Remembering my loved ones during All Saints and All Souls Day.

in Family & Friends6 months ago

IMG_20231026_170514.jpg

Greetings everyone,

And since this is my first post in this community, Hello everyone. I thought it would be better to post it here because it is to remember the families and friends I have lost.

Happy Halloween, and to my fellow Filipinos Happy All Saints and All Souls Day. I hope everyone has been able to visit and offer candles, food, flowers, and prayers to our departed loved ones as a tradition in Celebrating this holiday.

Just a little update for me today, I just started my new job yesterday since I transferred to a new account. So I haven't been able to celebrate All Saints and Souls Day in the province where my departed loved ones are rested.

However, let me give you a little tour of my visit the other day to clean Mom's grave, light a candle, and give a little prayer for all my departed loved ones in advance.

IMG_20231026_162104.jpg

As Filipinos, it is our custom to offer anything, even food, flowers, and candles, so when I went to the cemetery to give everyone a visit in advance, I dropped by a flower shop to look for some flowers. Unfortunately, the owner is not around so it was the helper who was selling those flowers so I was not able to bargain on the price. Flowers are really expensive every time this day comes but it's just once a year so I decided to get one for Mom for ₱200 or $3.53.

IMG_20231026_162233.jpg
I chose this one because the petals of the others are already withered. The seller is good and generous, she said she would just give me some freebies because I didn't ask for a discount because her boss wasn't around.

IMG_20231026_162413.jpg

After I finished choosing flowers, I went to the candle store. There I paid ₱50 or $.88 for the candle and matches to light. Then we head right away.

IMG_20231026_162934.jpg

This is the main entrance. That big house-like chapel was the chapel where the priest was serving the holy mass. It was hit during typhoon Odette, so it's not the original structure anymore.

Collage_20231102_132032.jpg

I went to my mother's grave, of course, I went to her first. Her tomb is simple and because I'm still short on money and I'm the only one that takes care of it I haven't fixed or improved it yet, but hopefully, when the time comes, I'll be able to do it.

IMG_20231026_171355.jpg

And since I had already made an advance visit for All Souls Day, I went to the family and relatives to offer candles and prayers. This one is my grandparent's place my Aunt is quite fortunate so they can afford this.

IMG_20231026_172309.jpg

Finally, after I finished doing the traditional thing that is done every coming day of All Saints and All Souls Day, this is our last belief. Before we go home, we light grass or anything to smoke and here we smoke anything we have, especially our bodies so that the soul that tries to go along with us during the the time does not follow us and will just remain here.

And that's all for now. I miss my lost loved ones, especially my mother, who has been gone for more than 20 years, but that's how life should go on.

I hope the remaining months of the year are going well. Let's all be Safe. 💝

Sort:  

the petals are my late mom fav 😊
I always bought those flowers when I go to my mom’s grave every month.

Here, the tombstones are simple because my religion has rules to do not over build the tombstone

I’m sure when the time comes, you will renov your mom tombstone 😊

I'm glad to know that. You're lucky somehow you and your mom reached the point where you really bonded and you even knew her favorites. Mine is somehow sad life even if there is no picture left of her. I don't know why that wasn't a trend back then and it's like we had such a hard life that we didn't even have a picture. I was so young then when she passed away. But anyway I already moved on with that hopefully I will be able to renovate at the right time.🤞

Its my first time to hear about lighting a grass or 'magpa aso' in visaya when going to a grave. In our tradition, we do this after visiting a wake. Thank you for sharing this. Greetings 😊

I don't know if this practice is common in cities but in the provincial areas, it is still present now. Thanks for dropping in. Have a nice day!

In my country, Soul Day is also commemorated on November 2, it is a special date to remember our loved ones and at the same time a lot of family unity as people meet again in cemeteries. I am sorry that the typhoon devastated your country. Greetings @luckylaica

Nice to know that we have a tradition in common @alborhada. Typhoon is a thing that we can not predict, good thing that thank God we all survive from that. Thank you very much for dropping in @alborhada 🥰.