Riveting - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United3 years ago

img_0.9270944457583661.jpg

Good evening Hiveworld and I hope you are all keeping well and that life is great.

Here is a quick breakdown of a shot I created last weekend with Chris T and Rob B in a new spot to us, which turned out the perfect size for a man of my stature....small.

I believe it is some kind of water storage tank, for the steam trains which used to run up and down the old railway line. Now converted to a countryside pathway called the Monsal Trail.


A tidy old night out with Chris T and Rob B last weekend in an old water tank housing. We must have walked past a hundred times but never thought to pop our heads round the door. We watched Rob test his drones crash landing capabilities first, next Chris bagged a beauty and then it was my go.


Lens and tripod swapping was the order of the evening. 1st tripod I set up by the entrance and lit the lining of Riley's old coat using my Nikon 20mm. This is the blue swirly pattern which surrounds the frame. I put the lens cap on, swapped tripods and took the Nikon off in favour of Chris T's 12mm Samyang fisheye. 12mm was favourable due to the diminutive nature of the metal tank. Lens cap off, single pop of Godox gelled orange followed by 10 seconds of laser. Chris then capped and uncapped the lens as I worked down each side using a lightpaintingbrushes orange filter and universal connector where the walls, floor and ceiling met.

Great night out as always chaps and back in time for a couple of beers and a chill.


I hope you enjoyed the breakdown of this image and if it raises any questions about technique then feel free to ask.


Happy days.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Cool work pal, I still have some sparklers left which might work well in here…

 3 years ago  

Cool idea mate. Looking forward to our next mission in there :)

 3 years ago  

I can feel the energy coming from the picture, that's crazy cool mate.

I got some new ideas from your post which should teach me something new while going in for tachnical aspect in photography!

 3 years ago  

Great to hear mate. I look forward to seeing what you get up to. It's very addictive once you get started :)