[ENG-ESP] Geographer's Day! ¡Día del Geógrafo!

in Aliento2 years ago

Today is a special day! Today is the Geographer's day... It is inevitable not to remember hundreds of moments lived along the career...

¡Hoy es un día especial! Hoy se celebra el día del Geógrafo... Es inevitable no recordar cientos de momentos vividos a lo largo de la carrera...

That teacher you see in the picture is Gerardo Siso (RIP), I don't know if you had the Geography book from Santillana publishing house in high school.... Well, he is one of the authors.

At that time, I was only in my first semester and meeting him was great! He was a very intelligent professor and you felt like listening to him.

He taught me in the Seminar of Special Degree Work, I was his last course, unfortunately, he passed away.

Ese profesor que ven en la foto, es Gerardo Siso (QEPD) no sé si ustedes en secundaria, tuvieron el libro de Geografía de editorial Santillana... Bueno, él es uno de los autores.

En ese momento, yo estaba apenas en el primer semestre y conocerlo fue grandioso! un profesor muy inteligente y a quien daban ganas de escucharlo.

Él me dio clases de Seminario de Trabajo especial de Grado, fui el último curso de él, pues lamentablemente, falleció.

I was fortunate to be a student of many excellent professors and also to know many others, such is the case of Professor José Manuel Guevara Díaz, the first climatologist of the country, Professor José Luis Arocha Reyes (previous photo), the first Geographer-Cartographer of the country, among others (Professors Guevara and Arocha, are authors of books of obligatory reading in my career).

Tuve la suerte de ser estudiante de muchos excelentes profesores y también conocer a muchos otros, tal el es caso del Profesor José Manuel Guevara Díaz, el primer climatólogo del País, el profesor José Luis Arocha Reyes (el de la fotografía), primer Geógrafo-cartógrafo del país, entre algunos otros (Los profesores Guevara y Arocha, son autores de libros de lectura obligatoria en mi carrera)

But I think the best of all was meeting those who to this day are my best friends and colleagues, wonderful, talented and intelligent people with whom I have shared many anecdotes and happy and sad moments (the girl in front of me is my girlfriend, she is a biologist).

Pero creo que lo mejor de todo, fue conocer a los que hasta el día de hoy, son mis mejores amigos y colegas, personas maravillosas, talentosas e inteligentes con quienes he compartido muchas anécdotas y momentos felices y tristes (la chica que aparece delante de mi es mi novia, ella es Bióloga).


Finally, my graduation, the crowning moment...

Finalmente, mi graduación, el momento cumbre...


I still remember the date I received my degree in Geography; December 6, 2019, an unforgettable day, full of great and pleasant moments.

Aun recuerdo la fecha en que recibí mi título de Licenciado en Geografía; 06 de diciembre de 2019 un día inolvidable, lleno de grandes y gratos momentos.

How nice it is to be a Geographer! and although I am not currently practicing the profession (like many other colleagues) I try to keep updating myself to be always ready for any opportunity that arises :)

¡Qué bonito es ser Geógrafo! y aunque actualmente no estoy ejerciendo la profesión (como muchos otros colegas) intento seguirme actualizando para estar siempre listo ante cualquier oportunidad que se presente :)

Thanks for taking the time to read me!

See you next time!

¡Gracias por tomarte el tiempo de leerme!

¡Hasta la próxima!


All the photos are of my authorship and/or I have the rights over them.