BECOMING A DROPOUT - WORTH IT?

Graduating from the university was the best thing that happened to me last year. Not particularly because I get to have an LLB degree, but because it’s over and I’m free.

3004585C-B591-461B-A790-B5C5BE83871F.jpeg

After secondary school, I wanted to take a year break to figure out what I wanted to help guide my choice of discipline but my parents insisted I take the opportunity right in front of me.
I remember being stuck at a hotel then preparing for a debate tournament so I had a friend do the entire registration for me. A few months later I was admitted into my state university to study Law. Unlike my colleagues then who were excited about being in the university, I was mostly indifferent.
I liked the idea of life at a university but I wasn’t thrilled about starting the Law undergraduate programme. I had a hard time adjusting to the new school system and getting my head in the game. My grades were quite poor in the first year, mostly because I had lots of distraction which I created to drown the pressure of keeping up with school. School and academic activities brought me zero joy.

2229C161-EEF3-43E8-84B0-B0C663E41300.jpeg

At the end of 300 level I decided I was done with the madness and dropped out. I left school without telling my folks, not even my friends, I just disappeared on everyone. I was in a dark place and didn’t want to try anymore. The educational system in Nigeria wasn’t helpful either.
It wasn’t an easy decision as I was worried about letting my loved ones down. My parents worked hard to ensure I had everything I needed so it hurt to throw it all away.
I retreated, moved houses and spent my days reading books, drinking wine and moisturizing my skin. I also watched tons of YouTube videos of folks talking about making it without a college degree. I lacked direction and had no idea what to do with myself.

142FABD2-AC84-4419-AD3D-528D86DF2757.jpeg

Well, I did go back to school the next year and tried to finish because I’m a fighter. After the first semester of 400 Level I lost it again and couldn’t go on. So much for a fighter. Lol.
One thing about me is I’m not afraid to fail, I’m not afraid to give up; when I’m tired I pump the brakes and allow myself time to breathe.
At this point I was just done. It was all too frustrating because I couldn’t understand why school was so damn difficult for me. I’m a natural, brilliant and book - smart(if I do say so myself) so my poor performance in school was all too confusing.
I decided to live a little; I traveled to a few places, learnt a skill, even started a small business.
This second break brought me some clarity, I came to understand that it wasn’t all about school and my poor grades. There were trauma, pain and experiences holding me back. I then began my healing process, started letting go of everything and everyone that weren’t serving my good. I became more self aware, embarked on a spiritual path learnt to love all of myself.

2AF480B3-9756-4ECC-81D3-2D556480D9DD.jpeg
A photo from one of my trips with my friends.

Eventually, my family became aware of my withdrawal from school encouraged me to go back and try to finish. I did go back, not because I was advised to but because I decided I was ready. I was in a better place mentally, I was interested in knowing what my future held, I wanted to push my bounds and see all the things I could accomplish.

460B0C80-C0E8-4BF4-AA7C-1846C59C8DB9.jpeg

I finally did and I must tell you, it feels great. It took a lot of strength and mental gymnastics but I got to the finish line and I’m really proud of myself.
It wasn’t easy watching my colleagues whom I started the journey with move through school, graduate and move on to Law school, but what kept me going was knowing I wasn’t the same as them, our stories and journeys didn’t have to sync. I was on a different path, my own path and that’s okay.
I’ve since learned that I don’t fare well with pressure. I like to pace myself and move to my own rhythm.

AE6B56FF-A28C-4E33-99EC-8F9DE2D68F0A.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @atyourservice! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You made more than 10 comments.
Your next target is to reach 50 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 3
Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

At the end of the day, you're a fighter, you fought and you won. That's all that matters!

Means a lot. Thank you.

You are welcome.

There were trauma, pain and experiences holding me back

This is something alot of people get to realize sometime in their life, only few got to know about it early and work through it,graduating isn't something that's easy especially here in Nigeria.

Things can really get messy at one point in college, but I'm glad you finally got through it, your friends story and yours don't have to be the same and I'm sure with self development you will go far than anyone could ever imagine.

Have a great day ahead.

Thank you Marvin. Have a great day too.

I dropped out of school at 200level, never went back, and never regretted it but few weeks ago, my then course mates posted pictures of them graduating, and I felt some type of way, I called my self back to order by reminding myself that I will go to school in MY OWN time.

This is a beautiful Story, tbh

Thank you my babe, and you'll definitely kill it at your own time.

For sure. Thank you shugs

What an incredible story 👏

Thank you ☺️

I can relate to your story, the educational system in Nigeria will make you feel less human, the mental stress and exhaustion. Glad you did it.

You know it! Less human is just the word.
Thank you.

I feel almost the same way at this point, Nigerian educational system is nothing short of frustrating but I just have to keep pushing for one more year and half…

Nice piece.

Hey, you'll finish strong. Rooting for you.

Thanks sis!

Interesting... Congratulations for making it through eventually.

Thank you ☺️

You're really brave. Being honest with yourself is a start many people don't take ❤️
Your journey may seem longer but you finished stronger and yes! Our journeys don't have to sync ❣️

🥺
Thank you

mhmm! Never say never!! Attitude is everything!!!

the story enter me shaaa....love it, but what happens to people like us, wey no go school😂

Schooling in Nigeria can be counted as waste of time, some times you lost enthusiasm because one don't have a hope of better outcome after schooling , so all thing will make one to loose interest about schooling , yet not still bad that you choose to go back to school because no knowledge is a waste.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more


This was steve jobs stanford speech and he was a drop out. Congrats on finishing things up but I like your confidence in this post and how you talked about doing things at your own pace and not needing to go by the standard of your peers. Different people have all different walks in life it is okay, sometimes in life we have to drop out on the things that don't matter to us to drop in on the things that can move up into the paths we are suppose or want to take.

Good luck in 2022 and hope you have a wonderful year. Great story.
!LUV !PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@infinitytcg(4/10) tipped @atyourservice (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.