La Depresión un monstruo silencioso/ Depression a silent monster

in Aliento2 years ago

10374030_10203505657857706_2781058105872942203_n.jpg

This post is written in two languages and divided for ease of reading.
Este post está escrito en dos idiomas y dividido para facilitar la lectura.

image.png

Siempre cuando escuchaba decir a algunas personas que tenían algún tipo de depresión, mi mente no lograba comprender a lo que se referían, solía decir “pero si se te bien tan bien, ¿cómo puedes decir que estas deprimid@?”. Me parecía un cuento absurdo que no llegaba a creer del todo.

Siempre me he considero una persona con un carácter fuerte, no soy optimista y a veces se puede decir que hasta espero que siempre la fatalidad llegue a mi vida, me gusta controlar todo y me gusta que las cosas salgan lo más rápido como se ha maquinado en mi mente. Pero jamás me consideré una persona que sufriera de depresión.

image.png

Whenever I heard some people say that they had some kind of depression, my mind could not understand what they meant, I used to say "but if you look so good, how can you say that you are depressed? It seemed like an absurd story that I couldn't quite believe.

I have always considered myself a person with a strong character, I am not optimistic and sometimes you can even say that I always expect doom to come to my life, I like to control everything and I like things to go as fast as they have been planned in my mind. But I never considered myself a person who suffers from depression.



18882170_868485276624072_5955547193488355_n.jpg
Foto de mí publicada mi instagram @ josmil_236

A finales del 2021 me diagnosticaron depresión, cosas que jamás en mi vida pensé me iba a suceder, pero sucedió. Y este es el porqué de mi título, la depresión es un monstruo silencioso, que muchas veces tenemos y ni nosotros mismos nos damos cuenta. Todos mis síntomas como comer una sola vez al día, no querer asearme ni asear mi casa, no querer salir, dormir pocas horas en la noche y dormir todo un día, lo consideraba como simplemente achaques del invierno; pero no era así. A veces me decía a mi misma que no era normal no preocuparme en nada por mis necesidades básicas de ser humano, y simplemente decía, hoy no puedo salir de la cama.

Eso afectó mi trabajo, mi relación de pareja y mis relaciones familiares. Tampoco decía nada porque sentía que no había nada malo en mí, hasta que muchas cosas pasaron y todo explotó. Terminé en terapia con un psicólogo y fue cuando descubrí que tipo de depresión tenía. Me dio mucha vergüenza, porque entendí en las condiciones deplorables que estaba viviendo, pero luego entendí que esto no era mi culpa, y que a veces nos toca pasar por situaciones así.

At the end of 2021 I was diagnosed with depression, a thing that I never thought in my life would happen to me, but it did. And this is the reason for my title, depression is a silent monster, that many times we have and we do not even realize it ourselves. All my symptoms such as eating only once a day, not wanting to clean myself or my house, not wanting to go out, sleeping a few hours at night and sleeping a whole day, I considered them as simply winter ailments; but it was not like that. Sometimes I told myself that it was not normal not to worry at all about my basic needs as a human being, and I simply said, today I cannot get out of bed.

That affected my work, my relationship with my boyfriend and my family relationships. I didn't say anything either because I felt there was nothing wrong with me, until a lot of things happened and everything exploded. I ended up in therapy with a psychologist and that's when I discovered what kind of depression I had. I was very ashamed, because I understood the deplorable conditions I was living in, but then I understood that this was not my fault, and that sometimes we have to go through situations like this.



giphy (2).gif
Fuente

La depresión es una enfermedad tan común, pero a veces no la sentimos, la persona que esta justamente de nuestro lado puede sufrir de ella y no saberlo. Debemos normalizar esto en la vida cotidiana de los seres humanos, desde pequeño nos enseñan a hacer un circuito eléctrico, un volcán, se nos enseña caligrafía, los colores primarios, pero NO se nos enseña algo tan importante como lo es la salud mental.

Debemos ser los responsables de enseñar a las futuras generaciones a buscar ayuda profesional, a apoyarse en sus seres queridos, a no tener miedo de los estigmas de esta sociedad y a hablar de que a veces la depresión es ese monstruo silencioso que espera en los mas profundo de nuestra cabeza el momento exacto de atacar sin avisar.

¿Alguna vez has sufrido o sufres de depresión?

Depression is such a common disease, but sometimes we do not feel it, the person who is right next to us can suffer from it and not know it. We must normalize this in the daily life of human beings, since childhood thye teach us to make an electrical circuit, a volcano, calligraphy, primary colors, but they do not teach us something so important as mental health.

We must be responsible for teaching future generations to seek professional help, to lean on their loved ones, to not be afraid of the stigmas of this society and to talk about how sometimes depression is that silent monster that waits in the depths of our head for the exact moment to attack without warning.

Have you ever suffered or do you suffer from depression?


Diseño sin título.gif

🌷Icon of my divider here Canva
🌷Icon of tulip Tuli
🌷Signature made in Canva
🌷Translated with the help of deepL

joss.236.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations @joss236! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy New Year - Feedback from the first Hive Power Up Day of 2022
PUD - PUH - PUM - It's all about to Power Up!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

"Have you ever suffered or do you suffer from depression?"

  • No, I haven't, and I think I'm not prone to depression. But, of course, you can never know.

I wish you all the best and a steady recovery process. Perhaps reading Stoic literature (https://peakd.com/deutsch/@zuerich/stoicism-hedonism-and-my-view-on-these-concepts) might be interesting for you.

Thanks for recommending this post, which of the 2 philosophies do you like the most? Stoicism calls my attention, the part of not worrying about things that are out of our control is something I need to work on because I am a person that when things get out of control I have a great fear of them.

I prefer Stoicism as it's based on more long-term thinking and it's more sustainable.
If I live hedonism, e.g. by partying and drinking a lot, the next day I regret it.

😅🤣