My Happiness 🤗

in ThoughtfulDailyPost6 months ago (edited)

Unsplash

One of the things I believe are most sought-after in the current world is happiness and peace of mind. Although a lot of people might say it is money, some people now have solutions to money problems. Yet, several others find it hard to answer the question about what gives them joy daily or what brings peace to their minds. I will talk about my little experience with peace and happiness. At a point in my life, I used to be a very sad lad, although I was living amidst happy people who cared a lot about me. Back then, I was in my teenage years and had a lot of questions I couldn’t find answers to. In case you are also going through a sad phase, I pray you find joy. My experience might also be of help; kindly read on.

What brought about my sad mood on this fateful day remains a myth to me. I knew I had just woken up that day and started questioning the reason for living. Why do I have to have parents? Who sent me into this world, earth, people, and what’s with all these things? I got crazy at everything without a single explanation. My parents noticed my withdrawal from the family and tried to find out what it was, but they couldn’t because the more they tried to get close, the more I drew back. I was so young yet so emotional about things I couldn’t understand. But thankfully, my parents stopped trying to understand what it was and just started showing me unconditional love, and somehow it worked.

As an adult, the first few years I spent as a bachelor were very tough, with lots of struggles, thoughts, and challenges. There were no parents to step in now; they could only give a few supporting words from afar. Finding peace and happiness amidst the challenges wasn’t an easy task. Sometimes, the lack of resources brings sadness, fear, and unrest. But other times, you still question your reason or essence for existence even after getting almost all that you have ever wanted. One thing that brought happiness to me was introspection—a self-examination! The time you invest in thinking negatively and complaining about how life hasn’t been fair could be invested in checking yourself, more like an imaginary mirror. The major questions to align with appropriate answers include: What makes you unique? What can you do forever, even if money isn’t involved? What set of people can you help with your uniqueness or gifts? Several questions emerged from my little self-inspection exercise, but the ones earlier highlighted changed my life.

Unsplash

After finding answers to the questions (although it was hard because I was multitalented), I was able to get busy and do what I love doing with joy. I remember the first job I did as a voiceover artist; about 20 recordings or more were done for free. I have helped people a lot with my God-given gifts, and I can’t stop being happy every time I see the positive remarks and effects on businesses of those I’ve been privileged to help.

I believe more questions will emerge if we can take the time to examine our inner being to uncover the gold and the gifts our maker has placed within us. The essence of life itself is not totally for our own survival, but our existence is validated by being a blessing to others. If we can find purpose in this, I believe our peace, joy, and happiness will know no bounds.