Sort:  

Nice! I like that photo a lot. I had a sharp-shinned hawk fly through today and they always amaze me at how they can fly between the trees and the branches at what seems like a hundred miles an hour!

Cool I've never heard of the sharp shinned hawk but now that I looked it up I found an old photo I had of one. I'll need to make a post about it soon now that it's properly identified. Hawks seem to fly well so long as there are no reflections to confuse them. I saw a sparrow hawk that smacked into the wrigley building earlier this year chasing a pigeon. Poor thing died instantly.

Poor thing is right. I had a brown thrush hit the window in my front door this week and die. I have never had that happen here before.
The sharp shinned hawks fly through densely spaced trees at very fast speeds. They are quite the acrobats! They learn that they can occasionally pick off a quick snack near my feeder.

They have quite the interesting red eyes. I've been searching for my pictures of it for about an hour must be on a different hard drive. I have a picture of it with some small bird in a branch eating it.

Poor brown thrush maybe he was getting chased by the hawk and crashed.

That was my thought about the thrush/thrasher? . First one I had seen in a while, too.