You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Now how is this?

in Feathered Friends2 years ago (edited)

Wow, that is an awesome idea with the shells that I have never seen either. I am probably more of a klutz in the art type visions lol.
One possible idea I can think of to make them is by drilling a pilot hole with a ceramic drill bit and then cutting the hole with a tool like a jigsaw using a fine blade.

I didn't train at Faffa/infantry school but know about it & you must have cooked if you were there in Summer. I lived in Knysna for nine years and went over to Oudtshoorn a few times a year.

Thanks for sharing this and it stirred good memories from back in the day.

P.S....I happened to see your post because @joanstewart reblogged it :)

Sort:  

Oh yes, a diamond tipped drill bit could definitely work. One could also drill along the line of the hole in order to get a blade through and then file the edges flush after cutting.

It was H&H (Hot as Hell) in a route march on the Swartberg mountain pass in summer and freezing cold in winter.

I was hijacked from Johannesburg to serve my time in Oudtshoorn and during weekend passes we traveled all over that area, so I also know Knysna well.

Great that you saw it and Joan is a long time friend.

!BEER

Yip, that would definately work.

I know about the Swartberg, so feel your pain, and did vasbyt close by in the Overberg and quite a bit of training in Touwsriver with the same mixture of climates.

That is great about your friendship with Joan. I have never personally met her but she seams a great person.

Cheers for the beer :)

Thankfully that was a long time ago, but it was so difficult with the blisters and such, that I remember it like yesterday. A 20 kilometer hike in full kit is not for the faint hearted.

We lived in the Overberg about 4 years ago on an apple farm and I loved the place.

Yes Joan is a great friend to have.

Here's some !PIZZA for ya.

True story and it really is an amazing place.

Ah, thanks so much for the pizza :)

Agreed and my pleasure!


Hey @stevemuis, here is a little bit of BEER from @papilloncharity for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Ahh cheers....thanks a lot @papilloncharity and @papilloncharity :)