Thinking about Dad

image.png

A little update for you all on my Dad. I've been facetiming them once a week whilst away and we talk for an hour. My parents are easy to talk to and we love them dearly.

These last calls haven't been brilliant to hang up on - I know each time is one of the last conversations I have with Dad. Whilst I can forget a little on the road, I more often than not think of them as so many of the things we are appreciating here they would love as well. They travelled to Europe when they were just a few years older than us and again in their early 60s. They were always going to go again but then Dad got sick.

Which is why, I guess, we are travelling, because life is short. My parents also insisted. I take so many photos and videos because I know they are living this experience through me. My father is most excited about Iceland and I do hope we get to go before he gets worse.

Last check up the cancer has progressed and they planned to make him as comfortable as possible. Chemo was am option and could possibly give him longer than the six months they were giving him.

Yeah, six months.

It's hard not to rush back home but Dad insists that I can only come when he tells me to come. I'm okay with that, and imagine I'll get through Morocco, Portugal and France before considering going home.

It does mean we might fly to Iceland for a week though, so Dad gets to see it through my eyes.

So if all of a sudden I'm back in Australia, that would be why. My heart breaks to think of it.

They are living the last months well, and happy. What else can they do? Dad bought amazing new speakers and they walk a little down the beach and chat to people a lot. The last months of Dads life will be okay. He will die at home and be so loved.

Ah fuck. Here come the tears again.

With Love,

image.png

Are you on HIVE yet? Earn for writing! Referral link for FREE account here

Sort:  

Here come the tears again.

Even after more than three years, tearing up is only a memory away.

https://www.dignitymemorial.com/en-ca/obituaries/halifax-ns/myrtle-johnson-9300411

😭😭😭😭😭

96 is good innings, as they say, but it doesn't make it easier does it. You miss who they were and their presence in your life..

Oh sweetheart. <3

I'm so so sorry things are as they are.

💙💙💙💙💙💙💙

Oh no, so sorry about your dad's health, sending you love and light.❤❤

💙💙💙

Oh, @riverflows! My heart goes out to you and your dad. It's such a hard thing. But I bet he's glad you are doing the trip and I sure hope you get to Iceland for him! I'm glad he's able to enjoy some of life still. Hugs for you!

Thanks gorgeous friend, I appreciate it.

Oh, I am sending you a hug. I really hope I get to give you one in real life. I'm not too far from Morocco. Much love to you xxx

I would so love to see you.