KEEP IT PUSHING!

PHOTO BY ME

Watching Liverpool's match days ago, I realized how much I hate quitters. I was gutted that my team lost an important game, but that did not compare to the irritation of watching them give up on the pitch. My life's philosophy has always been to give your very best in every situation even in moments when it doesn't feel right. Irrespective of the outcome, I believe you can show up in ways that vindicts you.

I understand it takes grit to be persistent, especially in difficult situations. But if you find yourself in a position where your heart and mind aren't in alignment with a place or thing, then it is best to leave than drag your feet. Or atleast give it a break until you find your reason for being in that space in the first place because there is nothing worse than a bad loser.

For those who watch football, you can attest to the fact that there are times when your team plays so well but loses. Although that might hurt, you tend to shake it off quickly, and are eager to support them in the next game because you know eventually they will start winning. This is because the team gives you something to believe in. You can see the passion and commitment to the game. For most football fans, that is more than enough.

However, it is a different ball game when the team you support is losing and playing awful without passion or intent. You often leave the stadium or turn off your television because you cannot stand them losing in such an awful way. This is what it means to lose badly and it applies to every other aspect in life.

I tell my wife often that I am not necessarily afraid of failing because I know there is a possibility. I cannot control every outcome but at least I have a say on how I show up in the world. So if I am consistent and do an above minimum job there is a high chance I succeed because most people are incapable of doing both things.

People grossly underestimate how far consistency takes a person. I credit most of my wins to pure consistency, not talent because I do not consider myself to be talented. So I rely on showing up because I know most people won’t and that is my edge. Also, I know if I show up long enough, the task becomes second nature or I become lucky.

So this is another reminder to someone out there (including myself), to stay on the grind. You are closer to your breakthrough than you think. Cheers!

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Thanks for the words of encouragement, been consistent is a rare virtue, a lot of people jump from one thing to the other and end up confused, so it's better to be sure of what you want and keep at it.