Feathered Friday - Red-Tailed Hawk Secret Bath Time

in Feathered Friends4 years ago

Here's a red-tailed hawk getting caught taking a bath for this #featheredfriday by @melinda010100
P5167712.jpg
Whew, I have just landed after getting attacked by seagulls and crows in the sky. They don't like it when I try and eat their babies. Now its time to take a break from being a bloodthirsty hawk.
P5167716.jpg
Oh look a nice puddle, maybe I can sneak in a bath.
P5167717.jpg
I better run fast before the other hawks see my perfect bathing spot.
P5167720.jpg
Whew nice and cool rainwater. Time to ruffle some feathers and cool off ahhh.
P5167723.jpg
Wait a minute! I think I heard a click... Oh no its a pesky camera human, dang it now my butt will be posted all over the internet :-0
P5167724.jpg
I won't give him the satisfaction of adjusting his camera setting for a clear shot. Darn riff raff humans disturbing a perfect hawk bathing spot.
P5167725.jpg
I'll make sure and fly just out of frame, can't have him catching my full wingspan in his lens, the jerk.
P5167730.jpg
Now I will fly real high so I'm just a speck in the sky. No clear pictures for the peeping tom.

Happy #featheredfriday

Sort:  

Awesome Shots!!!
Great Job!
👍🏼😁👍🏼
Very Good Eye!
👁️👁️

Thanks, I was lucky to see him land in the field and have my camera ready. Too bad the flying shots came out blurry though.

A little blurry, true...
But with the stills it works!!!
👍🏼😁👍🏼

Gotta save up for a better burst shot camera, my zoom lens does badly on motion.

Hahaha! An entertaining FF post! You made me laugh with your photo commentary! Truly a fun post, and an unusual photo opportunity.
!tip

If only I had my camera on the burst shot when he started flying. He flew pretty close to me on his way out from the puddle P5167726.JPG

Nice! I like that photo a lot. I had a sharp-shinned hawk fly through today and they always amaze me at how they can fly between the trees and the branches at what seems like a hundred miles an hour!

Cool I've never heard of the sharp shinned hawk but now that I looked it up I found an old photo I had of one. I'll need to make a post about it soon now that it's properly identified. Hawks seem to fly well so long as there are no reflections to confuse them. I saw a sparrow hawk that smacked into the wrigley building earlier this year chasing a pigeon. Poor thing died instantly.

Poor thing is right. I had a brown thrush hit the window in my front door this week and die. I have never had that happen here before.
The sharp shinned hawks fly through densely spaced trees at very fast speeds. They are quite the acrobats! They learn that they can occasionally pick off a quick snack near my feeder.

They have quite the interesting red eyes. I've been searching for my pictures of it for about an hour must be on a different hard drive. I have a picture of it with some small bird in a branch eating it.

Poor brown thrush maybe he was getting chased by the hawk and crashed.

That was my thought about the thrush/thrasher? . First one I had seen in a while, too.

🎁 Hi @sketch.and.jam! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Signs Of Summer Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Never seen one do this and we have LOTS of them here.... Very cool!

I think this one has juvenile markings so he probably is a bit clumbsy about letting people see his bath routine lol.

LoLminuscule.png How fun is that !? ^_^
At first, I didn't grab it that was the hawk speaking,
so when I read

They don't like it when I try and eat their babies

I was kinda WOOOt ? @sketch.and.jam ate baby birds ??

What a relief when I re-read and understood... you can imagine 😄

Hahah fortunately I don't make fried hawk drumsticks on the weekends lol.

Loading...

Great shots
I especially like the hawk running through the puddles and your comments on this: D

!invest_vote

They look hilarious when they run. It's like they have long pants on of some kind.

That's right :D

@bambuka denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@bambuka thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !
Votet @cervisia for Witness

For the good cheer you brought with this hawk on display, excellent photography and story telling, these humans never know when to behave!

!BEER

I wish I had got the shots of the crows and seagulls attacking him before he landed.


Hey @sketch.and.jam, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

The Redtail is perhaps my fav raptor, probably because they are always around me (plus they're also just damn beautiful).

I wish I had gotten clearer pictures of him in flight.