Hi Bestie ❤️: Mom's Unexpected Reunion With Her Long-lost Friend

in Family & Friendslast month (edited)

Picsart_24-03-30_12-36-16-585.jpg

Hi guys, hello hello! how are you? I bet you're really doing fine today Hahaha! It's me again, your cutie haruki.tls123, back with a new blog! Huhu, and here I am, troubled by the intense heat here in the Philippines, but that's not related to our topic right now. So, what are we going to talk about in this blog?

Basically, it's obvious from the title, it's about the unexpected reunion of my mom and one of her best friends from her youth, who used to be her employer in a canteen in Manila City a long time ago. They have many memories together, making their unexpected reunion here in our city, which is far from Manila City, very heartwarming. The Philippines as we all know is an archipelago, traveling from Manila to Cebu involves taking ships or planes is it is truly unexpected for both of them. But before we dive into how they met again, let's talk about their friendship back then^^

(I'll use their old pics, guys, so they might be a bit blurry, just a heads up!)

Let's go!


During my mom's younger years, she traveled to Manila City, which was quite far from our home in Cebu City. She went there to pursue her studies and find work to support herself financially. She tried many different jobs, like washing dishes and doing laundry for people she knew. She was very hardworking and determined I promise!!, trying everything she could to make ends meet.

CamScanner 03-30-2024 17.46_7.jpg

Eventually, she found a job as a server in a canteen. It was there that she met her friend, who was her employer at the canteen. They formed a close bond while working together, sharing experiences and creating memories that would last a lifetime.

So in her side job, she wasn't just earning money; she also gained the trust of her employer, who became very close to her, as well as the trust of the employer's relatives. Her employer's nickname is "Monina," so I'll refer to her as Ate Monina (ate means sister in the Philippines). But even though my mom was earning, of course, we can't deny that there were some downsides. Because there was a store in the canteen, many people would borrow money, and since my mom and Ate Monina were kind, they lent money to them. However, some didn't pay back, and sadly, their store suffered losses and went bankrupt at some point, leading them to move to different locations. But even with that, my mom, Ate Monina, and their other friends from the canteen remained happy in their friendship and didn't give up in their small business.

CamScanner 03-30-2024 17.46_1 (1).jpg
(Here are they eating happily as if there were no problems at all^^)

After several months or years of moving from one place to another, they ended up in a place where wealthy people and many celebrities lived (which is why I've seen many famous celebrities there). They set up a canteen there, and yes, despite the challenges they faced, their business started to improve again.

CamScanner 03-30-2024 17.46_5.jpg

Maybe my mom just has great charming skills because many suitors approached her during that time, and of course, many customers bought from them because my mom was there. Hahaha! Funny but true. That's why my mom was quite important to Ate Monina because she was always there to watch over things, and it seemed like my mom never rested just to run the canteen. It's really commendable how hardworking my mom is, and even those who know her now can definitely AGREE to that ❤️!

And also, my mom owes Ate Monina a lot, but not in terms of money, haha! It's because thanks to Ate Monina, my mom met my dad, who was really handsome, oh my gosh! Hahaha! And yes, that's where their love story began, but let's not talk about that for now. Let's focus on their friendship. We might end up spending years talking about their love story, and I might even end up writing a book about it, haha! Just kidding, guys. But we can't deny that my mom isn't from Manila City; she's from Cebu, and she needed to go back home since she was still single during those times. So here comes the saddest part: when my mom and dad started being together, my mom started to distance herself from Ate Monina because Ate Monina had a store in a different location. Sadly, there was a time when my mom and her friends didn't even have a chance to say goodbye:<

CamScanner 03-30-2024 17.46_6.jpg
(This is their last photo in Manila, actually they are 4 of them but the other one is the one who took this photo)


After 13 years, here we are, my mom and our family with my papa and little brother but then, just 4 days ago, something unexpected happened while my mom was buying groceries with grandma. On their way home, there was one person who caught my mom's attention, shopping for clothes near us, and to my mom's surprise, it was Ate Monina she saw! The world is really small, isn't it? Manila is far from Cebu, like wow! It was so unexpected that when my mom approached and tapped Ate Monina, they were both shocked and not just shocked, they even cried because it's been so long.
(sadly I don't some pictures of them since I am at our house that time, so I'll just narrate the details based on my mother's chitchat with me)

So when they met, they couldn't forget the hug, and grandma, she knew Ate Monina because my mom always talked about her, but she hadn't seen her in person yet, so grandma just smiled. They chatted and caught up with each other, and there was a funny part where Ate Monina asked grandma, "Oh, does Cherryl know how to cook now? She didn't know how to cook before, always messing up." Hahaha! That's true until now. So be careful not to let my mom near the kitchen because a lot of surprising things might happen. And at the end of their conversation, Ate Monina invited my mom and also dad, my lil bro and me to come over on Saturday, March 30, since they'll be swimming at a pool. Ate Monina said they'll cover everything—food and entrance. At first, my mom was shy, but Ate Monina insisted, especially since Ate Monina will be going back to Manila the next day to take care of work. It was also a way for Ate Monina to repay my mom's kindness for inviting her to the pool. So, my mom agreed, and it was surprising to know that Ate Monina's small store has grown into having a water refilling station and goes at international businesses! Like wow! That's dedication, guys, so we should never give up on our goals!


IMG20240330095040.jpg

And here we are, on Saturday, March 30, enjoying a swim at a swimming pool to beat the heat in the Philippines. Thanks to Ate Monina! As soon as we entered, they started chatting away, and soon enough, mama's two other best friends joined in, making their reunion complete! I'm so happy for them!! 🤲

Ate Monina really took care of everything, so we were all full and enjoying ourselves, while mama, papa, and her friends, especially Ate or should I say, Madam Molina, were busy catching up on life. Mama even brought her album with pictures of them; she's truly a keeper, not just of memories but also in her heart ❤️!

IMG20240330192404.jpg

I won't prolong this blog anymore, but I'm just so happy for them that they met again even for a brief moment! I also thank God because mama is so happy with this reunion with her long-lost friends to express gratitude for everything. Before heading home, mama and Ate Monina exchanged phone numbers and hugged and of course, took another picture of them 📸!

IMG20240330114418.jpg


The reunion between my mom and her long-lost friends has been a heartening experience, reminding us of the preciousness of lifelong connections. Their laughter echoed the timeless bonds forged in shared experiences and enduring friendship. Witnessing their joyous reunion serves as a beautiful reminder that no distance or time can diminish true camaraderie. To my dear mom, may your days be filled with more moments of laughter, love, and cherished reunions with old and new friends alike. Your heartwarming smile reflects the beauty of enduring friendships, and I am grateful to witness such precious moments. And to all my readers, may you also find joy in reconnecting with loved ones and celebrating the enduring bonds that enrich our lives

Thank you for joining me in this heartwarming blog and thank you for reading it! hope you enjoy this new blog of mine^^! Until then, take care, stay happy, and cherish the bonds that make life beautiful. God Bless! haruki.tls123 out! sayonara<3 ❤️

Sort:  

Congratulations @haruki.tls123! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2024