LP and Urbex Pt5 + RGB-Man - The Explorer

in Lightpainters United2 years ago (edited)

Hi there fellow Light Painters, Photographers, Urbexers and any other creators. It's been a fair week and the weather seems to be getting calmer and a little more suited to getting out and about to create some more images in the dry.

I'm still posting my work on the HIVE in a chronological order so that my blog is a way of seeing some kind of progression in my images and how I create them. So the following images were created between 2014-2016 and again are focused around my early days of LP with my mate Matt and also shows our secondary interest of Urban Exploration. Finding old WWI and WWII sites is not that difficult in the UK and many sites are fairly accessible, although not always in a good state or internally accessible but always worth a visit.
A quick search on Google Maps showed a building on the hillside next to the abandoned village of Tyneham in Dorset. This area is part of the Lulworth Camp Army Ranges with many targets and distance markers which can be spotted all over the hillsides. The building we found was used to control the automated targets around this part of the ranges in the times when the ranges were totally out of bounds. Looks like one of the operators has slipped out for a quick smoke but he may have been spotted.

Target Control Post

15519537524_62d5f8f151_k.jpg Small Orange Divider.png

Target Control Board

15954574810_dcc65fa72c_k.jpg
Divider 5.png

Instant Art

My first attempts at LP ended up with me just swinging Fairy Lights or LED strip around , trying to make some kind of repeatable pattern, something that I could create again in different locations. But many of those images of my Instant Art ended up being random and not repeatable. Inspired by the silhouettes created by the formidable Dennis Calvert and LAPP-PRO, I realized that the human form would be a shape that I could re-create without using my poor drawing skills, just draw around another person and there you have it.

Abandoned Methodist Church (permission visit)

15855295169_160050d3c4_k.jpg
Small Orange Divider.png

1st live stencil

I use a lot of stencils in my current images and this is the 1st example of putting a live stencil (in camera) into the shot. I had taken ages on Photoshop to adapt the image of the King and make it suitable to use as a stencil, I also adapted Elvis's belt buckle so he could be a part of Team Lace. I learned a lot during this process, especially that the stencil does not have to be life-size and that a light scan across the back of the stencil worked better than a strobe flash.

Elvis is Leaving the Building

15855278189_8ea4ad89c4_k.jpg
Divider 5.png
One of the early images that I later gave the name RGB-Man, at this point it was just another technique I was using. Created at one of the many explores/Light Painting adventures and one where we were restricted for time and space in this disused Coastal Gun Battery, built between 1901-1903. The site is actually inhabited but the furthest gun placement is just far away enough to not be seen and of course the inhabited site keeps the vandals away, so not one mark of graffiti just the original signage painted on the walls and door headers. The trouble was the access was over a steel chain fence which lead to a rusted and unstable stairway. undeterred we then crept down the final 15-20 feet into the magazine entrance. The areas under the gun placement were fairly large and would have been mainly used for storage of ammunition and large shells, there was also an area with a wood/coal fired stove just outside the two storage areas.

RGB-Man The Explorer

16354910111_030c80cd16_k.jpg
Small Orange Divider.png 16355799832_bbcb9c74d6_k.jpg
Small Orange Divider.png

Shine-a-Light

I hope you enjoyed looking at my images and reading my post, I try to be as honest and inclusive as I can in my write ups and try to remember to mention those people who have inspired/taught me many different skills and techniques to play with in the creation of my images. I don't want to appear sycophantic so will not spend to much time on that. Those who know me, know who my LP influences are and I am grateful to them.

Divider 5.png

WHAT IS LIGHTPAINTING?
Lightpainting is a photographic technique in which exposures are made by moving a hand-held light source while taking a long exposure photograph, either to illuminate a subject or to shine a point of light directly at the camera, or by moving the camera itself during exposure. Nothing is added or removed in post processing.
Single exposure Light Art Photography /nolayer /notricks /nophotoshop
Divider 5.png
YOU WOULD LIKE TO SEE MORE LIGHTPAINTING HERE?
Give the Lightpainters United Community a follow and you will be introduced into the world of light painting.
Lightpainter United Banner.png
You will find innovative and original light painting from various artists from all over the world. Have a look at the profiles of some very active Lightpainter in the group: Mafu Fuma - Oddballgraphics - Fade to Black - DAWN - Chris Thompson - Mart Barras - Stefan Stepke - Nikolay Trebukhin - Leetodd - Stabeu Light - Maxime Pateau - Stephen Sampson - lightandlense - Neil Rushby Divider 1.png
WOULD YOU LIKE TO GET IN CONTACT WITH US?
Join us at Discord Divider 5.png
Thank U for your support and keep shining!
LIGHT, LOVE & UNITY!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

What a great set mate. Many of which I can't remember seeing before. Bravo dude.

Thanks buddy, I'm having fun going through these older shots although it is tempting to post a more up to date shot and show some other skills but I am going to stick with it. Had a good night out last night as met up with Mart and Marc in Fort Gilkicker in Gosport, still a great urbex location and not to scary. 😁 Hope you're well mate. 😎 👍

Great! the Elvis ghost is so cool!

!discovery 30
!PIZZA

He may be making another appearance, if my sources are correct! 😁

Hi @lacelight,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Congratulations @lacelight! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 100 comments.
Your next target is to reach 200 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day
Our Hive Power Delegations to the February PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @lacelight.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@lallo(3/5) tipped @lacelight (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!