Memories that destroy you [Esp-Eng]

in Catarsis2 years ago

pexels-photo-4340787.jpeg

Pexels

Today is one of those days in which it hurts me a lot to remember, is that in life we are all losers, because we always lose things and it is part of life, since I am far away from where I grew up many memories come to my mind, of things that I would not even have imagined in those moments that I was going to miss. I think all immigrants have those days and sometimes with tears in our eyes, we have to dry ourselves and go out to work.

I came home from work today, more tired than usual, but it wasn't because of the work itself, it was more because of how I felt, I spent all the hours thinking and thinking about so many things that it is hard to list the happy moments that filled me so much, but there was one in particular that forced me to take several deep breaths to keep from crying at work.

I was always very attached to my grandmother, even though we didn't live close I always went to visit and stayed at her house, my grandmother was too good, she always talked to me and we laughed together, it was definitely the best moments in the world to be with her on a weekend or whenever I could. She was like another mother to me but a little more spoiled.

When I left Venezuela, everything went very fast and I couldn't say goodbye personally, which hurt me a lot and although she didn't tell me I know it hurt her too, but I was hoping to come back to make it up to her. Being here I missed my family very much and my grandmother due to a strong fall was bedridden for many months, months in which it was impossible for me to travel to see her.

Hoy es uno de esos días en los que me duele mucho recordar, es que en la vida todos somos perdedores, porque siempre perdemos cosas y es parte de la vida, desde que estoy lejos de donde crecí vienen muchos recuerdos a mi mente, de cosas que ni siquiera me hubiese imaginado en esos momentos que iba a extrañar. Yo creo que todos los inmigrantes tenemos esos días y a veces con lágrimas en los ojos, tenemos que secarnos y salir a trabajar.

Llegué del trabajo hoy, más cansado que de costumbre, pero no fue en sí por el trabajo, fue más por cómo me sentía, pasé todas las horas pensando y pensando en tantas cosas que es difícil enumerar las, momentos felices que me llenaron tanto,pero hubo uno en especial que me obligó a respirar profundo varias veces para no llorar en el trabajo.

Siempre fui muy apegado a mi abuela, aunque no vivíamos cerca siempre iba de visita y me quedaba en su casa, mi abuela era demasiado buena, siempre hablaba conmigo y nos reíamos juntos, eran definitivamente los mejores momentos del mundo estar con ella un fin de semana o cada vez que podía. Ella fue para mi como otra madre pero un poco más consentidora.

Cuando me fui de Venezuela, todo fue muy rápido y no pude despedirme personalmente, lo que me dolió bastante y aunque no me lo dijo sé que a ella también, pero esperaba volver para compensarselo. Estando aquí extrañaba mucho a mi familia y mi abuela debido a una fuerte caída cayó en cama durante muchos meses, meses en los que me fue imposible viajar para verla.


1654134501083.jpg

Sadly, after all her children and grandchildren completed the money for the surgery that would allow her to get better, things went wrong, she did not resist and died a few minutes after leaving the operating room, when they told me that she had died, something broke inside me, I not only had an anxiety crisis because of the news, it was months that the guilt did not allow me to live.

I felt bad and I remembered every moment that I had not gone to say goodbye to her, I repeated to myself that no matter what, I had to take at least a moment to run to say goodbye, although it was impossible to travel from Medellin to Venezuela in those moments that my grandmother died, I told myself that I had not tried hard enough and that I had been a very bad grandson.

The guilt tortured me a lot and although I already understood that things happened and I can't do anything anymore, there are days when all those thoughts come back, all the memories and the voice of my grandmother talking to me, and the pain destroys me, the pain is very strong and I can't appease it in any way. I miss every day talking to her, spending time with her, listening to her laugh at my stupid things, and it hurts me that I wasn't there for her during all those months she was feeling bad.

Tristemente, luego de que todos sus hijos y nietos completarán os el dinero pasa la cirugia que le permitiría mejorar, las cosas salieron mal, ella no lo resistió y murió a los pocos minutos de salir del quirofano, cuando me avisaron que había muerto, se me rompió algo por dentro, no sólo tuve una crisis de ansiedad por la noticia, fueron meses los que la culpa no me permitía vivir.

Me sentía mal y me acordaba a cada momento que no había ido a despedirme de ella, me repetía que no importaba que, tenía que sacar aunque fuera un momento para correr a despedirme, aunque era imposible viajar de Medellín a Venezuela en esos momentos que mi abuela murió, me decía a mi mismo que no lo había intentado lo suficiente y que había sido un muy mal nieto.

La culpa me torturaba mucho y aunque ya comprendí que las cosas pasaron y no puedo hacer nada ya, hay días en los que todos esos pensamientos vuelven, todos los recuerdos y la voz de mi abuela hablándome, y el dolor me destruye, el dolor es muy fuerte y no puedo apaciguarlo de ninguna manera. Extraño cada día hablar con ella, pasar tiempo con ella, escucharla reírse de mis estupideces, y me duele no haber estado ahí para ella durante todos esos meses que se sentía mal.


@jygy89.png

hecho en canva por mi

Sort:  

It can really be painful losing someone you love like your grandmother and the memories at times can really be painful when it is remember