Witches Brew - Lightpainting on Hive

in Lightpainters United3 years ago

img_0.9143767804177475.jpg

Good morning Hiveworld and I hope life is going well with you all. Here is a bright and breezy shot for you this morning. Nothing dark or sinister at all :)

My creative juices always seem to flow a little more from Padley Gorge. Whether it because I feel so relaxed or because the place is so full of character I don't know....maybe a bit of both.


I remember shooting this one with Chris T and starting off with a simple back lit silhouette. The way the red back light strikes the surrounding rocks stood out to me and I knew a 180 flip using my camera rotation tool would create some intricate and rather cool patterns.


Once that was in the bag and I had studied the shot I decided the extremities of the frame were a little dull with not much going on. I had to add something extra.


I usually opt for a contrasting colour to frame a shot such as this but I felt adding more heat would be the way forward. I framed the camera so I was on the top left hand third of the frame and fired the shutter. We let the back light burn in for a few seconds and Chris replaced the lens cap. Rotated the camera 180 degrees and repeated. The lens cap went on again and I took my camera off the rotation tool. Placed it flat on the floor, removed the cap and walked in a circular motion around it with a length of red el wire for the smokey ethereal goodness to frame the shot. Finally I added a flare in the middle by shining a bright torch directly into the lens from a couple of meters away. The cold light from which added another layer of contrast, interest and a bit of magic.


Single long exposure light art, shot in complete darkness deep in the English countryside.


Have a great day everyone and catch you again soon

Happy days.


For more examples of innovative and original lightpainting including camera rotation photography, check these lightpainters: @fastchrisuk @dawnoner @mafufuma @oddballgraphics @martbarras @stefan.stepko @rod.evans.visual @yo-hoho @maxpateau These chaps are amongst the best there is!


You would like to see more lightpainting here?
Give our Hive Community Lightpainters United a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.

Sort:  

Astounding! I still can’t get my head around this being a single exposure... no photoshop or editing, just all in-camera tricks??
Wow

 3 years ago  

Haha. Cheers mate. I do convert the raw file in Lightroom and tinker with contrast, highlights and shadow sliders but all the effects are created in camera.

Ofcourse - I’d expect some touch ups with regards the saturation etc, especially if you shot RAW. But still, the whole concept is great, this ones really well executed

 3 years ago  

Cheers mate. I've not been in the mood lately. Probably as there is only so much I can do at home during lockdown. I'm looking forward to it being lifted and getting back out again. If you fancy having a go and would like any info or tips feel free to ask buddy. If you are in the UK and can travel you'd be more than welcome to come out with Chris and I once covid has buggered off :)

Amazing! Thanks for the invite. Yeah I’m based in West Yorkshire.
Huddersfield to be precise :)

Let’s hope one day in the future there’s an opportunity

 3 years ago  

Cool mate. Fingers crossed all this calms down this year :)

 3 years ago  

Nice to see this one again. It's amazing that these shots are always memorable despite how many we've done

 3 years ago  

Cheers dude. It's good to go back and see what we've been up to over the years. We have quite the back catalogue to sift through.

Congratulations @fadetoblack! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies.
Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Communities
Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting