Myself and My brother never got along but now we are buddies or rather best of friends.

in Family & Friends18 days ago (edited)
Sibling rivalry is something that is very common in my home, right from the history of our family. I can remember growing up and noticing how my dad often had disagreements with his stepbrother over their father's property, which happens to be large plots of farmable land rich in palm trees and fruits. Although they had female siblings, which were almost about 10 in number, females were not regarded, and those two boys, i.e., my dad and his brother, felt entitled to all the property.


Their father eventually got old and died, but he never thought to split his inheritance between these two brothers. You can imagine the continuous feud between them until my uncle eventually died in a ghastly bike accident. This was quite unfortunate because I can never say if he had issues with my dad and must have carried some hate with him down to the grave.


One thing I was glad about was that they never had a physical fight because if they did and exchanged words and curses, my dad would have been tagged as a bad person or be seen to have used some witchcraft to kill his brother in order to inherit the property. This is a common thing in villages where siblings can poison each other in order to inherit each other's property.


Fast forward to some two years ago, and I heard my dad over the phone arguing with his stepbrother's children. They were rightly following in their father's footsteps and are demanding portions of the land as their own inheritance. I just hope that my dad will resolve the issues amicably and not have to fight with his distant nephews.

Screenshot_20240506-185722.jpg

That was the case in their own extended family. Coming down to my own nuclear family, the sibling rivalry situation in my family was one of a kind. We are a family of nine with seven children, and funny enough, each of the two siblings that followed each other in the order of birth often picked on each other.


I have constantly noticed my two elder sisters arguing among themselves about who will do the basic chores in the house until the day my mum had to share the task between the two of them since I wasn't old enough to join in the house chores task yet.


Was that enough to end the fights?
Well, maybe it was reduced a little because there was always this sense of jealousy between my sisters whenever my mom purchased clothes or something for one person, leaving out the other.


Sometimes parents are responsible for the rivalry among their children when they fail to treat them equally by giving some fair treatment to the others.


Growing up to a certain age, myself and my immediate younger brother, whom you see below, became like another set of cats and dogs in the house.
Being his elder sister, I demanded some form of respect from him, but he wasn't ready to comply, so we often had arguments and physical fights. I wasn't strong enough to match up to his being a woman, nor was I ready to give in. Many thanks to neighbors who often split the fight because it got pretty bad and it will be a shameful thing for me to get beat black and blue by my younger brother.

That was the fight between these two separate sets of siblings in the order that we have followed each other. The next man in the middle was left out of the fight since the immediate one that was born after him died, and my parents did give it a good gap before having these last two kids here

Screenshot_20240506-185830.jpg

These two are now something else that reminds me of my childhood days. The younger female, who is the last child of the family, is often picking on her elder brother, knowing fully well that she got our backing as the last child of the house and deserves some special treatment.

Screenshot_20240506-190112.jpg
Troublesome baby of the house 😂

Growing up, maturity has put a stop to all of those childish attitudes. The worst enemies of each other are now the best of friends; my brother respects me so well, and my sisters are each other's confidants. I never knew that these days would come because during our mother's demise, the house almost fell apart because of our siblings rivalries, but thank goodness we now have each other back.

Screenshot_20240506-190627.jpg

Parents are encouraged to train their children with equal love and kindness, discouraging preferential treatment of some kids over others. This is one of the many reasons that ignites the fire of rivalry among siblings.

All images are mine.

This is my submission to the #mayinleo and I'm using this medium to invite other other hivers to come and participate in this prompt with a lot of interesting topics via this link

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Sometimes parents are responsible for the rivalry among their children when they fail to treat them equally by giving some fair treatment to the others.

This right here is absolutely right!! It’s funny how most of these parents see nothing wrong in what they are doing.

Your opening statement summed up my family.
I am the youngest of TEN children, a mix of "His, Hers and Ours" (my sister Linda and I were the only OURS)
When my daddy died after a serious car accident, HIS remaining live children (two daughters and a son) got their own lawyer (they thought My Mama, who was not their Mama was going to cheat them out of something that simply wasn't there)
Almost 3 yrs, $30K spent in lawyers and court costs.
Up until this time, I had 9 older brothers and sisters.
After that fiasco, I had one sister and 7 living half siblings. Destroyed my family for me.
It is so sad that money or land will do this to a family

↑Upvoted↑and←Reblogged→

Wow, this is a terrible situation too, why spending so much on court case when we can settle things amicable and on love. Sometimes I wish that there was no inheritance to fight over.

Let everyone build his own castle by himself maybe we would appreciate each other that way

Nevertheless there is nothing wrong in having siblings help each other with whatever resources they have.

Now I am raising my nephews and nieces because I don't have my own children yet and I don't mind if those kids get to pay back or not.
At least I get to impact lives even if they are my close relatives.

It was complicated by the fact that I was driving our vehicle when another driver struck us broadside, critically injuring our Father. Broke all his ribs and his pelvis, punctured his lungs.
He was shoved into Mama hard enough to break 3 of her ribs and pelvis, the car seat was shoved sideways, my door popped open and I fell out and scraped my elbow.
So my 3 halfs on Daddies side sued our insurance company for the wrongful death of our father. Our insurance company had to defend both me and the other driver.
There were damages awarded which were split between those three and mama and Linda. It is illegal here for you to benefit monetarily from being sued.
So there were statements and depositions, photographs of the wreck site all presented in at least 3 court hearings. It was madness.
I carried the blame for daddies death for years, knowing I didn't cause it, but I was driving which (in my eyes) made me responsible.
I''m over that now tho. Thank God in heaven

Goodness God
I'm really sorry you had to go through all that, and totally understood how you had to carry the blame for daddy's death, I still feel the same about my mum's demise too. Nevertheless I'm asking God to help me forgive myself

And I'm glad that you are over it now, accidents are bound to happen including natural disasters that we do not have control over.

May God give us more peace and happiness
And thank you so much for sharing about this important piece of your family with me. I do cherish them and the person you have grown to become. May you enjoy good days and health my friend.

Many blessings to you as well. @monica-ene