Siblings Rivalry.

in Hive Naija16 days ago

Rivalry among siblings is something very common as no home is perfect, they could have a minor misunderstanding or a major one.

OIG2 (4).jpeg

There are so many reasons why siblings fight against each other and from observation I think some of the reasons could be;

When a parent loves one child more than the rest, this is not a good way of parenting because such an act can foster hatred and jealousy among siblings.

I believe that no two children even though born of the same mother act alike, and sometimes a parent might love the quality of one over the others which is why they show that one so much attention over the rest but it's surely not the right way to go, each child should be shown love accordingly and equally which is why a parent should avoid comparing each sibling.

OIG2 (5).jpeg

Another reason could be of petty concern. I have seen where siblings fight over petty things like splitting house chores, sharing gift items from relatives, eating the last food in the house without being considerate, wearing each other's outfits without permission, shoes, and other accessories, and not shutting the door, not turning off the light after use and the likes, but these petty things do not get in between them when a stranger tries to interfere. I have seen when a stranger dares disrespectfully talk to the other siblings and the two who were like cats and rats gang up against the stranger and it's such a beautiful sight. Haha

I have also seen where two brothers have misunderstandings because of a lady, money or lifestyle, so it's nothing new for a family.

One rivalry I am always afraid of is the one that involves inheritance or the sharing of properties. This is one fierce rivalry among siblings which often leads to a major fight or harm at the end of the day.

My dad once told me a story about how two brothers weren't on talking terms for life simply because of how their inheritance was shared, according to him it was a true life story which happened in their village.

This fosters a lot of hatred between the two brothers that extends to their wives and children and none of them ever crosses each other path.

Most times I also see it on Nollywood, how brothers could poison themselves because of a piece of land, without any feeling for each other and I wonder if they do not realise that they too would not live forever, the land itself is vanity as well.

This kind of rivalry is intense as it could affect the next generation to come into that family, which is why some people hate their uncles, and the like because of the stories they've heard before they were born.

I believe that since our siblings are a part of our family and we share the same blood we all treat them with love and respect and let love lead all the time because there's no bond greater than a family.

OIG3..jpeg

My mom always uses a broomstick and a bunch of brooms as an illustration for us, when we are divided enemies can easily overtake us, which is why it is much easier to break a broomstick but often impossible to break a bunch of brooms, if we stay united regardless of the petty fights we could achieve a lot in togetherness.



ALL IMAGES WERE CREATED USING BING.COM


𝕭𝖊𝖋𝖔𝖗𝖊 y𝖔𝖚 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 𝖆𝖓y𝖙𝖍𝖎𝖓𝖌 𝖔𝖗 𝖆𝖓y𝖔𝖓𝖊, 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 y𝖔𝖚𝖗𝖘𝖊𝖑𝖋 𝖋𝖎𝖗𝖘𝖙.

A𝖒𝖎𝖊,
ᵀʰᵉ ᵍⁱʳˡ ʷⁱᵗʰ ᵃ ᵇⁱᵍ ʰᵉᵃʳᵗ ❤



This post was inspired by the daily prompt on the #inleo community and this is my response to the #Mayinleo day 6 prompt, wanna get involved too? Check this out.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I miss those days when me and my brothers always fight yea it was quite scary due to the bruises lol 😂 but it was so much fun because we are always competing with each other.

As for inheritance I fixed it by saying give to them no need to leave anything for me because I want to build my own wealth let the others enjoy the wealth instead so when it comes to inheritance there is no issue with me.

Nice post my dear always a pleasure to read your post. Take care and keep safe always.

Hehe, I and my siblings also had our fair share of petty fights and I miss all of those moments too, it adds spice to the bond.🤣

Yup 😛 whenever I need someone to be smacked he can call me and I can call him for back up lol 😂😂

Undoubtedly, sibling rivalry takes many forms, that is why the spirit of togetherness should be inculcated in young children alongside good values like sharing and caring.

Oh yes, togetherness is the key.

 15 days ago  

Voted by Hive Naija.gif

Together we stand, divided we fall 🙂

#dreemerforlife

United we stand, divided we fall. It is important for Parents to keep emphasising the importance of love, peace and unity for the children to relate well as a family, and this without neglecting prayers.
#dreemerforlife

Exactly, thank you dreamer for stopping by.❤

Siblings Rivalry sometimes is no joke. Some even end up killing themselves.
It's okay for siblings to have misunderstandings , but when their parents start taking sides and pointing fingers, this triggers jealousy and sometimes hate between them.
#dreemport

Yeah, parents have a huge part to play in fostering peace among siblings.

Truly, there's no bond greater than a family - a family that lives in peace.

Thank you for sharing this; I'm inspired.

#dreemerforlife.

I'm glad you loved this, thank you.

Right enough many a sibling has called another one over inheritances!
Have a great day Amie

So true, sadly, thank you for stopping by.