WHEN THE GIVER LACKS

Hi Hiveans, it has been a while since I joined this community where I can easily share my thoughts on certain topics, it's been a beautiful ride so far.

The Thoughtful daily post community has refined me into a very cautious lady. Of recent, I've noticed how much thoughts I give to certain things before taking action or making decisions. It's amazing seeing how the different thoughts of people can influence our own.
This is me saying Thank you to the creators of this community. Thank you to the members of this community. Thanks everyone.

9C4AEFFA-D92E-4C83-8FA3-A9252DDE9BC9.jpeg

pixabay

Enough of the appreciation, so earlier today, I woke up to a movie (I left the television on before sleeping, it helps me sleep faster) titled “My blood”. PS: Watching movies is not really my thing, I would rather watch cartoons all-day than follow up on one movie but since I was stuck to my bed and too lazy to change the channel or turn off the television, I fixed my eyes on it till the movie got my interest.

It was about a family of 3; a mother and her two sons, They lost their father some time ago, and ever since then the first son, Obinna became wayward. He brought so many problems to the family that even his mom gave up on him. The height of it was when Obinna got into a fight that led to the injury of a village member which landed him in police custody for months and this family had to pay through their nose for his bail. They sold literally all they had to release Obinna from prison. This made them go bankrupt they depended on the little business of the second son “Emeka” for sustenance. This is just one of the many disgraceful things Obinna did. I'm sure by now, you can understand why his mother gave up on him.

Despite all these, Obinna's junior brother Emeka still stood by him and was ready to do anything to make him improve. So one day, Obinna decided to go to the city as he believed there was a better life for him. He only had dreams without work or money. To make Obinna happy, Emeka sold off his business equipment and went far as to borrow money to send his brother to the city. He was empty and even begged to eat after his brother left.

6727F9F3-9879-4B4D-87CB-94AA5D750EF7.png

pixabay

This part of the movie was very disturbing to me because I couldn't understand why I should go bankrupt. After all, I'm trying to help someone.

Why should I fall trying to lift someone?

I was confused for a while.

I've always heard

We rise by lifting others

Mommy will always say

givers never lack.

I strongly believe that because the holy Bible says so but did the Bible also say we should lose ourselves in the service of others?

Should we fall lifting others?

These are questions I kept on asking myself.

It took Emeka more than a year to stand back on his feet and unfortunately, Obinna lavished the money in the city without thinking about home but that wasn't my interest because personally, when I offer help (in form of money) to someone, I don't care much about what you do with it.
Whether you spent it wisely or foolishly, it's all on you.

All I did was maintain a clear conscience

since I could help at the moment. So how he spent the money didn't bother me but why someone chose to go empty while helping another was my problem exactly. I don't think I will offer to help if I don't have a spare. I'd rather not help than go completely empty especially when it's not a matter of life or death. Well, this is just me in my thoughts. I would like to know your thoughts on this matter.

Do you think you can sacrifice everything you have to lift someone?

Please share your thoughts, let's learn.

Sort:  

Congratulations @silviafx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ badges available at the HiveBuzz store
HiveFest⁷ meetup in Amsterdam is next week. Be part of it and get your badge.
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank youuu💆‍♀️