Excel Tool for Hive Wallet Social Experiment by @geekgirl

in Palnet3 years ago (edited)

It's a little Social Experiment and I'm happy to participate.

Fast Summary:
This is a fun experiment about greed and trust I'd say.

Basic Rule:
4 Groups of each 5 random Hive people were chosen to work together decrypting the MEMO Key for an Account with 50HBD. Parts of the MEMO Key were sent encrypted via HIVE Transfer MEMO upfront to the individual members. All Parts together and in the right order will bring access to Loot Chest, the MEMO Key to the Hive Account with the 50HBD. All five people will need to coordinate and puzzle the key together. But of course, there's a lot of trouble each and every team member might be causing, besides not being able to read the encrypted HIVE message.

Extra Rule:
If a team sends the HBD back to GeekGirl, it will be doubled to 100HBD for a second round, but for a different team.


Long-form, Initial Posts:

  1. https://leofinance.io/@geekgirl/hive-wallet-social-experiment-50-hbd-prize
  2. https://peakd.com/@geekgirl/hive-wallet-social-experiment-update-or-200-hbd-5-hive-prize

by the initiator GeekGirl.


I've created an Excel Sheet to help us all. You can enter the phrases below the table and all the 24 possible Phrases will then be shown. Just Copy and Paste 24 Times, Try-and-Error style and you'll be logged in. You're all welcome - use Excel Online if you don't have a Computer with an Excel installation at your hand.

I'll provide the Matrix only version for Do-It-Yourselfers and the finished one.

image.png

image.png

GDrive Folder with both Versions - Click

@adamada ,@hazmat ,@kenechukwu97 ,@dragokazo, @sanjeevm, @vikisecrets, @tattoodjay, @stdd, @ganjafarmer, @wrestlingdesires, @kenechukwu97, @drakernoise, @readthisplease, @odsam2, @thedd, @geekgirl

... hope my logicX are correct.

Good Luck to your teams and give me some feedback m a y b e :))

Here is the UPDATE: GeekGirl has not sent the "5" at the front of the first group, which makes it 120 possible Solutions. Here's the Update and it's also in the GDrive of course :D

image.png

image.png

image.png

I nearly needed a script to write the Table, but this is as far as manual trying should go anyhow. It's called the "5Plus5x5_PhraseMatrix.xlsx".

--> THE LINK TO FIND THE FILE AGAIN, GDRIVE - CLICK - <--

Let's try the math:
10 Seconds per Key (X) max 120 attempts = 20Min of time
That's fast enough, to not be able to write a log-in script instead. Especially one that is debugged :p

I also added auto-colored check fields at the end, for better oversight.
image.png

Cya all in a week then!

Sort:  

I am fascinated by this social experiment. Correct me if I am wrong, though, @manniman, but I think @geekgirl said that she was removing the initial "5" identifying the first piece. This means there is no way of knowing which piece goes first, and so there are 120 possibilities, rather than only 24, actually. (5x4x3x2x1=120)

If each person tries an equal number of them, that is 30 combinations per person to try.

Yap, you broke the Matrix. From now on I shall call you Neo.

"Important thing to note is that the five separate pieces will not be sent out in the correct order. Participants will need to figure out the correct order in which all pieces should be put together.
Find the correct order, add "5" in the beginning and you will have the full active key."

I'll redo it. -_-

Neo. Lol. Sorry. It just seemed too good to be true. I look forward to the reloaded version.

There you go, feel free to check for errors again, Neo.

WHAT, I must have overread that. Let me check.

Congratulations @manniman! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 32000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 33000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Bee ready for the 2nd Hive Power Up Month challenge!
Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thanks so much @manniman, we have already a programmer on our side that will make a script (I guess) and hopefully this will give us the needed phrases. I think it can be programmed the login process so in our case the difficult thing is getting all those pieces sent to him...

It's an awesome job you did with the excel sheet though and very "visual", thanks so much for your effort.

Cheers

thx for sharing and cool idea, this should speed up the key generation :)

This is the problem with me now ...reading the encrypted message...

"But of course, there's a lot of trouble each and every team member might be causing, besides not being able to read the encrypted HIVE message".

If you have your keys, just LogOut and then Log in with the MEMO key before checking your wallet for her transaction to you. There will be a message with 1 part of the key.

Thankz have the 1 part now

Well that's a fast debug job, nicely done and thanks again 👍

@hazmat taking a long time to respond lol.

Nice tables man, I initially thought I was going to run more combinations that the above possible ones.

Yap same, but it's actually a very tiny task of 5Min brute force by hand.

Just be careful with the encoding and it's case sensitive. Double-check the phrases for changed characters after copy-paste is what I mean.

I want to thank you for your work, as your tables helped me find the key for @hivegiftcard3 in 5 minutes! Well, really I was a little lucky)

Good job!
Huge thanks!

Very pleased to hear that :))

I had to try 117/120 before it worked.

I was lucky! I did it on the 14th attempt)

Yup, very Lucky 🍀