Sicalis columbiana (Canario de sabana)

Greetings to this beautiful community Feathered Friends. Today I have returned to share with you, some small birds that inhabit my backyard, and that are curiously sociable, however, I avoid interacting very closely with them, to prevent them from being at risk, since I am generally accompanied by my dogs, and they are very jealous of any other animal that approaches me.

A large number of animals live in my backyard, including birds. Sometimes they only come down to eat or drink water, other times they perch in the trees, but others I assume they live in that space, since I constantly see them there. And for today I will share photos of one of those permanent inhabitants: The Savannah Canaries, whose scientific name is Sicalis columbiana.

Savannah canaries, or simply canaries, as they are known in the town where I live, are small, very fast birds, with a beautiful song. These birds who have been living on my backyard for years (I know they are not the same individuals) tend to be very sociable. It has even happened on occasions that they approach me as if to eat out of my hands, but I reject them because my dogs can kill them. For that same reason, I took these photos from afar, avoiding getting too close to them.

Generally these canaries travel in pairs or groups of 6 to 10 individuals. The photos I managed to take are of a couple, who came to peck in the space under two small guava and lime trees that I have in that area of the backyard. They were pecking at ants and small insects that they found among the dead leaves.

I could notice that, as always, they are very alert to their surroundings, perhaps due to the presence of cats (both mine and my neighbors'), which usually wander through the backyard. They were pecking the entire time, while they interacted in silence, I suppose they communicated by the movements of their heads.

They are beautiful birds, with a beautiful and melodious song, with which from various points in the backyard, they usually communicate between several individuals. These did not trill at any time, but I have heard them on other occasions.

In the bibliographic review that I carried out, I found some interesting data, which I will now present:

  • They belong to the order Passeriformes, which corresponds to a huge group of generally singing birds.

  • They correspond to the Thraupidae family, which are birds native to Central and South America.

  • They are distributed between Venezuela, Colombia and Brazil, always close to the basins of large rivers, such as the Orinoco and the Amazon.

  • Lives in open natural areas, such as rivers and savannahs. They can also be seen to a lesser extent in rural populations, as proven by these sightings.

  • They are small birds, 11 cm in length.

  • The main characteristic is an orange spot that males have on their forehead. In females the color is less intense.

Here I end my post today, where I have told you about these small and beautiful birds, which brighten our days with their song. There is nothing more pleasant than seeing and hearing a bird in the wild, they do not deserve to be caged. Remember that each animal is important and fulfills a fundamental ecological niche in nature. A hug for all!

Source of photographs

All photos have been taken by me, with my Redmi Note 9A smarthphone

BIBLIOGRAPHY

The dividers used are courtesy of @eve66 who shares beautiful designs that embellish the layout of our post.

Todo el contenido, (excepto los separadores de texto y la imagen de portada) es de mi propiedad y está sujeto a derechos de autor // All content (except text dividers and cover image) is my property and is subject to copyright.


Delegations welcome!

Find our community here | Curation Trail


BANNER AMAZING.png Delegations welcome!

Find our community here

Curation Trail

CKq55bDMMa5C9zjdaYBZxnPMSS25AZZuNXNLEYfzw2o7RznvGD2vzBRbDH4vP4bFjA2DoCbXAwo9bZBWrEKeCNaumQtyN4TPp8KNR7DwgJAmPxhmWiEeMsAaUB1qorVXzqBzT95BCg7ey5BxeLdfXVFFx9gv14JaHwZrnHGXMU9JYxCPVUow8TnBRwFuii6EuvsU9aafvRqVqjJ9o343ccawwh.png

Posted using Ecency Coin

Sort:  

Good morning dear friend @sirenahippie

It is incredible that these little beauties visit the back of your house, and give you this possibility of taking all the photographs of them.

You are doing very well not being so close and respecting their spaces, a way to provide protection and not get too used to human presence, not all people have good intentions; This is the type of birds that are persecuted for their beautiful chirping, which is the main reason why people keep them in captivity.

How happy it gave me to see these things again. When I was a job, I lived in a neighborhood outside the suburbs and that's where I saw this type of thing for the first time. When I moved to the city, I haven't seen it again.

Really enjoyed these photographs, I appreciate all the information about them.
Have a wonderful day

Hello @jlufer, it's a pleasure to see you visiting my post. Yes, fortunately in my backyard there are many species living in harmony, even skunks and opossums, and there are many birds. These guys in the photos usually visit that area, since I usually give them some food and they always have water available, which is vital at this time when summer is so strong.

They are very cute, they sing beautifully, and in my particular case, on several occasions, for years, they have sought closeness, but it is not good for them, because as you say, there are people who only want to keep them in captivity, which for me it's a crime.

I hope you have a great day too. Hugs!

So beautiful birds

Oh yes, they are so cute. Greetings @khushboo108

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @sirenahippie.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Just reading your post I feel like I want to put a blanket under this little tree and lay down to listen to the sound of the birds, especially these canaries that I know are very special with their singing; that yes, it terrifies me to think that your dogs mistake me for a strange animal hahahaha, that's the only thing that makes me doubt 😅 what a nice post, I didn't know this community, really Hive has a space for everything ❤️

Aay ño mío esos pajaritos son hermosos! No dejes que tus perros se desayunen a tus visitantes 😔 quiero más visitas así; arriba de la casa vuelan muchos zamuros, no es tan lindo jaj

Tan lindo @elisonr13, gracias por tu bonito comentario. Cerca de casa también hay zamuros, generalmente se posan en el tamarindo a descansar. También hay gavilanes, caricaris, lechuzas campanarios, búhos, paraulatas, chocolateros, arroceros, pericos, loros, guacamayas, entre otros muchos; y no todos habitan el solar, pero sí vienen de visita a diario. Abrazos. Feliz semana.

Aww :) so cute and colourful!:) I love bird watching - here in New Zealand there are some really cool birds!:)