My California - The Day Creek Project Part 2

in The SoCal Hive7 months ago (edited)


Daycrkpt2 cover.jpg

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @thesocalhive I head up into the San Gabriel mountains for another trip to...

Day Creek!!

socalhive divider.png

To see how this project started be sure to check out Part 1!

So once again I headed up the long, bumpy Cucamonga truck trail. Up passed San Sevaine and the Joe Elliot camp all the way to the locked gate at the end. After all the trail work I did on the last trip I was determined to make it to the creek this time. I tossed on my full backpack and headed down the trail and picked up the work where I had left off on the last trip. I chopped and chopped through the ridiculously thick brush. Chopping through mostly buckthorn, yuccas, scrub oak, and bay trees. I had really thought I was gonna be able to make it through on the first day, but as the sun set and it started getting dark I knew I wasn't going to make it. So I layed out my mat and sleeping bag and ended up spending my first night right there in the brush on the trail. It wasn't the most comfy, but it worked and I got through the night without any major issues.


image.png
The start of the Cucamonga truck trail


image.png
Views from the road


image.png
Driving through fall colors on San Sevaine flats


image.png
Buck Point


image.png
Joe Elliot camp


image.png
The end of the road/start of the trail


image.png
Views from the trailhead


image.png
Heading down the trail


image.png
Views from the trail


image.png
Back to the buckthorn


image.png
Brand new hand saw


image.png
Chopping through thick brush


image.png
Sleeping in the brush

The next day I got up, got my stuff together, and got right back to work. The brush was so thick it was ridiculous. And it just seemed to go on forever. I chopped, and chopped, and chopped. But it just never seemed to end. Eventually I ran out of drinking water. I hadn't carried a lot since I had been optimistic about getting to the creek. I kept chopping as long as I could, but at some point in the afternoon I was starting to feel a bit dehydrated as well as being exhausted from all the hard work. So I made the decision to try to push through. So I threw on my pack and started pushing through as best I could. Only chopping what was absolutely necessary. It was brutal and there was even one stretch where I had to crawl on the ground dragging my pack behind me. But I made it through!! I hiked the last bit of the trail and finally arrived at Day creek! I got some water and rehydrated myself and then got my camp setup. After that I just relaxed for a little while. It was such a relief to finally be there and I just wanted to rest and enjoy the scenery for a bit. Once I was feeling rested and rehydrated I decided to head up the canyon for a hike to the top of the creek. The hike up isn't long, probably only a half mile or so, but it's slow going as it's all rock hopping along the creek bed. And there's quite a lot of loose rocks making it a bit treacherous. As I headed upstream I passed several nice small waterfalls and got up to where I was surrounded by the huge cliffs that come down from Cucamonga peak. Eventually the creek ends at a massive cliff wall where the water is pouring right out of the rock. Many small springs just pouring fresh water out of cracks in the cliff face as well as two larger waterfalls just coming straight out of the rock. It's a really neat area. The source of all the water in Day creek. I explored around the area a bit and then just sat there for awhile soaking it all in. I feel like there is a special energy there. As though it's somehow sacred. Although the camping area is really nice, it was really this spot, the water source at the base of the huge cliff face, that inspired my determination to re-open the access to this incredible area. I sat there for awhile soaking it all in and then eventually started making my way back down the canyon. Passed all the little waterfalls and back to camp. After getting back there was still some light out so I headed back out onto the trail to get a head start on all the chopping I knew I still had to do to fully open up the trail on my way out. I got a nice little chunk of trail chopped and then headed back to camp where I enjoyed a nice comfy night.


image.png
Day 2 back to chopping brush


image.png
Buckthorn is fun!


image.png
Chopping away


image.png
Finally arriving at the creek


image.png
Getting camp setup


image.png
Rock hopping upstream


IMG_20231110_132955.jpg
Small waterfall


image.png
Getting up closer to the big cliffs


image.png
Waterfall pouring out of a crack in the cliffs


image.png
Fresh spring water coming straight out of the rock


image.png
Another spring fed waterfall coming right out of the cliffs


image.png
More springs


image.png
Overlooking the springs


image.png
Some wildflowers by the springs


image.png
More springs


image.png
One last shot before heading back to camp


image.png
Passing the waterfalls on the way down


image.png
Rockhopping back downstream

image.png

image.png

.
Getting back to camp


image.png
Views from the trail


image.png
Campfire and city lights

The next morning I woke up feeling great. I had some breakfast, packed up camp, refilled my water bottles for the day, and headed out on the trail for another day of trail work. I still had lots of chopping to do, but this time I had plenty of energy and plenty of water. Once again I chopped and chopped all day. When I finally connected with my chopping work from the day before it was a huge relief. The trail was finally fully passable and the hardest of the chopping was done. Although there was still a lot of work to do. So I kept chopping away trying to make the trail nice and wide. Eventually it was getting late in the day and I had to start hiking back up to the trailhead. And although there is still work to do to get it all nice and wide like I want it, especially in one section in the middle where it's still a little tight, it is all passable now and I was feeling quite accomplished with everything I had done. I got back to my truck and made the long drive back down the mountain. Feeling tired, but good. I'm hoping to make it back at least one more time while the road is open this season. I still wanna put the finishing touches on the trail and there is another fork in the canyon above camp I'd like to explore, as well as possibly scouting out a route to climb Cucamonga peak from there. Which would be really epic. So stay tuned for part 3!!


image.png
Sunrise at camp


image.png
All packed up and ready to head out


image.png
Back in the thick of the brush


image.png
Chopping through it


image.png
Cutting a tunnel through the bay trees


image.png
Views from the trail


image.png
Back at the trailhead

And so until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!


Daycrkpt2 thanks.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalHive is building and supporting the Hive Blockchain community in Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Hive, we'd love for you to follow us @theSoCalHive and join our group on Discord

socalhive divider.png



Dividerbar.jpg

SGS_banne2022.png

Dividerbar.jpg

zXaVgJDmMV8O9oYEAmBan.jpg
Dividerbar.jpg

pinmapple banner.png

[//]:# (!pinmapple 34.21712 lat -117.56603 long Day Creek Trail d3scr)
Pinmapple

Sort:  

That’s awesome! Nice job finishing the trail! 😎

Hiya, @choogirl here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2062.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you for participating in this weeks Show us Your California contest!

Congratulations @derekrichardson! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 48000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 49000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2023