Feathered Friday - Desert Edition

in Feathered Friends2 years ago

Here are some desert birds for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
p5202493_copy.jpg
These are just a few shots from Southern Arizona where it is nice and warm. This first one is a gila woodpecker, very common in Arizona.

p5202490_copy.jpg
Here is another unique desert bird called the curve-billed thrasher. They have a unique call and a bright orange eye.

p5202462_copy.jpg
This is some sort of flycatcher, possibly an ash-throated flycatcher. You can see lots of flycatchers in Arizona this time of year.

p5202416_copy.jpg
Here is another flycatcher most likely a gray flycatcher. I got most of these shots within a 100 foot area. They are all quite busy catching bugs.

p5202427_copy.jpg
This one appears to be a western goldfinch. It has a tint of yellow and gray much like the American goldfinches I see in Illinois.

p5202446_copy.jpg
Here is another seed eater, I believe this one is Abert's Towhee.

p5202431_copy.jpg
Here is a common ground dove. They look quite a bit like mourning doves but are much smaller and lack the blue eye ring.

p5202409_copy.jpg
I believe this is Lincoln's sparrow, or it could possibly be a lark sparrow.

p5202473_copy.jpg
Look at this guy, sadly I could not get closer to it... I'm pretty sure this is a summer tanager. I also saw a western tanager but the photos turned out blurry. I took most of these photos in a riparian area of the San Pedro river

Sort:  

Congratulations @sketch.and.jam! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Interesting birds live there. Thank you, it was interesting to know about them.😃

Quite a few go down to Southern Arizona for winter. It feels like summer down there in the desert.

Woow,, the picture is very clear and clean, from now on I have to save up to buy a lens like the one you use my friend.

Also the desert light is very bright perfect for my 4/3 camera sensor that requires lots of light.

I don't know when I can have a camera like you my friend

Very cool photos. Happy New Year!

Happy New Year to you too :-)