show me a photo contest - pigeons again?! (6 foto)

in Feathered Friends3 years ago

Greeting, mates! The next next round of the birding contest is up. The topic given was 'Bottom', and I can frankly say I enjoyed it, though this is not what I shoot on a regular basis, I managed to dig some pics from my archives, and also could not but add a few fresh ones.

First go a series of funny pictures of pigeons attacking small bird feeders aimed especially for small birds. No surprise what we see in this scene is mostly their bottom. Note -- it all come naturally! I wasnt focusing on it intentionally!

fdrs060w.jpg

zfdrs029w1.jpg

Below is uncropped version of the picture.

zfdrs029w2.jpg


And now what I found in my folders: here are some successful close-up pictures of the grebe duck guarding its hatch. In June 2020 I had a nice opportunity to come close enough to the nest in a local park, and with the help of my 300mm telephoto lens I received very detailed and clear images.

chmg0025w.jpg

At a certain moment (when I 'crossed the critical line') the duck left the nest, stepped back, and get herself into the water. On the frame below you see exactly this moment: the duck lifts its body and is about to leave the nest for a little swimming. What's amazing about this image, hmm ... I was personally shocked to see the "size" of its back. Well, it's a duck, right? and the size of her ass was ... similar to a cow's udder. Unusual. Perhaps this is such a seasonal change in the body, at the time of incubating the nest? To be honest, I know so little about it!

chmg0068w2.jpg

After a little swimming (by that time I stepped back with my camera) the duck decided to return to the nest. And I shoot the very moment when it left the pond, and the bottom part of the body is still wet, it is shaking the body to get rid of the water before sitting again on the nest. A splendid sight, I enjoyed this frame very much as one of the highlights of the session -- it isnt what you can see on a daily basis!

wchmg0068cr.jpg

Above is the cropped version of the same frame.
This photo goes for 'Show me a photo (of a bird)' contest, round six!


Check the rules and details to take part, they are easy and pretty standard:

  • weekly challenge, new prompt is published on Sunday;
  • link back your entry in the comment section of the contest post;
  • photo should be your own, obviously;
  • post it in #FeatheredFriends community;
  • your post may feature more photos, just state which one is your entry (otherwise 1st will be taken into account);
  • drop some extra text description;
  • mention the contest name in the title of your post.

! 2.jpg

Sort:  

Haha, the pigeon is really hilarious and the duck is amazing. Wonderful shots. 😀

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 43 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

!ENGAGE 20 Голубь красавец!!! Особенно повеселил вид сзаду :) Такого я еще не видел :)

спасибо на добром слове! веселыя сценка, да. лично мне приходит на ум цитата из сказки о теремке. медведь, протискиваясь и разваливая теремок: "я уж как-нибудь, я уж где-нибудь.." :)

Отличная аналогия!

You need to have 1000 ENGAGE, in order to use this service.

Шикарные фотографии :)

Yeah the pigeons butt tops everything 😂!!!!! So funny.

And the Grebe "duck" is nicely captured as well!

They are actually not really ducks. They are an own family within the birds, and they are tied to water as they are divers. Thats why their appearance is so distinctive. Also their bones are not as hollow as with other birds, cause they only get out of the water when nesting or taking a break. Some species within the family can't even fly anymore. Sorry for being a smartass, but that's what I recall learning in school back then 😇😅.

I love how much you know and was quite excited to see you join the DNA Discord I hope you get involved. I wish I had more time to spend there!

Hey Melinda, I appreciate you saying this :).

But to keep it in the context of the greek philosopher Sokrates - The more I know, the more I know that I know nothing.

I don't consider myself knowing a lot, I see it more like having a lot of interest in certain things. So I try to educate myself about them with the knowledge available and my own experiences.

About the discord, I will check in once in a while but to be honest as of now I am not sure what to make of it. I feel like crushing a party and to buttonhole people is not so much in my nature. Maybe it is because I am rather new to the whole social media thing. Until last year everything was more or less a one on one thing with people, due to my jobs.

Now I'm at home trying to dive into the world of online communication and sometimes I feel like a weird intruder 😅 .

This will be a fun week of photos! Great butt shots!

I figured that out right from the start when I saw the prompt - a really good one :D
which did you like more - pigeon or Grebe?..

The pigeon butt sticking out of the feeder is my favorite.! It is quite delightful to see! 😂

Кормушка для голубей??? :) В зашей их гнать.

хе, хе, хе. уникальный комментарий, да! кормушка на самом деле для других птичек, но голуби они как евреи, везде пролезут :)

Вот, вот. :)
У меня сорока всё прилетает к кормушке, но посмотрит и улетает. Иногда со снега подбирает семки упавшие.

ocd_curation_comment.gif

@barbara-orenya, I am very pleased. thank you! glad you like my birdies :)

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Congratulations @qwerrie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Time to go on your Hive Tour

@qwerrie - This is full fun and beautiful of how living creatures of bird and duck live their life.

!ENGAGE 30 !WINE


Congratulations, @andyjim You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @qwerrie.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.400 HIVE