National Tell a Story Day


Every Picture Tells A Story


anton-titov-4tT8FXtdBKU-unsplash (1).jpg


Today is National Tell a Story Day! I have to admit, my storytelling skills run a bit shy, but, I happen to know some amazing storytellers. What a great way for people to embrace this moment and break out into song an adventure in storytelling. Read a story to your children, I don't care if they are adults and have children of their own... After I finish this post, I have a book that I have been wanting to read and tonights the night. The night is almost my own, and frankly, that doesn't happen very often.


bradford pear.jpg


I look at the loveliness of these flowers, knowing full well that they are an invasive species. Until I found that out, it was my very favortie flower. Now, I cannot make my elf love something that is ruining a part of the environment. There is a story in there somewhere. There is a story here. There is a story in every picture. Sometimes it is short and sweet, other times, it is between you and it to keep. Not all stories need be read aloud. Sometimes, those words only live with the voice in your head.

Does that count? Indeed.


IMG_9570 1.JPG


Storytelling is one of the most powerful ways for people to communicate with one another. It’s something that can be used by leaders to influence public opinion, for teachers to teach, and for storytellers to inspire. It’s also something that humanity has been using since the dawn of time, and the ability to tell a story is a trait that humans all share with one another. That’s probably why it’s a good idea for people to take some time out of the day on April 27th to celebrate National Tell A Story Day. Storytelling is actually quite fascinating and all humans can do it, yet few people realize just how powerful it can be. source


leaves colored.JPG


These are leaves, so full of color
They live on right outside my door, open it up
And there are the trees
My friend came over, her head was an ache
We need to change those leaves to be duller
They give me a headache

Center Crest.png

A definite telling of a story right here. Can a story be in poetry? Yes!!! If there is something I have learned, it is that the best stories come from that place of comfort for you. Tell me what you know. You could probably talk about it forever.


jenn ornament.jpg


Every picture tells a story, but, not every story needs a picture.


tree.JPG


This is one of my little tree stories, some of which even I am tired of hearing, but, this is one of the many pieces of my life that I take with me, wherever I go. In one move, I took a baby pool and filled it up with plants, bushes, and trees. On another adventure, I took all sorts of seeds and plants from my great-grandmothers' house. She had the prettiest little Japanese Lanterns that I have been carrying around forever and ever. I have so many plant stories, kid's stories, adventures, and just life-learning stories.

Gradient - Green.png

I am waiting to see if anyone I know will take the dive and celebrate this holiday, hashtag it today and I will be glad to visit your post. It would be my honor. For the best visibility, use the hashtag #NationalTellAStoryDay to spread the word about this holiday far and wide.


10668848_10152732771783832_7531031110292582779_o.jpg


All I have are my words, armed in my mind, written in pen, stand by stand. Oh, yes. Still by hand. It has a different feel. Altered not by keys, backspace, and delete, I write, erase, tear it to pieces and start all over again. And again.

It’s my way. I walk out to the deep end of the page and dive right in.

W5LtFUPm6g7293LJ3Vg8LGMxSXJbQHxtovyJAqw2j9RsivpZ42Ycyswj1Tzss1cqTWCvrF2HGPcMKHifCuQ1yT7Cncf6MweiwZbf2C89cSmhmwBDh6bzz5kpfTLDNa3epU6ozDSeFhFM5dPoYDiF2VAYE1rPQ.jpg



Facebook

Twitter

Instagram




Thank you for visiting my post 💖 Don't ever forget what a wonderful world we live in, people. Some days, it is not as easy to see,just how wonderful it really is. For me, I try to do my part. Kindness counts. Wherever you go, whatever you do.


Shall I compare thee to a summer’s day?
Thou art more lovely and more temperate:
Rough winds do shake the darling buds of May,
And summer’s lease hath all too short a date:
Sometime too hot the eye of heaven shines,
And often is his gold complexion dimmed,
And every fair from fair sometime declines,
By chance, or nature’s changing course untrimmed:
But thy eternal summer shall not fade,
Nor lose possession of that fair thou ow’st,
Nor shall death brag thou wander’st in his shade,
When in eternal lines to time thou grow’st,
So long as men can breathe, or eyes can see,
So long lives this, and this gives life to thee.

Shakespeare



#TeamUSA is a growing community of quality-content people from the United States or those living here. Check us out on Discord!

TEAMUSAhive_dswigle 1.jpg

silverbloggers logo.jpg


First Photo: Photo by Anton Titov on Unsplash

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

@dswigle

I can see any story, being something of a thoughtful nature... and certainly a #thoughtfuldailypost! Stories, are synonyms to memories after all yes? And to me... in this way, we "take other's along" with us. Never truly gone. Always with us... #alwaysaflower.

#NationalTellAStoryDay

What an awesomesauce initiative. Thank you for sharing "yours" with us!

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPyfEF6xffwkdtNDL1ETjujF9B1sDnYsu8s6KduFqoBrAShnoEyrgmL6TXU8yEuajDJa7axTpZonEaGdTm7n96gDa3JWa56r29Nxa5GRGRdg.pngWes...

!LUV
!WINE
@tipu curate
!giphy Flowers

Thanks, Wes! @wesphilbin I like taking others along, although I am the worst storyteller! We do have some awesome ones on the platform and I truly enjoy going there with them.

Thanks so much for the Luv, Wine, Flowers, and the tipu!

Have an amazing day!

Thanks, @wesphilbin! Much appreciated!


Congratulations, @wesphilbin You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINEX With @dswigle.
You Earned 0.100 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/5 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.276


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Thanks, @wesphilbin! Much appreciated!

@wesphilbin(1/10) gave you LUV. wallet | market | tools | discord | community | <><

Thanks, @wesphilbin! Much appreciated!

Your going to read the whole book in one night? Those are some next level skills. My wife and sister read that fast, but it usually takes me a couple of months to read a book. I never check them out from the library because I can never get them done in time! I have always been a slow reader.

I am a fast reader. Most everyone in my house is, and many times we have good tradeoffs. We swap with a kindle when we are desperate for something new because there are so many free books there, but, we are fortunate to have quite a few libraries around us.

The thing about slow readers is they usually read a book once because they have completely consumed the book. They would get nothing by it. I can read a book over a time or two as I sometimes miss out on tiny innuendos.

Although, that could just be me. :) Hey, you! Have a great day!

Most of the people I know read so fast because they skip over all of the small words that they feel are just filler. Like and, a, is, stuff like that. I consume every word. There have been a few books that I have read more than once. They had to be really special though.

Exactly my point. You don't need to read them over because you missed some of the finer details.

I am not a speed reader, so I don't really skip words, I just read fast most days. But, even if I do read every word, Some details get lost on me or misplaced in the story. :)

I wonder if when I have all the time in the world, if I will slow down?

Ah, okay, I gotcha. My wife and I say that to each other all the time. I don't think things ever slow down. We don't even have kids and we are crazy busy. I can't imagine if we did!

Storytelling is such an important part of the mythos that is humanity. Before the written word (that era we call pre-history) and well after it, storytelling was used to pass down knowledge essential to the continuisation of family, cultures, and societies. Sitting around a campfire listening to the elders telling stories built community.

We're torn apart today by thousands of shards of sound bites, none of which build community, but with rip us asunder. It is definitely a good day for some story telling.

Exactly! I have had people call National Storytelling Day silly. I guess if you think of it as a celebration or holiday, probably... but, I think it is a great tool for teachers.

I also agree that storytelling was the only means of communicating history, passing it down from generation to generation. When I was growing up, a lot of the family history was passed on this way. Who wanted some of that written down???

It is definitely a good day for storytelling.

Our day is in October or something!
Mind you I never need an excuse to tell a story 😋

No way!!! To be honest, I could tell you were a storyteller from way back! I mean, you are Scottish, yes?

Hey, you! Glad to see you found a passthrough in the woods to my place. I hope you are having a great day!

Yes a storyteller and I get it from both sides of my family from a few countries but yes Scottish😎

Oh I was looking for the pass through the woods to your place, as I did hear there was a cup of tea and slice of cake on the go!

cinammon rolls.jpg

Just in time! I just popped some cinnamon rolls in the oven! Tea is on! Give me enough time to steep!

Are those yours?
Damn, that is one of your foods from that side of the pond that I adore!
Yes you can sleep, will take my a while to cross the Atlantic on Susie Swan😋😎

Yes, indeed! We love our cinnamon rolls hete! Well, fly away, I'll keep it fresh.

hehe yep we just took off

TY--ThoughtfulDailyPost.jpg

I did not know it was national tell a story day.

I thought when I read it that I should tell a story, I mean, in 65 years you know I have a few, but funny, nothing fun to tell came immediately to my mind ! Uh oh... is that a sign??? LOL

I will have to mull it over through the day and see if I come up with anything I want to tell.

Hope you have a happy day.

You know how many National Days we have that are totally unofficial? More than 365, at least one for every day of the week.

You tell some of the best stories! :) I like yours as they are inspired by your own life and those are the best kind. I really think this one may have been tagged by teachers, to inspire the young people of today, who sometimes are a little uninspired by any part of real life. :)

I think that folklore and storytelling are an important part of some cultures, or used to be - keeping traditions alive. Thanks for stopping by, El. @jacey.boldart

Have a great Wednesday!

Love to sit down for a nice story any time! Ordinary stories or out of space stories are always good for my mind! I drink stories like they are smoothies! Delicious and thirst quenching!

Have a wonderful day.
(I am still trying to catch up with time! LoL)

Stories are exactly like that, in my opinion. Delicious and thirst-quenching! I like that analogy, drinking stories like smoothies. :)

Good morning from here @kaminchan ! It is almost time for you to shift into your own sleep/storytime.

Have a wonderful evening!

I too am still trying to catch up with time!!!! :))

This is the first time I am hearing of national story telling day. Quite interesting to know. I guess it is peculiar to united states.

Maybe, but, many cultures have used it to keep traditions alive. They have all kinds of quirky National Days, which, many are unofficial but are celebrated by schoolteachers to inspire kids.

It is not a bad idea. ;)

That’s probably why it’s a good idea for people to take some time out of the day on April 27th to celebrate National Tell A Story Day.

I found this funny and weird. I mean the National Tell A Story Day. Once you told me that the USA is celebrating everything. Looks like this is indeed true. Even for storytelling. This is weird. At least nowadays we do not have much celebration days in Hungary.

Having so many celebration days probably bring together the community, which is good.

Have a nice day. All the best. Greetings and much love from Hungary.

Haha! Well, I guess I said that wrong. :)) It is National Tell a Story Day. It is a silly sort of day to inspire people (I am guessing mostly children) to communicate, to tell about themselves. Many cultures have kept their traditions intact because of storytelling. It is truly a valuable tool, or used to be. I think it inspires creativity in kids also.

It is not a bad thing to celebrate every day, if only in your heart. That feeling is good for the soul. Have a great day!

This is actually my first time of hearing about national story telling day. this is really interesting to know I wish we had a day like this over here in Nigeria

Your history, like ours, was forged through storytelling. Even to this day, some of the things I do were told through stories of my grandparents, aunts, uncles... even though I love the idea of it, we don't need one as long as we keep passing our history from generation to generation.

Thanks for stopping by and leaving your words.

Thank you very much mom, for sharing posts about national story day. In my post I still see a lot of very beautiful flowers, it's really amazing according to I

Happy National Story Day. I think all of our country and yours too passed history through stories.

I am sure we will continue to do so.

Have a great day!

i really love reading your post... its always full of life :)

Thank you.

Love to read it, thanks for sharing this with us, good day to you.


@dswigle, this comment has been manually curated with LUV

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 103 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

Thanks for the repost @pixresteemer !