in Upper Austria, Lower Austria and Burgenland but due to the heavy agricultural use of many meadows they have difficulties finding breeding spots.

DSC_7087.jpg
Curlew flying in the sky. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/500 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:48 pm
ISO1000

It is funny, three years ago I was looking for these birds and I couldn't find them even though I did a lot of research. Now since I know where they live I have already met them several times either at the Inn River or at Lake Neusiedler. But still I am very happy when I see one of them or even a flock.

DSC_7089.jpg
What a beautiful bird. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/500 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:48 pm
ISO1000

DSC_7104.jpg

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/500 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:48 pm
ISO1000

DSC_6686.jpg
A flock of curlews in the meaddow looking for food. Picture: Florian Glechner.

Camera usedNikon D500
Lens usedSigma 150-600 mm lens
Filter usednone
Exposure Time1/1000 Seconds
Aperture usedF6.3
Focal Length600 mm
Time04:25 pm
ISO1000
Sort:  

Amazing birds! In the last picture, they almost look like the bird here in South Africa we call the hadeda (Hadada ibis).

We have the Eurasian Curlews here at Langebaan in the Cape. They migrate to South Africa from Europe and return every year.

That is awesome! I have not been to Langebaan in ages. I think I was there in 2012 last. Way before my birding years! I should make a trip there.

Ha, never been there myself and we will also will make a plan to go there sometime.
I have the information about the Curlews in my bird book.

Cheers and !BEER

What bird book do you have/use?

I have a few books, but the one that I use most is the latest "Sasol Birds of Southern Africa"
The 5th revised edition and the main author is Ian Sinclair.

ISBN 978-1-77584-668-0

It has a new free bird-call app and you can listen to the sound of each featured bird by scanning the barcodes.
It also has 800 new illustrations.

I think I have the older version one. It has helped me identify so many birds. And thanks for the mentioning of the bird-call app! I will look into that one. I guess it comes with the new book? the barcodes at least.


Hey @fermentedphil, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Do you want to win SOME BEER together with your friends and draw the BEERKING.

Great pics, great birds

As always, wonderful photos, my friend! And even in flight, it's super!👍

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Amazing capture ❣️ of Beautiful birds 💓

Absolutely amazing photos.