Eclectic and True

in ThoughtfulDailyPost2 years ago (edited)


19243074_10155404819103832_1024063172613834673_o.jpg


The Raices Fountain in Old San Juan is so representative of a melding of the roots, the cultures, and where we came from. Paramount to any cultures meshing is compromising and allowances for the differences. I must say that Hive encourages understanding, respect, and the melding of cultures for the purpose of peace. It has been such a pleasure getting to know so many, from so different cultures, walks of life, and personalities. It has been simply amazing Thank you. ❤️


1502458_10152176370848832_1028249676_o.jpg


There was cat in my cocoa this morning. There was absolutely no way of getting out of this one, and honestly, I don't think she cares. Tell-tale remnants were being worn by the perp.


golden tree.jpg


Winter washes over the sky tonight, even though it is warm enough that some of my ferny flowers were blooming, it is December, don't they know? I won't complain about the warm weather, and I can kiaa it goodbye as I expect a cold, wet front coming in tomorrow. I walk around the pond near my house, looking at the sun through smokey fire. I love the detail in the tree branches as they frame the sun. The contrast of dark barren winter tree against the hopeful promise of the warm yellow summer sun.


20191130_133523.jpg


There is always a flower involved, somehow. @alwaysaflower. As always, keep on singing that song!! And just like that, this post is not nearly done. Thank you for stopping by and saying hello, leaving your words behind... and just so you know, although much sun and shine were used up today, I can guarantee that there is still a little left in my heart. Have a most fabulous day! Keep on Hiving!! That never gets old!

Center Crest.png

"The Twelve Days of Christmas" is an English Christmas carol that enumerates in the manner of a cumulative song a series of increasingly numerous gifts given on each of the twelve days of Christmas (the twelve days that make up the Christmas season, starting with Christmas Day).[1][2] The carol, whose words were first published in England in the late eighteenth century, has a Roud Folk Song Index number of 68. A large number of different melodies have been associated with the song, of which the best known is derived from a 1909 arrangement of a traditional folk melody by English composer Frederic Austin source

2N61tyyncFaFYzRbn8dtUE4e1wApGi6eb2sfxmfxorzqA4bHevnwMbiGiCun7wS2Ue1C5WcEGftZgbdEnjxwJtm8ypvqTAHfVQ9theRic2sWoGt4Ve3EGdxcF4e6oRWA7vaRUjnrLDoc.png

On the fourth day of Christmas
My true love gave to me
Four calling birds
Three french hens
Two turtle doves and
A partridge in a pear tree


The line four calling birds is an Americanization of the traditional English wording four colly birds, and in some places, such as Australia, the variation "calling" is replacing the original. Colly is a dialect word meaning black and refers to the European blackbird, Turdus merula.

The line four calling birds in some versions are four coiled birds. I ask you, does anyone know what a coiled bird is? Do tell.

Religiously, The “four calling birds” are the Evangelists: Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John or their Gospels. So, God bless you.

I only have one bird in the picture and it's not black. Such is life.


bird.jpg


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

20201121_162447ab denise.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




The Road Not Taken

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

Robert Frost


#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg


Sort:  

Cat with it's nose in your chocolate, must be a fabulous hot chocolate to share with your furry friend!

Golden rays of sunshine streaming in between stark branches swaying gently on a breeze. Oh enjoy your weather, winter may be late but she will arrive, never let you down yet!

What can I say it is humid today, warm outdoors with the sun shining had a wonderful Christmas and all is well in the South.

!LUV


@joanstewart(10/10) gave you | wallet | market | tools | connect | <><

Thanks for the LUV!

Haha! It was pretty good! The at and the chocolate!

I think we may get some cooler weather later this week! One can hope right? I am so glad to hear that it is well in the South! I think of you over there and always hope for peace in your parts. xoxo

Merry! Merry!

Cat is cuteness rolled up in a cuddly ball of fur, nothing like sharing.

Enjoy if you get snow and share photographs we starting to get hot under the collar now.

Merry...Merry and away we go! Now count down to the New Year 😃

The cat is so cute and love the sunset

I have no idea what a coiled bird is, Not sure I have heard that term but I have heard people sing the colly bird version and even I think canary birds

Have a great day

Thank you, JJ! @tattoodjay “Calling birds” is thought originally to have been colly, or collie, birds—colly meant as black as coal (like collier, a coal miner, or colliery, a mine), so colly birds would have been blackbirds.

I hope you had a wonderful Holiday! I have been away so long it seems!

Have a nice day and I'm glad you always shared great photos. I love sunset pictures. I try to take good pictures. As I am not a professional photographer, I can't take very good pictures

Thank you. I think your pictures are fine. Mine aren't professional at all, but, I give it my best.

Have a great week ahead!

The sunset has been so beautiful. The arrival of winter at the end of summer has also informed us here. You have written some beautiful writings with beautiful photography.

Thank you so much for your thoughtful words. I appreciate you stopping by and leaving your words.

Have a wonderful week ahead!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 87 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
4

Thank you for the repost @pixresteemer !

Great publication bossa

Thank you.

Hows the yuletide season treating you dear @dswigle? Thanks for the beauty of todays post too.

Quite the eclectic post. I always thought Robert Frost had a way with words. Interesting choice for this wintery day though. I perhaps would have rathered Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening, but then again you are the master of thinking beyond the obvious choice. Or more likely the fact that it is less wintery there after all.