The great Jackal Buzzard.

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

A very angry juvenile followed screaming after his mom.
103 (2).JPG

Happy Friday to all and a most amazing thing happened to me. A jackal Buzzard decided to fly right over my head. I was following a little sunbird and the next moment I heard the angry screams. Maybe his mom took him with to the shopping mall and she didn't buy him candy :)

The mom turned away and she flew past at a distance. You can see her disgusted look.
010 (2).JPG

But the youngster came into my direction.
058 (2).JPG

Now just have a look at this!!! An angry face and clenched fists (talons).
103 (2).JPG

Screaming he turned away and that red tail a distinctive mark of his specie (Buteo rufofuscus)
104.JPG

Here you can see the Sunbird that I was following wetting himself as the buzzard passed over so close to us. Look closer, he was peeing.
111.JPG

What an experience and the bird is called a "Jackal Buzzard" because its call sounds like a Black-backed Jackal (animal).

You can read more about this iconic bird at this link,

The jackal buzzard (Buteo rufofuscus) is a fairly large African bird of prey. The taxonomy of this species has caused some confusion in the past and it almost certainly belongs in a species complex with other African Buteo species. Some taxonomists have considered this species, the Archer's buzzard, and the augur buzzard to be the same superspecies. Many taxonomists consider them all to be distinct, having different calls, different home ranges and variations in plumage. This is a species that lives among mountains, and on adjacent savanna and grassland. It is resident and non-migratory throughout its range.
Source

I hope that you have enjoyed my experience!

And That's All Friends.

Photos by Zac Smith-All Rights Reserved.

Camera: Canon Powershot SX70HS Bridge camera.

Thank you kindly for supporting a post on behalf of @papilloncharity

Sort:  

WOW! Two sets of amazing photos. We had a pair of jackal buzzard passing lazily overhead a couple afternoons ago. But they were so high that I could barely see the colour definition.

Oh yes, difficult to get them, as they always hang up high on the thermals.
I was very lucky lucky to get them closer up.

Thank you and have some !PIZZA

Thank you. I'm always amazed by the wildlife you see in the city. It is really wonderful that there is still so much of that in and around Cape Town

Thankfully we are not in the city my friend, as I have become allergic to traffic 🤣
I got a different mom and her youngster today.
036_2_

White line on the tail means that they are Harrier Hawks.

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
papilloncharity tipped buckaroobaby (x1)
@papilloncharity(3/10) tipped @nelinoeva (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Wow, wow, wow, what an encounter! Great shots, so detailed. Oh and the peeing bird, great timing. 😄

Thank you my friend and I thought to add a bit of humor with the peeing bird 🤣

!PIZZA