My introduction (Esp/Eng)

in Aliento2 years ago (edited)

WhatsApp Image 2021-08-06 at 8.45.14 PM (2).jpeg

**ESP**

¡Hola! Mi nombre es Miguel Rivas, soy de Caracas, Venezuela, y soy nuevo aquí en Peakd. Soy estudiante de Estudios liberales, una carrera enfocada en humanidades, y algunos de mis intereses son el arte, la filosofía y el fitness. No quiero que esta introducción sea solo para hablar de mí, sino que quiero hablar sobre las cosas que me gustan y sobre las cosas que me gustaría escribir para compartir en esta plataforma. Antes de comenzar, quisiera agradecerle a mi novia @shinfxx por hablarme sobre Peakd, por ayudarme a abrir mi cuenta y por guiarme en este nuevo comienzo.


**ENG**

Hello! My name is Miguel Rivas, I’m from Caracas, Venezuela, and I’m new in Peakd. I’m a university student majoring on Liberal Arts, a career focused on humanities. I’m interested on other subjects as well, like arts, philosophy and fitness. In this introduction, I don’t want to focus only on myself. I would like to talk about my interests and about the subjects that I would like to write about on this platform. Before I start, I would like to thank my girlfriend @shinfxx for introducing me to Peakd, for helping me to open my account and for guiding me through this new beginning.


Desde que soy adolescente estuve sumamente interesado en la literatura. A través de ella pude acceder a historias y perspectivas a las que no habría accedido. George RR Martin escribió en Danza de Dragones que “un lector vive miles de vidas antes de morir. Una persona que nunca lee solo vive una” Esta cita resume perfectamente lo que ha significado la lectura para mí.

Mediante la lectura fui capaz de acercarme a las perspectivas de otros autores que vivieron procesos sumamente diferentes al mío. Ellos, en algunos casos de forma autobiográfica y en otros de forma ficticia, plasmaron sus perspectivas e ideas en los personajes de sus obras. A leer, pude conocer sobre la experiencia de un estudiante en el Perú de los años 60, la de un guerrero medieval o la de un joven aristócrata en la Rusia del siglo XIX.

Este acercamiento literario a distintos períodos históricos despertó una curiosidad enorme en mí. Tras haber sido un estudiante mediocre y poco comprometido con las materias de historia de mi colegio, comencé a acercarme de forma autónoma al estudio histórico. Al estudiar sobre distintos períodos y procesos, comencé a tener curiosidad sobre las formas de organización social y las instituciones políticas. Y, cuando ya llevaba tiempo en ello, comencé a desarrollar un interés en las ideas de las personas.

De esta forma fue creciendo mi interés en la literatura, la historia, la política y la filosofía.

I’ve been very interested in literature since I was a teenager. Through this medium I’ve been able to access stories and ideas that I wouldn’t have accessed to otherwise. George RR Martin wrote in A Dance of Dragons that “a reader lives a thousand lives before he dies. The man who never reads lives only one” This quote summarizes what reading means to me.

Literature has allowed me to get close to the ideas and perspectives of authors that lived through processes very different than mine. They, in some cases by autobiographic means, others by literary means, printed their ideas on the characters of their novels. When I read, I could get closer to the experience of a Peruvian student in the 60s, a medieval warrior or a young Russian aristocrat from the 19th century.

This literary approach to different historical periods awakened an enormous curiosity within me. After being a mediocre and uncompromised student in the history courses of my school, I started to study those subjects autonomously. While I was getting to know different historical periods and processes, I started to get interested on the forms of social organization and political institutions. After a while, I started to wonder about people’s ideas.

This is how my interest on literature, history, politics and philosophy grew

WhatsApp Image 2022-03-01 at 1.36.45 PM.jpeg


Al llegar a la universidad pensé en estudiar economía, pero mis inquietudes iban todas enfocadas a cuestiones humanísticas. Pensé que podría ser un economista con intereses en otras áreas, pero comencé a darme cuenta de que sería mejor estudiar aquellas cuestiones que realmente me interesaban. Luego de ver algunas materias de economía y de fracasar en matemáticas, decidí tomar un salto de fe y estudiar Estudios Liberales.

Esta decisión fue sumamente difícil, pues el futuro laboral de un egresado de esa carrera no está tan claro como el de un economista. Sin embargo, y viéndolo en retrospectiva, me siento orgulloso con esa decisión. El conocimiento y las herramientas que he adquirido en lo que llevo de carrera son sumamente valiosos, y me hubiera tomado muchísimo tiempo aprender esas cosas de forma independiente.

By the moment I went to university I thought of studying an Economy major, but I was mostly focused on subjects related to humanities. I thought that I could be an economist with intellectual inclinations on other areas, but I started to realize that it would be better to study what I really was interested in. After a few courses on Economy, and after failing in math, I decided to take a leap of faith and going to Liberal Studies.


This decision was very hard, due to the uncertain character of the work prospects of the Liberal Studies graduate, which is not as clear as the Economy major one. However, in hindsight, I feel proud of this decision. The knowledge and the tools that I’ve acquired through this major are very worthy, and it would have taken me a lot of time to learn all of it in an autonomous way.


Las otras áreas hacia las que me gustaría enfocar mis publicaciones en este blog son el arte y el fitness. Estos fueron mis principales refugios durante la cuarentena. La música, las películas, los videojuegos, la literatura y el ejercicio físico me permitieron enfrentar los retos de la cuarentena, como la soledad y la incertidumbre. Además, me permitieron tener un sentido de estar progresando y de estar mejorando cada a día.

The other areas that I would like to focus my blog posts are art and fitness. This were my main shelters during the pandemic. Music, movies, videogames, literature and physical exercise allowed me to face the challenges of the pandemic, like loneliness and uncertainty. They also allowed me to feel a sense of progression and of working on myself.


Sobre estas cosas mencionadas más arriba me gustaría escribir en este blog. Son campos que me interesan y que he venido manejando desde hace cierto tiempo. Me gustaría compartir con ustedes las cosas que he aprendido, y me gustaría también emprender investigaciones breves y compartir los resultados aquí.

Quisiera escribir sobre arte y literatura, filosofía y ejercicio físico. Por el lado artístico y literario, podrían publicaciones de análisis y crítica, pero también podrían haber artículos en donde se analiza una obra artística a través de la perspectiva de algún filósofo. Sobre filosofía específicamente, me gustaría hacer breves reseñas de las ideas de algunos autores. En el área de ejercicio físico, me gustaría escribir sobre mi experiencia y mis progresos, y también sobre como las ideas de algunos filósofos tienen implicaciones para el fitness y el ejercicio físico.

Espero poder conocer a personas que compartan estos intereses y entablar diálogo con ellas. También espero que lo que escriba sea de interés para los usuarios de esta plataforma. Sin más que agregar, culmino mi introducción. Adiós, y muchas gracias por leer.

This are the subjects that I want to write about in this blog. These are areas that I’m interested and that I have been working on for quite a while now. I would like to share with you many of the things that I’ve learned, and I would also like to do brief investigations and share the results here.

I would like to write about art, philosophy and fitness. On the artistic and literary side, there could be blog posts on analysis and reviews, but there could also be posts that analyze a particular artistic work through the lens the of a particular philosopher. About philosophy specifically, I would like to write brief reviews on the ideas of some authors. In the fitness area, I would like to write about my experience and my progress, and also about how the ideas of certain philosophers have implications for fitness and physical exercise.

I hope to be able to meet people that share my interests and to be able to engage in dialogue with them. I also hope that what I write is interesting for users of this platform. Without anything else to say, I finish my introduction. Goodbye, and thank you for reading.

26154616_1563636897051924_9221422637098467328_n.jpg

Sort:  

Holaaaa. Bienvenido a esta plataforma. Hay muchas cosas interesantes por acá, Auguro para ti, muchísimos éxitos. Adelante... 😉💖

Muchísimas gracias. Muchísimos éxitos para usted también❤️

Hello @merp99! This is @chillwithshanna from @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) team. We saw that you already posted your first blog here in Hive! Congratulations and welcome!

It's also best to subscribe to Communities you like and share your blogs there to have a wider range of audience. Or you can check out the Communities Incubation Program.

If you are looking for tips and information as a Hive newbie, click here: Newbie guide. If you have questions, you can hop into Discord server and we'll gladly answer your questions.

Also, letting you know since content on the Hive platform is monetized, using other people’s ideas or images could be considered as an offense and which is also viewed in a serious light on the blockchain. Here is a useful collection of resources about how plagiarism and abuse is viewed and handled on Hive.

Happy Blogging!

Good luck and welcome to Hive, Miguel!

Welcome merp99!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @merp99! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Today is the beginning of a new Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - March 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!