Lessons from Jonah: SHOWING MERCY

in HeartChurch4 years ago

AMP:But it displeased Jonah exceedingly and he was very angry.

2 AMP:And he prayed to the Lord and said, I pray You, O Lord, is not this just what I said when I was still in my country? That is why I fled to Tarshish, for I knew that You are a gracious God and merciful, slow to anger and of great kindness, and [when sinners turn to You and meet Your conditions] You revoke the [sentence of] evil against them.

3 AMP:Therefore now, O Lord, I beseech You, take my life from me, for it is better for me to die than to live.

4 AMP:Then said the Lord, Do you do well to be angry? (Jonah 4:1-4)

download.jpg

Image source

Jonah was piqued when God forgave the people of Nineveh. Here was a man who had tasted God's mercy and whose very existence was a manifestation of God's kindness.

He knew God would forgive the people if they repented. His reaction explains why the did not want to obey God. That would look as if his message was false, so he was more interested in his reputation than in God's mercy to the people.

Self had an upper hand in Jonah. What about us? As God's children are we merciful? Do we easily forgive those who wrong us? We can only expect God's mercy when we show mercy to others.

We must be quick to forgive always irrespective of what people do to us.

God help us all and give us a heart of forgiveness, always to forgive others. Amen 🙏

Thanks for visiting my blog

I'm @imadear